ilys

Id: No Provision Of Haulage Services & Hdb Permit

But he did say that 4-rm used to be abt $650 but now increased due to the sand ban thing.

So it is also likely that my potential ID did not jack up their price by much. :deal:

With the signing of the extradiction and defence pact btw Sin and Indon recently, lets hope that this sand and granite ban thing may blow over soon.

Hmmz, in that case I guess we really need to go call up that Lian Cheng Hock (I still not sure about the spelling - anyone knows??) contractor and ask them the exact price for haulage.

Then again, the contractor can issue an official receipt of xxx amount, but behind our back cover the ID with commission.

So maybe can make two calls on different days, with different tel no: one saying that you are the flat owner asking the price, while another call to say that you are an ID checking out the price of their haulage services.

Edited by zirhk3355

I was quited $500 for haulage fee, and later i bargain down to $400.

Info on renovation is available on HDB website here:

HDB InfoWEB: Renovation

Scroll down and click on "Applying for a Renovation Permit":

...Depending on the nature of the works and whether the contractors are registered with HDB, the administrative fee ranges from $100 to $600...

Haulage fee is paid to the contractor (but sometimes your ID pays on your behalf or absorb into your quotation). The contractor will then pay HDB/town council for using the carpark or land to put the skid.

Not sure about "$500 haulage to doorstep", but from layman's terms I believe it means that the contractor will bring the sand up to your door. Maybe there are incidents where the contractor will just deliver to your void deck and somebody has to come down to wheelbarrow the stuff up, so that's why got such terms as 'to doorstep' lor...

I believe u interpret wrongly. There is no charges for reno permit. The charges u mentioned are for retaining of unauthorised reno.

Ya, I think you are right. As quoted from the above link:

"Note: HDB does not charge any fee for the processing of the permit. The renovation permit will be issued to you, the flat owner, and you are required to keep this permit."

Btw, what is this"Renovation Deposit"? Will it be refunded back to you on completion of your reno?

zirhk3355, is this the item that HDB is charging you?

I was quited $500 for haulage fee, and later i bargain down to $400.

Oh ya, I think you are right. This is confusing - would my ID really be so blatant to charge me, somemore can ask me to check with branch office for the fees, if there is really no fees for permit? :yamseng:

I will check it out and let you guys know...

Btw, what is this"Renovation Deposit"? Will it be refunded back to you on completion of your reno?

zirhk3355, is this the item that HDB is charging you?

Yeah, I am quite confused with this also.

Suddenly I just remembered; the ID did not inform me of any fees for PE - I will be hacking some walls in the kitchen and MBR.

Aiyo, headache... :D:P:P

Edited by zirhk3355

Oh ya, I think you are right. This is confusing - would my ID really be so blatant to charge me, somemore can ask me to check with branch office for the fees, if there is really no fees for permit? :bangwall:

I will check it out and let you guys know...

Yeah, I am quite confused with this also.

Suddenly I just remembered; the ID did not inform me of any fees for PE - I will be hacking some walls in the kitchen and MBR.

Aiyo, headache... :unsure::deal::deal:

Not all hacking need PE endorsement. Maybe u can check whether your neighbour did any hacking and if they need any endorsement. U can also check with HDB.

Normally PE endorsement need $500++

I did some hacking for my reno without PE endorsement

As for th haulage, some ID will quote together with flooring, while some seperate out. Do enquire during the quotation.

For new flats, some town council will enforce contactor to buy sand and haulage from their designated contractor. U may see those notice near the lift. Different place different practices

Not all hacking need PE endorsement. Maybe u can check whether your neighbour did any hacking and if they need any endorsement. U can also check with HDB.

Normally PE endorsement need $500++

I did some hacking for my reno without PE endorsement

As for th haulage, some ID will quote together with flooring, while some seperate out. Do enquire during the quotation.

For new flats, some town council will enforce contactor to buy sand and haulage from their designated contractor. U may see those notice near the lift. Different place different practices

Thanks for your info - as mentioned by sakae-sushi in another thread, who is also living at my blk, he has to pay for PE endorsement fees, which is about $400+.

Anyway, I went on a merry-go-round with the govt departments this whole morning and finally got some answers, although not very pleasing. For the records, there IS a difference between new flats and old flats.

Indeed, HDB do not charge for renovation permits, however for new flats, they do collect haulage fee on behalf of Town Council. Then I called Town Council, they claimed that they collect this amount for clearing of debris, putting the skid at the void decks to collect debris, etc. Let's call this the "Govt Haulage Fee".

However, as told by my ID, I have to pay the appointed contractor for haulage services; like cookie said above, some town council forces us to take from the designated contractor/supplier only.

So I called up the so-called contractor, with the number written on the wood board inside the lift, and he said we need to pay him haulage fee because he will be doing general work like clearing of debris, and also supply of sand.

I said "For general work, town council is collecting from me and they said their contractor will do it."

And this guy said, "That contractor is me lor!"

I remarked, "So why do I need to pay you again when I already paid town council?"

"No, no, different one, you pay govt is govt one, you pay me is my one".

Erm...hmm, ok...so let's call this the "Contractor Haulage Fee".

And here's the beef: For my new estate I am being forced to buy sand from this appointed contractor, and the question is: Why?? I mean I understand I can't do my own clearing of debris and put a skid at the void deck, because if everyone do that then the whole void deck will be full of skids. I would agree that there should only be one appointed contractor to do this and we pay the town council direct.

But why must I also be forced to buy sand from the appointed contractor? When I buy furniture, tiles and other materials, they also deliver by lorries and such. So I buy sand by myself, what's the harm?

I also did a check with another contractor for haulage services using my parent's old flat address, a 4-rm flat. The fees is a mere $500, which include both general work and sand. Mine?

A whopping $1200 for the Contractor Haulage Fee only, and I still have to pay $283.50 for the Govt Haulage Fee!

Is this some kind of undertable going on - secret tie-up between town council and the contractor? So the contractor strike toto liao lor, can 'bao' for the whole estate, at such highly marked-up prices somemore...

Ok I maybe wrong, so anyone who is wiser kindly advise me pls... :)

Edited by zirhk3355

Ok, sought advice from my ID and he did made some sense.

The contractor is the sole party for both general works and supply of sand. If we only pay the Govt Haulage Fee but take our sand from someone else, do you think he will do his general works properly? Maybe for other people he clear debris every 2 to 3 days, but my flat sekali kana marked and only clear once a week!

Sighz, so bo pianz lor, kana cornered, LL still have to buy from this %$%@%&* contractor, even though the price is so high.

Thanks for your info - as mentioned by sakae-sushi in another thread, who is also living at my blk, he has to pay for PE endorsement fees, which is about $400+.

Anyway, I went on a merry-go-round with the govt departments this whole morning and finally got some answers, although not very pleasing. For the records, there IS a difference between new flats and old flats.

Indeed, HDB do not charge for renovation permits, however for new flats, they do collect haulage fee on behalf of Town Council. Then I called Town Council, they claimed that they collect this amount for clearing of debris, putting the skid at the void decks to collect debris, etc. Let's call this the "Govt Haulage Fee".

However, as told by my ID, I have to pay the appointed contractor for haulage services; like cookie said above, some town council forces us to take from the designated contractor/supplier only.

So I called up the so-called contractor, with the number written on the wood board inside the lift, and he said we need to pay him haulage fee because he will be doing general work like clearing of debris, and also supply of sand.

I said "For general work, town council is collecting from me and they said their contractor will do it."

And this guy said, "That contractor is me lor!"

I remarked, "So why do I need to pay you again when I already paid town council?"

"No, no, different one, you pay govt is govt one, you pay me is my one".

Erm...hmm, ok...so let's call this the "Contractor Haulage Fee".

