lovenest

Hack Down Bedroom Wall

im thinking of hacking away one bedroom wall so as to make the living room space bigger but i heard that this will bring down the value of my house if i were to sell it in future.

is this true?

hello

i hack away all the walls in my house. just ensure that you have all the relevant HDB permits. its will not affect the house value cos valuation is based on the location and size of the house and not so much of the design or how many walls you have hack.

im thinking of hacking away one bedroom wall so as to make the living room space bigger but i heard that this will bring down the value of my house if i were to sell it in future.

is this true?

erm...so far it is just a verbal statement, no black & white proof. If you think that the extra room is not necessary then go ahead to hack because you are definately going to stay there for quite a while. A wall can always be rebuilt. Even if it will affect the selling price, i think it will only be a few Ks and what is that few Ks divided by the time that you have stayed in that flat. Dun think so far ahead, do whatever you feel like doing now.

is this true?

i hacked one bedroom away to enlarge my mbr so that i can fit in a mini living and study rm into 1 room. got ppl say value will dropped but i went and did it anyways as i intend to live there a long time. so unless u r just gg to stay there for 5 yrs to sell at a profit then hacking may not be a good idea. but if u intend to do up the place nicely and stay for long time, can hack lor. when u sell, perhaps can look for like-minded new owners so its all abt fate and luck.

hence to hack or not to hack, it depends on yr objective really. :bangwall:

Edited by LinDa

yeah i fi were to get a 4 rm then i will hack one bedroom wall but if i get 5 rm them i wont hack. cos if i get 4 rm i will stay for about 10 years them move if we have more kids and need more space. if 5 rm no need to move anymore mah.sigh

Value drops if you do the wrong thing. Reason is simple-- whoever wants to buy over have to incur extra cost to undo your "mistake".

Eg. some people hacked walls of EA to increase their master bedroom size at the expense of the adjoining bedroom. However, this means that a buyer who wants to have 4 bedrooms will now have to rebuild it, and will cost him a few thousand $$$, plus all the hassle. So this limits your available pool of buyers to those who do not need all the bedrooms. Hence the potential drop in valuation and selling price, all other things being equal.

On the other hand, valuation increases when you do the right thing, eg. your renovation is very tasteful, you hide your bomb shelter very well, etc.

I think value wun drop..

its just that u may need to wait for someone who likes your flat and your altered layout..

some pple may need the extra bedroom, but if u hack that away.. then they may not consider your flat..

U have found someone who likes your flat.. I'm sure he/she will buy it from U regardless of price :yamseng:

I think value wun drop..

its just that u may need to wait for someone who likes your flat and your altered layout..

some pple may need the extra bedroom, but if u hack that away.. then they may not consider your flat..

U have found someone who likes your flat.. I'm sure he/she will buy it from U regardless of price :yamseng:

Yes... I viewed one unit that hack the wall of another room to make the MBR bigger... because I want to have 3 bedrooms... that unit immediate drop out from my list...

Edited by HSH21

Hello

Er according to my dad who is a real estate agent... hacking a wall makes it harder to sell next time... but i dun care. i am going ahead to hack a wall anyway cuz i really want an open concept dining cum kitchen area!

Hello

Er according to my dad who is a real estate agent... hacking a wall makes it harder to sell next time... but i dun care. i am going ahead to hack a wall anyway cuz i really want an open concept dining cum kitchen area!

harder to sell in a way harder to find potential house buyers with same view lor..

but with good renovation i tink it will not be that difficult..

anyways, i don't understand 5-rm and 4-rm got what difference other than size coz my 5-rm only got 3 bedrooms lor..

great!! i love open concept dining and kitchen too, i hacked my kitchen walls totally oso.. haha.. :lol: no regrets!!

Also depend on the buyer type. If couple, they don't mind missing 1 bedroom or lesser room. If family, they would want the room/storeroom etc. The pool of buyers will be lesser.

You must ask yourself, how long will you be staying in the house? If you want to stay only for 5 years, you may want to do minor reno, but if this house is your home, heck care, just do it.