if i were to purchased the flat im currently considering, then i have to make it open concept cos the owner already broke down the wall.

so my qn is will that cause house to smell when u cook....i cook everyday.

will it be cheaper to reconstruct a wall or put up cabinets there and deal with smell??

if i were to purchased the flat im currently considering, then i have to make it open concept cos the owner already broke down the wall.

so my qn is will that cause house to smell when u cook....i cook everyday.

will it be cheaper to reconstruct a wall or put up cabinets there and deal with smell??

I am considering a open concept kitchen myself.

a lot of my friends have told me not too, as the oil and smoke and cooking will go into the rest of the house ... unless you buy a super powerful hob (or is it hood?) ..

I think constructing a wall is pretty affordable unless you want to something special.

just my 2 cents worth.

hi for me,

the prev owner already knocked the window which is the old fashioned type which I hate! but i cannot seal up the wall, reason is because the kitchen walls already tiled. and i don't have any extra tiles. so if I seal up the wall,

1. Plaster over. So 1 kitchen wall is without tiles

2. Tile up the new wall, but the other sides of the kitchen have diff tiles

In the end i decide to go for open concept lor. No choice. cuz i think both ways also look weird... hahaha... but mum also warn me about the cooking. HDB flat, so cannot buy the chimney type of hood... so i am getting the Fujioh one, supposed to be stronger.

Anyone else care to share?

I am considering a open concept kitchen myself.

a lot of my friends have told me not too, as the oil and smoke and cooking will go into the rest of the house ... unless you buy a super powerful hob (or is it hood?) ..

I think constructing a wall is pretty affordable unless you want to something special.

just my 2 cents worth.

yeah initially i didnt like the idea of open concept as i have small kids n like to have a door at kitchen entrance so safer as i can close the door when cooking or when food is on the stove. i think open concept kitchen is not such a safe idea when u have little kids around.

but now im confused lor...the kitchen design that i like was displayed as open concept at ikea. so if i do decide to do that, then will put up baby-safe gate to prevent them from entering

hi for me,

the prev owner already knocked the window which is the old fashioned type which I hate! but i cannot seal up the wall, reason is because the kitchen walls already tiled. and i don't have any extra tiles. so if I seal up the wall,

1. Plaster over. So 1 kitchen wall is without tiles

2. Tile up the new wall, but the other sides of the kitchen have diff tiles

In the end i decide to go for open concept lor. No choice. cuz i think both ways also look weird... hahaha... but mum also warn me about the cooking. HDB flat, so cannot buy the chimney type of hood... so i am getting the Fujioh one, supposed to be stronger.

Anyone else care to share?

actually my current kitchen is not tiled....and it looks very nice.

tiled only where there is wet works and cooking area....the rest are painted glossy to match tile colour.

it is seriously very nice. i guess it depends on ur design n kitchen layout.

if i were to make my kitchen like my mom's kitchen now, i will spend a bomb...just 10k on kitchen alone.

Why not put a glass panel at the open space? Or you can build a bar counter and have the glass panel on top? This way you won't need to tile up and its still open concept, without the cooking smells floating around your house.

Except you will look like having a breadtalk kitchen lor - but that's stylish also mah...keke...

Yes indeed a wall or tempered glass will be a better choice.

A powerful hood range of 1000m to 1200m will be a addtional idea for smoke and grease away from the kitchen.

but still depends on what designs of ur house will be. A wall will make ur dining room and kitchen smaller. With tempered glass divider will make it look bigger and wider. :good:

Yes indeed a wall or tempered glass will be a better choice.

A powerful hood range of 1000m to 1200m will be a addtional idea for smoke and grease away from the kitchen.

but still depends on what designs of ur house will be. A wall will make ur dining room and kitchen smaller. With tempered glass divider will make it look bigger and wider. :)

Wow, 1000m? That will be those chimmey type right? Slim type won't have such power...but I wonder, chimmey without an extractor (to direct the fumes out of the house), will it be really useful?

And yes, tempered glass is good if you want the place to look bigger, somemore brighten up the kitchen also!

hi yes i did consider about building a tempered glass screen but hubby thinks it will look like restautant / breadtalk. he doesn't like. and he thinks that it's wasted cuz there is a feeling of openness but no interaction between kitchen and dinning.

i did think of the glossy paint... but i feel that it's funny to have 1 wall with glossy paint and the other 3 walls all tiles. Contractor said either I hack ALL and retile ALL or I hack ALL and paint all. haiz.

anyway i think it's too late to change. cuz already more or less decided to have the open concept lor. one advantage is that our dining room will look bigger.

also Hubby mentioned that since our living room and dining room got a sliding door, the smell will only affect our dining room and balcony.

cuz we are going to air con the living room. so we will install sliding door to seperate dining and kitchen from living / bedroom.

so not that bad for the smell problem, right?

hi yes i did consider about building a tempered glass screen but hubby thinks it will look like restautant / breadtalk.

ya hor....didnt realise this until you mention breadtalk....

saw many houses's pics look realli like breadtalk24.gif

nope. now slim types hoods also have 1000m already.

Check this model:

SKU/Code: DHT496XP1

Name: 90 cm Metal Front Telescopic

Description: • 2 twin fan motor

• Maximum airflow : 1000 m3/h

Dont know how much is the price but will be more expensive then other slim hoods.

Well without the extractor is still ok. Just to make sure to wash the filter regular if the owner is a heavy cooker. :)

cuz we are going to air con the living room. so we will install sliding door to seperate dining and kitchen from living / bedroom.

so not that bad for the smell problem, right?

Well will be good that after cooking then on the air-con in the living room will be a better choice. :)

Check this model:

SKU/Code: DHT496XP1

Name: 90 cm Metal Front Telescopic

Description: • 2 twin fan motor

• Maximum airflow : 1000 m3/h

Oh I didn't know this - which brand is that? Thanks... :)

I've seen a house which use a air blower, something to blow the air inside the kitchen to prevent it from escaping into the living.