bearie 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2007 Hi, anyone using the gas storage heater provided by city gas? will the water turn hot immediately when u turn on the tap? cos my husband afraid that our child might be scalded with the hot water. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kensanctuary 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2007 Citygas free heater is not STORAGE heater, it is a INSTANT heater. so, of cos will hot instantly. Although I will sign up for Citygas, but I will not get the free heater, not comfortable to put at kitchen, esp the pipe. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chew@PPLe 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2007 Actually mine takes like 3 sec from the point when the water starts running to feel the hot water. Thereafter, it'll come at full blast heehee! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reynerllica 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2007 What are the pros and cons compare with citygas storage heater and an electric storage heater installed? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kensanctuary 0 Report post Posted May 1, 2007 Gas => Cost saving mah, also can provide hot water to all taps if u want. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kon 0 Report post Posted May 1, 2007 why not consider installing both? haven't actually tried it before, and not sure if it's possible, but if can why not? we have been using the free gas heater... if given a chance, might not be using it anymore unless it can be installed together with an electric heater...but if your concern is your child get scalded with hot water, then i would think both gas & electric heater are equally 'dangerous' ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
A380 0 Report post Posted May 1, 2007 You can set the temperature on Citygas at 42 degrees(recommended). So your children will not get scalded. Storage heater is always maximum temperature, so you got to use the bath mixer to get the correct temperature. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 1, 2007 why not consider installing both? haven't actually tried it before, and not sure if it's possible, but if can why not? we have been using the free gas heater... if given a chance, might not be using it anymore unless it can be installed together with an electric heater...but if your concern is your child get scalded with hot water, then i would think both gas & electric heater are equally 'dangerous' ?why you won't use it anymore?me still thinking should or should not get it what problem do you face? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
andrew77 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2007 Yeah anyone can tell us the pros and cons of gas heater. I'm on for gas cause it saves $. Cheerioes Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted July 1, 2007 (edited) I want to know about the pros and cons of gas heater too, although abit late lah, last friday citygas people just came up to install.For those who are using it already, anyone having rain shower? I want to install rain shower but the guy warn me that only storage heater above 15L will have enough pressure for the rain shower.Also, about the heat; rather than worry about scalding someone, I worry that it might not be hot enough? Cuz HDB gave me hot/cold water at every tap, so wondering if two persons are bathing at both toilets and someone is using the tap for hot water, will the gas heater be sufficient cater to all these? It seemed rather small size... Edited July 1, 2007 by zirhk3355 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted July 1, 2007 me already bought the rain shower sets liaowill be installing the gas heatermy contractor said if one rain shower pressure no problebut if two rain shower use at the same time then maybe not enough pressurewah so envious leh, you get the hot water pointsme still got to pay citygas to pipe them for methat would mean exposed piping everywhere Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
andrew77 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2007 Hi applefreak,How can the contractor confirm? Did he test the water gauge? I found out that my block doesn't have city gas, I have to get either electric instant/storage heater. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
galsparkle 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2007 hi,where is the gas heater placed in the kitchen? any where you like or the person installing will determine?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted July 2, 2007 Hi applefreak,How can the contractor confirm? Did he test the water gauge? I found out that my block doesn't have city gas, I have to get either electric instant/storage heater.it's more of the gas heater is capable of heating up 5l of water per second onlyrain shower will take almost all of it so if both shower on at the same time, no enough hot water to distribute to boththen become lukewarm liao loh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted July 2, 2007 hi,where is the gas heater placed in the kitchen? any where you like or the person installing will determine??think there are certain requirements but not sure what they arethink good ventilation is a mustyou can pick out a few locations and tell the person installing ithe/she will tell you can or cannotbut remember the piping will be exposed so better choose a location near the bathrooms and gas pipe inleti will be putting mine in the service balcony Share this post Link to post Share on other sites