compassvale 0 Report post Posted February 16, 2008 i stay in town & work in town, bus to workplace is 10mins, tot of getting weekend car but... the red plate GOSH! so ugly...but i hav no idea what is the diff between OPC & Normal car? Installment free policy get a red car lor. then the red plate will blend in nicely. seriously. heheOPC, u get about $17K off the price of the care rightaway.Road tax also cheaper, insurance also cheaper. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 16, 2008 only restriction is you can use the car during 'off-peak' hours i.e. 7pm to 7am on weekdays, from 3pm on saturday till 7am on monday if you are not planning to drive to work, an OPC will be the best beteven if you want to use the car during 'peak' hours, just pay $20 for the day coupon can use liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LadyLuck 0 Report post Posted February 16, 2008 (edited) get a red car lor. then the red plate will blend in nicely. seriously. heheOPC, u get about $17K off the price of the care rightaway.Road tax also cheaper, insurance also cheaper.serious 17k? wow tat like alot... i saw alot of pple driving red plate with red car some even paint its rim red. LOL .. frankly speaking its doesnt help at all... i duno why im soooo wat to red plate .. i guess if thinking of practical for my needs infact opc is more rationale.only restriction is you can use the car during 'off-peak' hours i.e. 7pm to 7am on weekdays, from 3pm on saturday till 7am on monday if you are not planning to drive to work, an OPC will be the best beteven if you want to use the car during 'peak' hours, just pay $20 for the day coupon can use liao usually i reach home ard 730pm too....although i start work at 930am..how the day coupon works can i purchase from petrol station? Edited February 16, 2008 by LadyLuck Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted February 17, 2008 yeah, the 17K is alot if u are consider those sub 50K-60K cars...then u end up paying only 33K to 43K. That's savings of 28% to 34%, very high percentage.The savings get less substantial as u move up the price range. But basically if workdays is purely MRT/bus, it's worth considering a cheap OPC car for the weekend shopping/getarounds. Some can probably pay their OPC in full CASH with their bonuses...lol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 17, 2008 serious 17k? wow tat like alot... i saw alot of pple driving red plate with red car some even paint its rim red. LOL .. frankly speaking its doesnt help at all... i duno why im soooo wat to red plate .. i guess if thinking of practical for my needs infact opc is more rationale.usually i reach home ard 730pm too....although i start work at 930am..how the day coupon works can i purchase from petrol station?the day coupon must be displayed if you were to drive the vehicle during the 'prohibited' hoursfor $17k, you can buy enough day coupons to last you at least 3 1/2 yrs if you use EVERYDAYnot to mention the cheaper road tax ($800 rebate subject to min $50) and insurance read up more on the OPC here Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leen 2 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 (edited) hi, 1 of my cars is an opc. and here's the rationale of it... the OPC.... 1) there will be a instant deduction of road tax of $17k. this deduction will lower the cost of the car significantly if you buy a small car. ie. you will see a much more significantly lower cost of car to pay per month. eg. buy car price around $40k+, the deduction of $17k = $23k+but if you buy a car at $30k+, after deduction of $17k = $13k+ (that's cheap)remember, the bigger the car, the higher the price, the less savings you will see or the savings will have lesser impact on you... ie. not much feeling on savings...and normal $30k cars include malaysian made cars,d china made cars and korea made cars. for pica, its about $35k+ onwards.malaysian car: eg. perodua, about $28k-$34kchina car: eg. geely, about $30k-$36kkorea made car: eg. pica, about $35k-$39kchevolet aveo (don't know made from where coz its korea daewoo clone): is about $32k-$36kall depending on what you add, eg. sports model, luxury model etc. and also COE and car price at the time of purchase.2) normal car inspection is 3 years 1 time. but for opc, its 1 year 1 time inspection as they want to check the red plate if its being tempered with. and it cost about $50+ per inspection. remember not to do any modification to the car that require removing the area where the plate is or removing and fixing back of the plate. they will know. they scan the whole plate.3) if you are only making minimum travels, its ok to get a opc small car. parking for small car is no sweat but parking fees must pay. it also provide a mean of convenient to user.4) OPC car can be freely driven on Sundays, public holidays and during the following non-restricted hours: - - Mondays to Fridays: from 7.00pm to 7.00am - Saturdays & Eve of the 5 Public Holidays*: 3.00pm onwards*New Year, Lunar New Year, Hari Raya Puasa, Deepavali and Christmas. - Sunday: whole day free (don't need coupon)5) the $20 couponthe coupon is a piece of coupon smaller than A4 size paper with perforated areas to tear for year, month, date. vy similar to parking coupon except its bigger.the year, month and date are in different color is made easiler for TP to recognise it from far, therefore cannot play cheat.the