And here's the beef: For my new estate I am being forced to buy sand from this appointed contractor, and the question is: Why?? I mean I understand I can't do my own clearing of debris and put a skid at the void deck, because if everyone do that then the whole void deck will be full of skids. I would agree that there should only be one appointed contractor to do this and we pay the town council direct.

But why must I also be forced to buy sand from the appointed contractor? When I buy furniture, tiles and other materials, they also deliver by lorries and such. So I buy sand by myself, what's the harm?

I also did a check with another contractor for haulage services using my parent's old flat address, a 4-rm flat. The fees is a mere $500, which include both general work and sand. Mine?

A whopping $1200 for the Contractor Haulage Fee only, and I still have to pay $283.50 for the Govt Haulage Fee!

Is this some kind of undertable going on - secret tie-up between town council and the contractor? So the contractor strike toto liao lor, can 'bao' for the whole estate, at such highly marked-up prices somemore...

Ok I maybe wrong, so anyone who is wiser kindly advise me pls... :dunno:

Sorry, this is a bit confusing for me :D.

So if my ID quoted me $750 for haulage, do I still need to pay this "appointed contractor" any haulage fee?

Will not pay my ID if I still have to pay this "appointed contractor" additional haulage fee.

But I assumed I would still need to pay the $xxx amt for the Govt Haulage Fee?

Sorry, this is a bit confusing for me :D.

So if my ID quoted me $750 for haulage, do I still need to pay this "appointed contractor" any haulage fee?

Will not pay my ID if I still have to pay this "appointed contractor" additional haulage fee.

But I assumed I would still need to pay the $xxx amt for the Govt Haulage Fee?

Think you better check with your ID to make sure lor.

If your ID is paying on your behalf, well, he obviously can't be paying the difference between the official amount and $750, right? *wink*

Then again, sometimes when the cost is spread out on the quotation its easier to accept lor, unlike my case where I have to pay the haulage of $1200 lump sum out of my pocket directly. Hehe, typical Singaporean mindset lah, I know... ;P

zirkhk3355,

I think the "govt haulage" should be included in the fee paid to the appointed contractor. Do check with him again.

TYM,

If your ID already included the haulage in the quote, then he will pay to the appointed contractor. Check with him if there is any hidden cost.

For my reno, my contractor told me my quote already include all haulage of sand and debris collection, means he will pay to appointed contractor. The only hidden cost is cooking gas pipe installation which will be bill to me directly.

Edited by cookie

hv checked..

"haulage" paid to town council is one fee (subject to location/blk)

the other fee payable to the contractor (for the supply of sand etc) is subject to the usage etc..

u can use the appointed con for the blk.

or if not, u can use ur own con to arrange to provide this service.

it is recommended to use the blk's appointed con, but necessary to..

TYM,

If your ID already included the haulage in the quote, then he will pay to the appointed contractor. Check with him if there is any hidden cost.

For my reno, my contractor told me my quote already include all haulage of sand and debris collection, means he will pay to appointed contractor. The only hidden cost is cooking gas pipe installation which will be bill to me directly.

Ok, tks for the clarification, will check.

hv checked..

"haulage" paid to town council is one fee (subject to location/blk)

the other fee payable to the contractor (for the supply of sand etc) is subject to the usage etc..

u can use the appointed con for the blk.

or if not, u can use ur own con to arrange to provide this service.

it is recommended to use the blk's appointed con, but necessary to..

Yup, that was what I am told also; there are two haulage charges to be paid.

I also wanted to arrange for other con to supply my sand, but what happens if the appointed con becomes unhappy and play punk with me in his general works? Yes I can complain to town council, HDB all that, but like finding alot of trouble lor...haiz...

Anyone has experience buying sand from own con instead of the appointed con? For new flat...

the hdb handbook did mention NO CHARGES for hdb reno permit as above and charges $80-$120 for the skid.

for me, my contractor charges only $500 for haulage, $150 for removing debris. NONE for permit.