BhongNCorrine 0 Report post Posted July 30, 2007 Was quoted about $900 buck by a QP to hack down the wall around the main door.Nearly fainted, $900 buck can do a lot of thing leh !Now i know why civil engineer is in hot demand ....**** !Too lazy to take picture for these few days ... (rainy weather, nice weather too Zzzzzz........)Anyway, here the update ...the balcony floor was done, was wondering what the contractor was telling C about "the pebble design, very nice very nice" .... now then i get it ... at bit more interesting than just grey tiles ...the flooring for the kitchen is also almost ready ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mist 0 Report post Posted July 30, 2007 qp mah. they are 'professionals' hehe. hey wall around main door can hack meh? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BhongNCorrine 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2007 qp mah. they are 'professionals' hehe. hey wall around main door can hack meh?I also professionals ....but my boss didn't pay me that kind of money ....... I am going to move the main door forward ...so the wall around will have to go ...the contractor said the wall is make of RC stiffener not the main support ...should be able to hack ..But of cos ...HDB wants me to get a QP to certify ... !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tinkle 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2007 Nice tiles! I also saw it at hafary. was quite expensive if i recall correctly. In the end i selected the black and white flower tiles instead.why do u have to hack down the wall? $900 is quite ex! Is this a special wall? my contractor quoted me $200 to hack off the kitchen wall but in the end gave that to me FOC. Why this huge difference in cost? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted July 31, 2007 (edited) think there are certain walls that hdb demarcates as 'hackable' and certain walls esp overhead must be certified by QP/PE that it won't compromise the structural integrity... the $900 is not just the price of hacking, but for some 'professional' to come down, take a look to say can or cannot hack Edited July 31, 2007 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BhongNCorrine 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2007 think there are certain walls that hdb demarcates as 'hackable' and certain walls esp overhead must be certified by QP/PE that it won't compromise the structural integrity... the $900 is not just the price of hacking, but for some 'professional' to come down, take a look to say can or cannot hack the thing is that we knew that the wall is hackable, becos we saw our neighbour did it anyway, manage to find a QP willing to certify for me and charge me a more reasonable price.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 1, 2007 that's good to hear it's one more step towards your dream home Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BhongNCorrine 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2007 R-DAY 30 ( 1 mths)~~~~~~~~~~~~~One month has passed since the renovation started .....times really flies ......Most of the tiling works are done, Ah Wee (the tiling guy) told me that he will just need some touch up work this week, then he will move on to another project. After hearing all the horrible "nightmare" stories of bad tiling works........, actually we are quite paranoia after it. We are very lucky to have ah wee to do up our tiling for us. He is a very nice and patience guy. His workmanship is very good, my parent is singing praises of his skill everytime they do surprise "inspection" to our place. Thanks again ...ah wee !! So far, we are quite satisfy with the work done, the tiles that the contractor recommendated goes well with what we have in mind. so the next phase of the renovation will include, plastering of wall, carpentry, electrical, windows, doors, grills and air-con installations. More decisions have to be made ! and we are closer to our home ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 6, 2007 thanks for the gatethe rose tile is really when i saw it with my own eyes, it really took my breath away Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jamez 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2007 thanks for the gatethe rose tile is really when i saw it with my own eyes, it really took my breath awayagreed...itz the colour of the tile...the tile is textured and so are the colours...lookz so sweet i wanna eat it off the walls... !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BhongNCorrine 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2007 The window for the whole house is up ....But we discovered that the window at the dining is slanting to one side....So we did a measurement, and realised that the left and right side is approximately 5cm different in height.Called the contractor ....she said the magic word "IT'S LIKE THAT WANT ...... " "YOUR WALL IS NOT STRAIGTH MAH ....."i was like ..... "SURE OR NOT ...... " so it's my fault ?? so going to meet her up to take a look .....What a let down after the good tiling job her tiler has put in .... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hello88 2 Report post Posted August 7, 2007 The window for the whole house is up ....But we discovered that the window at the dining is slanting to one side....So we did a measurement, and realised that the left and right side is approximately 5cm different in height.Called the contractor ....she said the magic word "IT'S LIKE THAT WANT ...... " "YOUR WALL IS NOT STRAIGTH MAH ....."i was like ..... "SURE OR NOT ...... " so it's my fault ?? so going to meet her up to take a look .....What a let down after the good tiling job her tiler has put in .... finally found someone having the same EM layout as mine. Really boh tahan the layout of the common loo....btw, I just did cabinets for the corridor windows (usually ppl put dining table) and also realised that the alignment for the window grills slanting cos one side of the cabinet able to touch the grills whereas one side fall short a few cm. After a close check, realised that its actually the floor slanting Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BhongNCorrine 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2007 finally found someone having the same EM layout as mine. Really boh tahan the layout of the common loo....btw, I just did cabinets for the corridor windows (usually ppl put dining table) and also realised that the alignment for the window grills slanting cos one side of the cabinet able to touch the grills whereas one side fall short a few cm. After a close check, realised that its actually the floor slanting looks like our house have many similar features leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hello88 2 Report post Posted August 7, 2007 (edited) looks like our house have many similar features leh !! i'm the 2nd owner and reno was close to 20yrs so we overhaul the whole **** place except staircase railings. Can see that u also doing a major overhaul including the staircase railing. There goes all $$$$$$$ Edited August 7, 2007 by hello88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
WelcomeHome 0 Report post Posted August 8, 2007 i'm the 2nd owner and reno was close to 20yrs so we overhaul the whole **** place except staircase railings. Can see that u also doing a major overhaul including the staircase railing. There goes all $$$$$$$Hi there, I am new here.I just brought a EM at Serangoon North. I also need to renov the whole place. Have not go for first appoint yet.But I have very tight budge cos paid $25k above valuation. Thinking of changing the whole house flooring. construct a new toilet at first floor.Can anyone share your designer layout of the EM..Got no $$ to get designer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites