yenfong 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2007 Which Bank's Housing Loan is good now? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tim_chenie 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2007 Which Bank's Housing Loan is good now?Hi yenfong,You can visit this website where they have comparisons of almost all the house loans avaliable:AskDrMoney HomePageHDB House Loan PageHope this helps. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
prelude4 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2007 Which Bank's Housing Loan is good now?Recently been researching various banks' interest rate for my home loan. i tink maybank is thecheapest comparing variable rates with 2 yr lock-in. its at 3.18% for 1st year. Pls re-finance on every3rd yr. 2nd best will be OCBC's rate at 3.25%.if u looking for fixed-rates, POSB's HomeIdeal package will be the quite competitive at 3.5%.Im talking about Private Housing loan. For HDB housing, its more or less the same. So u may want to just narrow ur search to just this 3 banks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Spikey 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2007 Recently been researching various banks' interest rate for my home loan. i tink maybank is thecheapest comparing variable rates with 2 yr lock-in. its at 3.18% for 1st year. Pls re-finance on every3rd yr. 2nd best will be OCBC's rate at 3.25%.if u looking for fixed-rates, POSB's HomeIdeal package will be the quite competitive at 3.5%.Im talking about Private Housing loan. For HDB housing, its more or less the same. So u may want to just narrow ur search to just this 3 banks.a lower interest rate may not always be better - check on how much $ goes into repaying the principal or goes to interest payment. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2007 Recently been researching various banks' interest rate for my home loan. i tink maybank is thecheapest comparing variable rates with 2 yr lock-in. its at 3.18% for 1st year. Pls re-finance on every3rd yr. 2nd best will be OCBC's rate at 3.25%.if u looking for fixed-rates, POSB's HomeIdeal package will be the quite competitive at 3.5%.Im talking about Private Housing loan. For HDB housing, its more or less the same. So u may want to just narrow ur search to just this 3 banks.if you unable to get HDB loan, you will have to opt for bank loan.BUT HDB loan is better than Private housing loan. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
l_club23 0 Report post Posted July 11, 2007 There's some loan rate linked to SIBOR or something by StanChart now, looks pretty good Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yenfong 0 Report post Posted July 11, 2007 Hi yenfong,You can visit this website where they have comparisons of almost all the house loans avaliable:AskDrMoney HomePageHDB House Loan PageHope this helps. Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted July 11, 2007 There's some loan rate linked to SIBOR or something by StanChart now, looks pretty goodThats right, what they do if i'm not wrong is to peg to SIBOR + an additonal interest .. e.g. 0.5% therefore if SIBOR = 2.3% .. then its 2.8% Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
l_club23 0 Report post Posted July 12, 2007 Thats right, what they do if i'm not wrong is to peg to SIBOR + an additonal interest .. e.g. 0.5% therefore if SIBOR = 2.3% .. then its 2.8%Pegged to SIBOR is good... avoid transparency issues... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yenfong 0 Report post Posted July 12, 2007 Thats right, what they do if i'm not wrong is to peg to SIBOR + an additonal interest .. e.g. 0.5% therefore if SIBOR = 2.3% .. then its 2.8%What is the sibor rate now? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted July 12, 2007 (edited) Pegged to SIBOR is good... avoid transparency issues...lol.. every bank wants to earn more one lah.. no choice.as with any other business..What is the sibor rate now?Overnight Interbank 2.25%1-Month Interbank 2.38%3-Month Interbank 2.50%6-Month Interbank 2.56%Its never possible to get interbank rates. Banks also need to survive. Edited July 12, 2007 by Phantom Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
l_club23 0 Report post Posted July 13, 2007 (edited) lol.. every bank wants to earn more one lah.. no choice.as with any other business..Overnight Interbank 2.25%1-Month Interbank 2.38%3-Month Interbank 2.50%6-Month Interbank 2.56%Its never possible to get interbank rates. Banks also need to survive.At least like this the bank can't increase the rate as and when they feel like it... like their multiple board rates... Edited July 13, 2007 by l_club23 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
prelude4 0 Report post Posted July 13, 2007 ask the bank to print out the loan schedule for u to see..so u noe how much u paying.Does SIBOR rate also fluctuates frequently? tats wat the loan officer told me. its my 1st time taking out loan so i dun dare to commit too early b4 finding out, and im afraid tat after u took out the loan all banks will adjust their rate higher after few months. will u pick foreign banks(eg stanchart/maybank) over local ones? it seems like their rates r abit betteron the surface.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted July 14, 2007 ask the bank to print out the loan schedule for u to see..so u noe how much u paying.Does SIBOR rate also fluctuates frequently? tats wat the loan officer told me. its my 1st time taking out loan so i dun dare to commit too early b4 finding out, and im afraid tat after u took out the loan all banks will adjust their rate higher after few months. will u pick foreign banks(eg stanchart/maybank) over local ones? it seems like their rates r abit betteron the surface..SIBOR fluctuates daily..but you must check with the bank on the exact terms and conditions.rates have come down actually since feb this year.. so i wouldn't worry so much, get a fixed package if your really worried. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
greentea 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2007 lol.. every bank wants to earn more one lah.. no choice.as with any other business..Overnight Interbank 2.25%1-Month Interbank 2.38%3-Month Interbank 2.50%6-Month Interbank 2.56%Its never possible to get interbank rates. Banks also need to survive.hi,may i know what is interbank? never heard of such loan before? and what is "Pegged to SIBOR"?care to explain. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites