Dfish

Sanctuary Of The Cat And The Fish

Harlow Dfish!:(

Looks cool, cant wait to see completed version with furniture... 8|:P

Btw, can ask u a question on ur false ceiling?....Im gog to start reno soon n we oso thinking of doing a "canal" false ceiling in our living rm like urs (me posted an ugly drawing on my blog prevsly cuz no ID hehe !! )

....was wondering is ur "canal" a U-channel? or isit 2 C-shape channel facing each other? If so, do u install fluoroscent tubes inside right on top? Then can the tubes be seen when u look up?

Sorry for the so-many questions....me n hubby a klutz when it comes to false ceiling even though we noe what we wan for the rest of hse liao....

Btw, noticed we bght a few similiar pdts, ceiling manhattan n evovliving furniture too! Wondering if u r the couple I saw at evov the other day....hmm...... :notti:

Thanks for any explanation!! :):)

Hi Greycat, dun know how to describe the ceiling. Basically, the fluoroscent tubes throws out light from one side, towards the TV feature wall side, so I dun think can see the tubes from that angle. See the below closeup pic.

25052007livingcovetm4.th.jpg

I like this type of ceiling cos I prefer "indirect" lighting. More soothing cos the light dun shine directly at you.

No problem. U can ask as many questions, so long I know, I will answer. This forum is meant for sharing right?

Oh yes.. we bought some similar items.. that shows we have same taste :) You demi sofa is L shape or 3 seater? I love the sofas at Evov. Like the clean cut design!

Hi Greycat, dun know how to describe the ceiling. Basically, the fluoroscent tubes throws out light from one side, towards the TV feature wall side, so I dun think can see the tubes from that angle. See the below closeup pic.

I like this type of ceiling cos I prefer "indirect" lighting. More soothing cos the light dun shine directly at you.

No problem. U can ask as many questions, so long I know, I will answer. This forum is meant for sharing right?

Oh yes.. we bought some similar items.. that shows we have same taste !! You demi sofa is L shape or 3 seater? I love the sofas at Evov. Like the clean cut design!

icic..thk u thk u! still got mre questions...hee :(

ur false ceiling is abt 5inch isit? (dats wat my contractor say normal false ceiling height shd be...)

den ru using white lights or warm lights?

If ur using fluoroscent tube....whats the spacing u use in btw ur lights?...isit bright enuff?

noticed that ur using downlights as well, frm the pic, it looks like both r bright lights....

Thk u thk u!

we wantd a canal across e false ceiling as think dat it can help to illustrate the length of living area n segregate the living n dining space....but cant decide on the lights cuz all e lights i love r warm lights, nt bright enuff le.... :P

my demi is 2 seater + 1 daybed so become L-shape (still sitting in the showroom :) ) as we oni need it end of jul/early aug....love evov furnitures, I find dat their copies still haf quite gd quality control... :notti:8|

icic..thk u thk u! still got mre questions...hee :(

ur false ceiling is abt 5inch isit? (dats wat my contractor say normal false ceiling height shd be...)

den ru using white lights or warm lights?

If ur using fluoroscent tube....whats the spacing u use in btw ur lights?...isit bright enuff?

noticed that ur using downlights as well, frm the pic, it looks like both r bright lights....

Thk u thk u!

we wantd a canal across e false ceiling as think dat it can help to illustrate the length of living area n segregate the living n dining space....but cant decide on the lights cuz all e lights i love r warm lights, nt bright enuff le.... 8|

my demi is 2 seater + 1 daybed so become L-shape (still sitting in the showroom :P ) as we oni need it end of jul/early aug....love evov furnitures, I find dat their copies still haf quite gd quality control... !! :notti:

Should be around 5 inch. I'm using warm lights in the living room

The cove is about 6.3m in length and I'm using 4 no. of fluoroscent tube. The downlights are 2x18W. I also have 4 nos of halogen lights but they are not lighted yet. In the pic that I posted, only the cove light and the PLC lights are on and the whole living room is very bright. If u scared not bright enough, use lights with higher watts. Warm lights makes the room more cosy..

So your demi is the one in their showroom.. Saw it at the south bridge road branch. Mine is a 3 seater plus ottoman. I chose black colour fabric.. nice fabric they got!

Should be around 5 inch. I'm using warm lights in the living room

The cove is about 6.3m in length and I'm using 4 no. of fluoroscent tube. The downlights are 2x18W. I also have 4 nos of halogen lights but they are not lighted yet. In the pic that I posted, only the cove light and the PLC lights are on and the whole living room is very bright. If u scared not bright enough, use lights with higher watts. Warm lights makes the room more cosy..

So your demi is the one in their showroom.. Saw it at the south bridge road branch. Mine is a 3 seater plus ottoman. I chose black colour fabric.. nice fabric they got!

thk u thk u! 8|

very clear explanation liao~ !! :notti:

Just to clarify 1 last pt....u say warm lights=mean yellow lights rite?

I see the picture is white light......

I thot of putting white light floruscent tube lighting in the "canal" den hubby scared nt bright enuff for reading....

Initially I thot of just hafing "canal" n dun haf downlights cuz I not sure how's the effect, ur pictures reali help my visualization...hehehee :(

thk u thk u! :)

very clear explanation liao~ :deal::good:

Just to clarify 1 last pt....u say warm lights=mean yellow lights rite?

I see the picture is white light......

I thot of putting white light floruscent tube lighting in the "canal" den hubby scared nt bright enuff for reading....

Initially I thot of just hafing "canal" n dun haf downlights cuz I not sure how's the effect, ur pictures reali help my visualization...hehehee :~

For those downlights they use energy saving bulbs which has 2 effect 1) Warm & 2) Daylight. Daylight is those very white lights. Warm lights are not so white but they are not too yellow. You can go to those DIY shop where they show samples of the light bulbs to see.

Halogen lights are those really yellow spot lights which are very warm. Not good for reading.

If u do a lot of reading, its better to use daylight. For me, my study room uses daylight. As for living room, I want it cosy so I use warm light.

Actually the ceiling and lighting design is from my ID. I just follow their design cos they are the professional in this area.

Btw, can ask u a question on ur false ceiling?....Im gog to start reno soon n we oso thinking of doing a "canal" false ceiling in our living rm like urs (me posted an ugly drawing on my blog prevsly cuz no ID hehe :notti: )

....was wondering is ur "canal" a U-channel? or isit 2 C-shape channel facing each other? If so, do u install fluoroscent tubes inside right on top? Then can the tubes be seen when u look up?

hi greycat, my false ceiling design slightly different from dfish.. my canal is a u-channel.. id did not plan lights there coz there are many surrounding lights le.. just a pic for yr reference.. :) dis pic was taken quite sometime back after the first coat of painting so its still quite messy..

Image005-1.jpg

went to the south bridge outlet to try out the demi too but its a bit too hard for me and hubby lor.. wanted to get the box but i find it too low.. then mission is not clean cut enough (can see cushion).. so end up i got the del for the living and id fell in love with the versatility of lex single chair + armchair combi so got that for the mbr living at the holland village showroom today from maggie.. i find maggie super :good: service..

i like the coris estate .. got underground parking rite?? i love the 3/4 length windows.. same, want to buy but by the time i know, no more units left.. u so lucky!! :)

Edited by LinDa

For those downlights they use energy saving bulbs which has 2 effect 1) Warm & 2) Daylight. Daylight is those very white lights. Warm lights are not so white but they are not too yellow. You can go to those DIY shop where they show samples of the light bulbs to see.

Halogen lights are those really yellow spot lights which are very warm. Not good for reading.

If u do a lot of reading, its better to use daylight. For me, my study room uses daylight. As for living room, I want it cosy so I use warm light.

Actually the ceiling and lighting design is from my ID. I just follow their design cos they are the professional in this area.

Thanks a mill! I guess i haf to go see showroom again....me a klutz when it comes to lightbulbs, hehe :)

Trying to re-work my quotes n false ceiling idea tonite so I can gif my contractor a reply....my quote came up to 30K :notti:

hi greycat, my false ceiling design slightly different from dfish.. my canal is a u-channel.. id did not plan lights there coz there are many surrounding lights le.. just a pic for yr reference.. :) dis pic was taken quite sometime back after the first coat of painting so its still quite messy..

went to the south bridge outlet to try out the demi too but its a bit too hard for me and hubby lor.. wanted to get the box but i find it too low.. then mission is not clean cut enough (can see cushion).. so end up i got the del for the living and id fell in love with the versatility of lex single chair + armchair combi so got that for the mbr living at the holland village showroom today from maggie.. i find maggie super :) service..

Thanks for e pic LinDa!:notti:! I got follow ur blog but guess din notice the false ceiling cuz most ur pics were in daylight, love ur dark-color ceiling!:good:! :P Wish I can do dat.....contemplating.....I want a round dark ceiling in my dining...but unfortunately, dining area=rect, dining table=oso rect...sigh....

i cant reali figure out ur U-channel (as in I thot u-channel meaning its upside dwn)....but I saw ur L-box near ur full-length window v special! It's got cove lights coming out frm beneath, is dat e u-channel or isit c-channel? does dat mean ur false ceiling is double-layer=10inches?

nod nod, demi is very tough....my n hubby both got back problems, so got to get tough sofas.. :)

Maggie at H.V brch v nice! We wantd to book frm her but she wasnt ard dat day, so went bac to Ben at South brdge, he oso super-nice! :)

Special thanks for Dfish for dis discussion on false ceiling n sofa n her blog....hehehehe paiseh :)

Thanks for e pic LinDa!:notti:! I got follow ur blog but guess din notice the false ceiling cuz most ur pics were in daylight, love ur dark-color ceiling!:good:! :) Wish I can do dat.....contemplating.....I want a round dark ceiling in my dining...but unfortunately, dining area=rect, dining table=oso rect...sigh....

i cant reali figure out ur U-channel (as in I thot u-channel meaning its upside dwn)....but I saw ur L-box near ur full-length window v special! It's got cove lights coming out frm beneath, is dat e u-channel or isit c-channel? does dat mean ur false ceiling is double-layer=10inches?

nod nod, demi is very tough....my n hubby both got back problems, so got to get tough sofas.. :)

Maggie at H.V brch v nice! We wantd to book frm her but she wasnt ard dat day, so went bac to Ben at South brdge, he oso super-nice! :P

Special thanks for Dfish for dis discussion on false ceiling n sofa n her blog....hehehehe paiseh :)

no problem.. can do square/rectangle black ceiling oso.. i did that for my mbr and bedroom..

Image006-1.jpg

Image008.jpg

actually i dont know what name lei - u or c.. hehe, so i dont know if i'm making u more confused.. yup, my l-box near my living windows got cove lights but i really cant answer on u or c and the dimensions.. where do u stay?? u welcome to come by to take a look..

but i tell u a unique thing abt this cove lighting in my living l-box even my id not realised.. when the lights are on, the black inner ceiling turns very light grey almost whitish.. so its a totally different feeling when the lights are off or in the day time.. it was a joke lor.. coz hubby turn on the lights then we were just hanging around, suddenly i look up and see a white ceiling, i was like 'EY, WHAT HAPPEN HAR? THE PAINTERS PAINT WRONG IS IT? HOW COME TURN WHITE?'.. then almost want to call id to ask, thought he had changed his mind and it looks nicer in white.. till hubby turns off the light and my black ceiling came back.. :)

ben is got very nice voice one?? look quite charming one?? coz when i was there, this other guy serve me, super nice oso.. but coz i met maggie first so went back to her.. but i ask maggie before i left today, if the guy i saw at south bridge is gay.. haha.. coz a bit too stylish.. :)

sorry and tks dfish, such a lengthy reply..

Edited by LinDa

hehehehe....my new hse v far frm u all...im at JW wan...u all at sengkang rite?....2 worlds apart manz.... :(

Me n hubby try to decipher ur pictures liao, thk we agar agar got it..thks for e offer! :P

Wah, ur living area L-box can change night n day-look siah.... :P

Ben is e quite handsme wan la, tall lanky guy...abit designer pattern wan, but nice to tok to n will gif ideas on wat match wat...

Thanks Dfish for e space in ur blog :D

Nite nite eberybody! :dunno:

hehehehe....my new hse v far frm u all...im at JW wan...u all at sengkang rite?....2 worlds apart manz.... :horse:

Me n hubby try to decipher ur pictures liao, thk we agar agar got it..thks for e offer! :D

Wah, ur living area L-box can change night n day-look siah.... :good:

Ben is e quite handsme wan la, tall lanky guy...abit designer pattern wan, but nice to tok to n will gif ideas on wat match wat...

Thanks Dfish for e space in ur blog :)

Nite nite eberybody! zz

haha, if u need bigger photo (coz i shrink it for the forum) let me know.. anyways, i stay at bukit panjang la.. :seeya:

Image005-1.jpg

went to the south bridge outlet to try out the demi too but its a bit too hard for me and hubby lor.. wanted to get the box but i find it too low.. then mission is not clean cut enough (can see cushion).. so end up i got the del for the living and id fell in love with the versatility of lex single chair + armchair combi so got that for the mbr living at the holland village showroom today from maggie.. i find maggie super :good: service..

i like the coris estate .. got underground parking rite?? i love the 3/4 length windows.. same, want to buy but by the time i know, no more units left.. u so lucky!! :(

Hi Linda,

Nice contrast of colours you have for your ceiling! Feels like looking up into the dark sky! :)

My sofa demi is to be custom made to 3 seater and ottoman. The salesman, Ben told me that we could choose the firmness of the foam.. so I choose the less firm foam. Can even select the type of steel legs (polished or hairline finish). Yes the other models I tried the back is too low, not comfy to lay back.

The coris does not have underground parking but our neighbours, Aspella and Atrina have. Coris window is full height in the living room and 3/4 in the other 2 bedrooms. Yes I love the windows!

hehehehe....my new hse v far frm u all...im at JW wan...u all at sengkang rite?....2 worlds apart manz.... :)

Me n hubby try to decipher ur pictures liao, thk we agar agar got it..thks for e offer! :D

Wah, ur living area L-box can change night n day-look siah.... :good:

Thanks Dfish for e space in ur blog :unsure:

Nite nite eberybody! zz

No problem! You're welcome!

Been looking around for cube shaped stools to put in the living room near the shoe cabinet so can sit down and wear shoes. Greycat, the cubes you bought from barang barang what material is it??

My sofa demi is to be custom made to 3 seater and ottoman. The salesman, Ben told me that we could choose the firmness of the foam.. so I choose the less firm foam. Can even select the type of steel legs (polished or hairline finish). Yes the other models I tried the back is too low, not comfy to lay back.

Been looking around for cube shaped stools to put in the living room near the shoe cabinet so can sit down and wear shoes. Greycat, the cubes you bought from barang barang what material is it??

Hi-five, u oso Demi :dribble: we can compare picture when e sofa comes out liao, heehehe :bleah:

The cube-cube seems to be leather or pvc....sale @ $99, barangx2 still got many :dribble:

But 1 thing, after a while, will haf sme mould grow at edge wan...we use leather oil n protect (its in hubby hse nw) :good:

Hi Linda,

Nice contrast of colours you have for your ceiling! Feels like looking up into the dark sky! :bleah:

The coris does not have underground parking but our neighbours, Aspella and Atrina have. Coris window is full height in the living room and 3/4 in the other 2 bedrooms. Yes I love the windows!

No problem! You're welcome!

haha, black make the ceiling feel much higher for one..

i oso change my del to a 3 seater and chose a foam 2 instead (original is foam 1).. but i a bit worry that it will cause the sofa to be out of shape lei.. u noe our sofa is sqaure sqaure then nice one ma.. :dribble: i like demi and mission legs.. really nice.. :dribble: maggie says box very comfy though very low.. display piece coming in on thursday.. i cant wait if not in the photo box oso look very nice.. how much u buy demi 3 seater and ottoman each??

i love underground parking lor.. very condo.. hehe.. anyways, yr estate from outside oso super look like condo.. i really like it (not to mention the windows again) so much but too bad cant get a unit..

i saw cube shape stools/cushion at evov, did u try those?? too soft??

Hi-five, u oso Demi :) we can compare picture when e sofa comes out liao, heehehe :D

The cube-cube seems to be leather or pvc....sale @ $99, barangx2 still got many :notti:

But 1 thing, after a while, will haf sme mould grow at edge wan...we use leather oil n protect (its in hubby hse nw) :D

Good idea! Will surely post the picture here. Wan to see Linda's Del sofa too!. Mine would will be ready for delivery in July...

Oh the barang barang cube is in leather/pvc... Hope to find those in fabric cos sofa is in fabric. More matching in this way. Oh no.. there's mould at the edge!! That's the problem will leather/pvc. Hope the leather oil helps.