whole perforated area must be tear clean. if TP caught 1st time for not displaying coupon, its a warning. for 2nd time, it will be a $12k fine. and all these subject to if TP is nice guy in gd mood that day or not. not worth to risk it coz if not go jail, even lagi jia lat.if you are travelling during restricted hours, 1 coupon must be torn. and this $20 coupon is for whole day use and for that day only.it will be more worth it if you are comparing taking frequent taxi rides which will be more costly.read the benefits:http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/mot...mes_offpeak.htmIf you need to use your OPC during the restricted hours, you will need to display a $20 day licence.You can purchase the day licence from the following places: - Any Singapore Post Office- Automobile Association of Singapore336 River Valley Road Tel : 6333 8811 - Land Transport Authority Vehicle & Transit Licensing Division 10 Sin Ming Drive Tel : 1800 - CALL LTA or 1800 - 2255 582if you accidentally tore the coupon wrongly, you can exchange it at LTA office. but they only allow 2 coupon exchange per year per car/user.6) road taxyearly road tax $50 (i think its subject to the type of car you buy, eg. bigger car, higher road tax) for small car.7) car insurancecheaper for small opc car. it cost about $800 for 1st time insurance (without any rebate) and $600 for 2nd year (with rebate as no claim bonus). and also subject to the insurance company that can give you a gd deal.ntuc insurance cost $600 for all in and with free car replacement during should car is in workshop due to accident and cannot be use... ...touch wood... as i have other cars that are of normal plate at hm, and base on the above all and the comparison between my other cars, i see owning a OPC is affordable and convenient. at least you will not fee a major 'OW' when the road tax, inspection, car insurance all come at the same time. and like what Applefreak says is correct, $17k discount is enough for you to buy loads of coupons to drive for quite some time. hope the above helps... Rich ppl normally dun read they jus come in look at a few second and walk over to the counter to paid $$$. Hi Leen, thanks for the infor. ya lor.. rich ppl buy car is agent made special appt with them and let them test exclusively at special place if too rich, buy car don't need to test, juz choose from latest special catalogue made for them... i stay in town & work in town, bus to workplace is 10mins, tot of getting weekend car but... the red plate GOSH! so ugly...but i hav no idea what is the diff between OPC & Normal car? Installment free policy red plate also look nice, get a yellow car and with a red plate, and you change your rims to sport rims and voila... a lookalike sports car.. black car with red plate also outstanding... abit beng but i like... white car with red plate is vy outstanding and look like VIP special mah tah car you can have the car spray in pink and with the red plate, its soooo.... sweet lady feel... men always like to turn and look (trust me, coz i look also... ) Edited February 18, 2008 by leen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 (edited) chevolet aveo (don't know made from where coz its korea daewoo clone): is about $32k-$36kall chevys kimcheeland, heard was made in daewoo factory(defunct) cos chevy bought over - unless lefthanddrive. Edited February 18, 2008 by MaCe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LadyLuck 0 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 hi, 1 of my cars is an opc. and here's the rationale of it... the OPC.... 1) there will be a instant deduction of road tax of $17k. this deduction will lower the cost of the car significantly if you buy a small car. ie. you will see a much more significantly lower cost of car to pay per month. eg. buy car price around $40k+, the deduction of $17k = $23k+but if you buy a car at $30k+, after deduction of $17k = $13k+ (that's cheap)remember, the bigger the car, the higher the price, the less savings you will see or the savings will have lesser impact on you... ie. not much feeling on savings...and normal $30k cars include malaysian made cars,d china made cars and korea made cars. for pica, its about $35k+ onwards.malaysian car: eg. perodua, about $28k-$34kchina car: eg. geely, about $30k-$36kkorea made car: eg. pica, about $35k-$39kchevolet aveo (don't know made from where coz its korea daewoo clone): is about $32k-$36kall depending on what you add, eg. sports model, luxury model etc. and also COE and car price at the time of purchase.2) normal car inspection is 3 years 1 time. but for opc, its 1 year 1 time inspection as they want to check the red plate if its being tempered with. and it cost about $50+ per inspection. remember not to do any modification to the car that require removing the area where the plate is or removing and fixing back of the plate. they will know. they scan the whole plate.3) if you are only making minimum travels, its ok to get a opc small car. parking for small car is no sweat but parking fees must pay. it also provide a mean of convenient to user.4) OPC car can be freely driven on Sundays, public holidays and during the following non-restricted hours: - - Mondays to Fridays: from 7.00pm to 7.00am - Saturdays & Eve of the 5 Public Holidays*: 3.00pm onwards*New Year, Lunar New Year, Hari Raya Puasa, Deepavali and Christmas. - Sunday: whole day free (don't need coupon)5) the $20 couponthe coupon is a piece of coupon smaller than A4 size paper with perforated areas to tear for year, month, date. vy similar to parking coupon except its bigger.the year, month and date are in different color is made easiler for TP to recognise it from far, therefore cannot play cheat.the whole perforated area must be tear clean. if TP caught 1st time for not displaying coupon, its a warning. for 2nd time, it will be a $12k fine. and all these subject to if TP is nice guy in gd mood that day or not. not worth to risk it coz if not go jail, even lagi jia lat.if you are travelling during restricted hours, 1 coupon must be torn. and this $20 coupon is for whole day use and for that day only.it will be more worth it if you are comparing taking frequent taxi rides which will be more costly.read the benefits:http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/mot...mes_offpeak.htmIf you need to use your OPC during the restricted hours, you will need to display a $20 day licence.You can purchase the day licence from the following places: - Any Singapore Post Office- Automobile Association of Singapore336 River Valley Road Tel : 6333 8811 - Land Transport Authority Vehicle & Transit Licensing Division 10 Sin Ming Drive Tel : 1800 - CALL LTA or 1800 - 2255 582if you accidentally tore the coupon wrongly, you can exchange it at LTA office. but they only allow 2 coupon exchange per year per car/user.6) road taxyearly road tax $50 (i think its subject to the type of car you buy, eg. bigger car, higher road tax) for small car.7) car insurancecheaper for small opc car. it cost about $800 for 1st time insurance (without any rebate) and $600 for 2nd year (with rebate as no claim bonus). and also subject to the insurance company that can give you a gd deal.ntuc insurance cost $600 for all in and with free car replacement during should car is in workshop due to accident and cannot be use... ...touch wood... as i have other cars that are of normal plate at hm, and base on the above all and the comparison between my other cars, i see owning a OPC is affordable and convenient. at least you will not fee a major 'OW' when the road tax, inspection, car insurance all come at the same time. and like what Applefreak says is correct, $17k discount is enough for you to buy loads of coupons to drive for quite some time. hope the above helps... ya lor.. rich ppl buy car is agent made special appt with them and let them test exclusively at special place if too rich, buy car don't need to test, juz choose from latest special catalogue made for them... red plate also look nice, get a yellow car and with a red plate, and you change your rims to sport rims and voila... a lookalike sports car.. black car with red plate also outstanding... abit beng but i like... white car with red plate is vy outstanding and look like VIP special mah tah car you can have the car spray in pink and with the red plate, its soooo.... sweet lady feel... men always like to turn and look (trust me, coz i look also... :sport-smiley-004: )hi leen, you are so precise ,thanks...i duno i feel watever color u try to match with red plate, its still red plate but the saving $$$ is amazing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leen 2 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 all chevys kimcheeland, heard was made in daewoo factory(defunct) cos chevy bought over - unless lefthanddrive.thanks Bro MaCe for pointing out. I only know whatever type of model under daewoo brand have mfg, chevolet also have. eg. aveo, daewoo also have 1 exactly similar model. nowadays too many car mfgrs buy here merge there, until the cars all like rojak juz that different brand.hi leen, you are so precise ,thanks...i duno i feel watever color u try to match with red plate, its still red plate but the saving $$$ is amazing.that's why don't mind the red plate, juz take the savings $$$even if they come out ultra ugly plate but give even more savings in $$$, i think there are many ppl out there also don't mind.in SG its quite different. owning a car is a heavy burden on the wallet. unlike at other countries where tax is low. Actually car selling price is low. the expensive part is the tax and shipping charges that is being imposed + other considerations like environment control. the prices i have stated here for the cars may vary as these prices are of last year price. its been sometime since i last went to view cars as im quite busy. i have a passion for cars and hoping that i be able to catch the F1 when it starts later at Aug/Sept 08 this year. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 (edited) thanks Bro MaCe for pointing out. I only know whatever type of model under daewoo brand have mfg, chevolet also have. eg. aveo, daewoo also have 1 exactly similar model. nowadays too many car mfgrs buy here merge there, until the cars all like rojak juz that different brand.that's why don't mind the red plate, juz take the savings $$$when my kaki's tao chew knew where this brand made in, he say " NO WONDER! it looks so cheapo inside ang moh chia inside(engine) where got like dat one! "a pity some still stick their nose high up in the air thinking they bought a ang moh car inline with peugeot/renault/ford..etc and looks down on jap/kor cars. Refusing to accept the fact that it's just a bottom grade korean car with a american sticker on it.imho if wanna get a korean car, the hyundai brand should be the only choice. if wanna get a china car, should go youtube and search crash test vids on china cars and ask yourself whether is it worth to spend $30k to commit suicide whereas you could just choose any 12 storey hdb flat to jump for FOC. Edited February 19, 2008 by MaCe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 when my kaki's tao chew knew where this brand made in, he say " NO WONDER!!! it looks so cheapo inside :lol: ang moh chia inside(engine) where got like dat one! "a pity some still stick their nose high up in the air thinking they bought a ang moh car inline with peugeot/renault/ford..etc and looks down on jap/kor cars. Refusing to accept the fact that it's just a bottom grade korean car with a american sticker on it.imho if wanna get a korean car, the hyundai brand should be the only choice. if wanna get a china car, should go youtube and search crash test vids on china cars and ask yourself whether is it worth to spend $30k to commit suicide whereas you could just choose any 12 storey hdb flat to jump for FOC.Ha....ha... ur description on the China cars are so funny although I nvr drive them b4 but personally I think Japan car are still the safer. BUT sometime driver himself is still the main course lah. i duno i feel watever color u try to match with red plate, its still red plate but the saving $$$ is amazing.Don worry abt wat other ppls see ur red plate, most impt I think they knw u are S$17k richer. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 (edited) Ha....ha... ur description on the China cars are so funny although I nvr drive them b4 but personally I think Japan car are still the safer. BUT sometime driver himself is still the main course lah. !!bro, you dont bang others but can you gurantee other drivers wont bang into you? or bang you from behind and then your car fly forward and bang trees? enjoy!http://www.youtube.com/results?search_quer...mp;search_type=from the crashtest results, even if one managed to survive - he/she is either paralyzed, on a wheelchair forever or a living vegetable. Edited February 19, 2008 by MaCe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LadyLuck 0 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 Don worry abt wat other ppls see ur red plate, most impt I think they knw u are S$17k richer. !! !! thanks Bro MaCe for pointing out. I only know whatever type of model under daewoo brand have mfg, chevolet also have. eg. aveo, daewoo also have 1 exactly similar model. nowadays too many car mfgrs buy here merge there, until the cars all like rojak juz that different brand.that's why don't mind the red plate, juz take the savings $$$even if they come out ultra ugly plate but give even more savings in $$$, i think there are many ppl out there also don't mind.in SG its quite different. owning a car is a heavy burden on the wallet. unlike at other countries where tax is low. Actually car selling price is low. the expensive part is the tax and shipping charges that is being imposed + other considerations like environment control. the prices i have stated here for the cars may vary as these prices are of last year price. its been sometime since i last went to view cars as im quite busy. i have a passion for cars and hoping that i be able to catch the F1 when it starts later at Aug/Sept 08 this year. !! F1 ooh any idea which route will be affected?bro, you dont bang others but can you gurantee other drivers wont bang into you? or bang you from behind and then your car fly forward and bang trees? enjoy!!!http://www.youtube.com/results?search_quer...mp;search_type=from the crashtest results, even if one managed to survive - he/she is either paralyzed, on a wheelchair forever or a living vegetable.aiyo me dare not to see , afraid i dare not to drive as i have not start to drive yetso wat your opinion if getting a good and cheap car which brand shld go for , i dun wan to get geely , hyundai la... so scary... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 F1 ooh any idea which route will be affected?aiyo me dare not to see , afraid i dare not to drive as i have not start to drive yetso wat your opinion if getting a good and cheap car which brand shld go for , i dun wan to get geely , hyundai la... so scary...since a OPC suits you, go for jap brands like honda fit, suzuki swift sx, toyotas - those in the 50k range.minus the $17k, you are only payng $30k+.trust me, there is no meaning with $10-20k of savings(from car buying) in your bank acct when a person is a living vegetable or with 2legs gone/ribcage pichak. Neither will there be any savings at all when these $30k+ scrapmetals starts to broke down by the age of 2-3 yrs old, your savings will all end up in repairs.go watch the youtube one more time and you will see their crash test dummies all DIED a horrible death.poor dummies... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 honda jazz i pump abt avg $40+ weekly(before the card discount), mon-fri drive frm tiong bahru to yio chu kang road on CTE, night time roam abt hunting for yummy food, weekends go frens place at hougang/buangkok/sengkang then back to tiong bahru, but recently it doubles up as a part-time mini-van.. moving stuffs bit by bit frm old hse to new hse.. at most pumping $52 weekly (my highest record liao).. milage a week usually ard 400-430km.. love this new baby a lot! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites