zirhk3355

Can I Relocate A Door After Its Had Been Installed?

Just to check on the words of my ID:

I wanted to remove a wall from my MBR, which includes the door + frame, to make a part of my living room as my WIW.

And because this is a new flat with new timber doors, I thought I should not waste it and maybe I can reuse it for my study area which I am going to construct. Of course the door frame cannot be reuse, I will hack off the old frame and construct a new frame, then just install the door in it.

However, my ID told me that it cannot be done. He said that usually carpenter do the frame first, then custom-make the door to that particular frame. It is very difficult to do the frame to suit a particular door.

Hmmz, I am not sure about his words, because I thought all doors are the same? Sure some are custom-made, but for those brand new ones by HDB, surely they cannot be custom-made one by one right?

Anyone who has knowledge of this, kindly advise me: Is my ID telling the truth, or just trying to make me spend more money to buy a brand new door from him?

Edited by zirhk3355

I wanted to remove a wall from my MBR, which includes the door + frame, to make a part of my living room as my WIW.

And because this is a new flat with new timber doors, I thought I should not waste it and maybe I can reuse it for my study area which I am going to construct. Of course the door frame cannot be reuse, I will hack off the old frame and construct a new frame, then just install the door in it.

However, my ID told me that it cannot be done. He said that usually carpenter do the frame first, then custom-make the door to that particular frame. It is very difficult to do the frame to suit a particular door.

Hmmz, I am not sure about his words, because I thought all doors are the same? Sure some are custom-made, but for those brand new ones by HDB, surely they cannot be custom-made one by one right?

Anyone who has knowledge of this, kindly advise me: Is my ID telling the truth, or just trying to make me spend more money to buy a brand new door from him?

i thot HDB doors all standard one? (same batch) :sport-smiley-004:

sorry TS sidetrack a bit

me also thinking about something similar

i want to change my MBR door from opening in to opening out - like those japanese homes like that

can use back the same door and door frame or do i have to buy new one?

If you are creating a new study area, you can certainly ask the contractor to make a doorway that is the right size for your door, then put in a door frame and then install the door.

The only problem is that door + frame + lockset are normally sold together, so you won't save much by not taking the door, even if you could persuade your contractor to do it.

If you are creating a new study area, you can certainly ask the contractor to make a doorway that is the right size for your door, then put in a door frame and then install the door.

The only problem is that door + frame + lockset are normally sold together, so you won't save much by not taking the door, even if you could persuade your contractor to do it.

Ok, thanks for the info!

I remember last time during my parents' place reno, they quoted door frame and the door separately. If like you said, then this guy must be quite rare, or maybe no such practice in today's context liao. Haiz... :sport-smiley-018:

Do I really have to waste my door? After all I paid $1900 for them leh...

Ok, thanks for the info!

I remember last time during my parents' place reno, they quoted door frame and the door separately. If like you said, then this guy must be quite rare, or maybe no such practice in today's context liao. Haiz... :lol:

Do I really have to waste my door? After all I paid $1900 for them leh...

it's a standard hdb size door right? maybe i ask my contractor tomorrow...see what he says.

me kind of curious also.

maybe this thread came too late

but just in case anyone still interested

got someone to hack away the door frames - $300 including patching up of affected area

someone else to supply door frame for the original hdb doors - $330 for supply and install door frame

HDB door is standard width one. Only the height need to adjust due to the floor tiling thickness. The door frame is made at factory and then delivery to you place, then they put it up and fill the gap with cement. So door frame and door all standard size. Unless you specially order a made to measure door.

As for the idea to reuse the door frame, its not possible cos once they hack, door frame confirm bent and dent or break.

To hack away door frames and install new one cost between $190 - $220 (some shop only install frame but don't hack, cost ~$110). The overall cost will depends on the type of door you choose, classic (woodchip/cupboard plank with hollow center, about $120-$160) or solid wood door ($2xx) or designer door ($???)

Your ID is not telling you the truth. In maths there are addition and subtraction. The norm is to construct door frame and get inner measurement of frame to construct the door. However, in your case, the frame can be tailor made by adding back the allowance need to door size. The work may be a little more but still there are cost saving. ID usually want easy work out and swing for more $$$. You should insist him to do it. PM me if you have any problem