MsPetite

How Do I Seek Quotation? Please Advise...

Hey all, me and hubby just booked a flat and waiting to collect our keys within the next 3 mths. Is this the right time to look for a ID or contractor now for quotations? What are the most basic stuff that people will get for quotations during the intital stage?

Is it too early to source around? Thanks to all in advance!

Earlier is better... so that U can have more time to choose... U need to get the floor plan...

Hey all, me and hubby just booked a flat and waiting to collect our keys within the next 3 mths. Is this the right time to look for a ID or contractor now for quotations? What are the most basic stuff that people will get for quotations during the intital stage?

Is it too early to source around? Thanks to all in advance!

For us, we started looking around and talked to ID since Nov last year (at that time, we roughly know that we will be getting our keys in 2/3Q 2007.

Most of the ID firm we spoke did not get back to us but we did learnt a lot abt reno stuff, terms used in this industry, reno materials etc just by talking to them. Most of our weekends were spent visiting furniture shops/co, curtains shop, electronics shop, lights shop, bathroom and kitchen shops etc etc. There are so many things to see and learn. It was an enriching experience and I can say that today I know and understand more about reno stuff than I was 6 months ago. When talking to ID, choosing floor tiles etc, at least I will not be "smoked" so easily, especially now that I will be getting my keys soon. Visit also government websites such as HDB, CPF, etc to learn more about the policies and regulations relating to buying new house.

It was only recently that I start getting quotes from ID and we should be making a decision soon.

Start early, go around, talk to people. I also did not realise that there are so many things to learn and I am still discovering a lot of new things everyday.

Enjoy your reno journey! :dunno:

Hihi...

do you have the floor plan? cos if you wanna quotations, usually the ID or contractors will request your floor plan... roughly have in mind what you like to do... for example, hacking? retiling of floor and wall tiles? laminating rooms? kitchen cabinets, wardrobes?? these are some standard reno items...

for me, i started my reno research right after i settled on the flat, before getting the keys... but as i got my floor plan oredi, i just give the floor plan to the ID for quotations... then meanwhile, read forums, flip magazines, go shopping around for ideas... actually, can start discussing ideas and meet up with IDs.. cos you may go through several rounds before you settled on the final design... i went through at least 8 rounds of revised quotation before settling on my ID.. :bow:

happy researching.... :sport-smiley-004:

thanks all for the replies. maybe i should come up with a list of the basic stuff that i wish to do for my home and send to ID for quotations. does anyone have this kind of sample list?

Our home is a EA in Sembawang 137sqm and we purchased it under the bi-monthly WIS scheme and are considered as 1st owner hence it comes with ready tiled floor for living room, rooms, kitchen and toilets.

We intend to hack and change all flooring and wall tiles and thinking of hacking off the balcony walls too.

If I present this to ID, would they have a brieft idea on what I want?

Or u can first get their package to see what are the items you want to do then customise the list to what you want to do. The id should have a very comprehensive list of new/resale flat even into category like standard or premiums kind.

hey raincole, yah you are right! i never think of that before. thanks for the suggestion!

thanks all for the replies. maybe i should come up with a list of the basic stuff that i wish to do for my home and send to ID for quotations. does anyone have this kind of sample list?

Our home is a EA in Sembawang 137sqm and we purchased it under the bi-monthly WIS scheme and are considered as 1st owner hence it comes with ready tiled floor for living room, rooms, kitchen and toilets.

We intend to hack and change all flooring and wall tiles and thinking of hacking off the balcony walls too.

If I present this to ID, would they have a brieft idea on what I want?

this is the time for you to do the planning.

if you know what you want to do, then just get a contractor.

if you dont know what you want to do, then engage a ID(will def cost a lot more than contractor).

check out the renovation firms in this forum for their reputation.

this is the time for you to do the planning.

if you know what you want to do, then just get a contractor.

if you dont know what you want to do, then engage a ID(will def cost a lot more than contractor).

check out the renovation firms in this forum for their reputation.

hi hi, your signature is cute.. haha shopping at jalan besar/sungei road everyday..

anyway, yes more or less we have an idea on what we want so i guess a contractor should be ok.

hi hi, your signature is cute.. haha shopping at jalan besar/sungei road everyday..

anyway, yes more or less we have an idea on what we want so i guess a contractor should be ok.

hehe....

many pple look down at shops located in sungei rd/jalan besar...but hor, i bought the same lights/ventilators/waterheater at least $20-$100+ cheaper.

especially lights, same round glass ceiling light sold for $70-$120 in balestier, i got them in sungei road for just $35!:dancingqueen: as well as other lights/lamps/ventilators...

ariston 30L water heater = $220 at pohjoo (jalan besar)

Hi TYM,

saw from your siggy that you bought furniture from AIR.

is it the one at park mall? did you get any quotations from the ID of AIR for the reno of your house?

can share your experience with them?

Thanks a million :sport-smiley-004:

Hi TYM,

saw from your siggy that you bought furniture from AIR.

is it the one at park mall? did you get any quotations from the ID of AIR for the reno of your house?

can share your experience with them?

Thanks a million :good:

Hi snowiee,

Yup, its the one at Park Mall but bought mine at their Changi showroom. Prefer there as it is a much bigger place, more variety and can see the other brands under Air Division (although there is a PLANK showroom at level 2 of Park Mall).

So far the only furnitures I bought from them are 4 pieces of dining chair. They are showroom piece and also they are discontinuing with the designs, so got it cheap.

image099na4thts9.jpg

Will probably be going down soon to place my order for the bed. Dining Table and maybe sofa will come later.

So far my experience with their service at their showroom have been positive. Their sales staff are friendly and are eager to engage u, giving you suggestions, ideas and matching of furnitures.

No, I did not engaged their ID for reno ideas. In fact did not realised this until you mentioned it. But then again, do not think will engaged cos may end up buying all AIR stuff (though we like them all but some are pretty ex), big hole in pocket.