leen 2 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 (edited) ya, honda jazz / fit is the super mini champion but cost is $55k+/- and once it get to this price range, the $17k savings will sort of diminish as when you calculate, avg monthly cost that you need to fork out is abt the same as normal plate car.i got 1 honda jazz at hm and i love this car. but the new honda jazz is abt to come out. totally different look from the old range. the parallel importer (PI) has already bring the changed Fit in SG mkt already. so if want to have a look at the new facelift, go PI and see. with all the sport things all fixed up, whew... it looks like a mini power racing car but honda jazz/fit is vy petrol saving car, that's why its a supermini champion. but for safety, most impt factor is the driver (besides the car). you have seen how many evos/wrx/beemers/etc that got into serious accidents that are reported on the news. if the driver is a kuku nut driver, no matter how safe or good the car he/she owns, its a danger to every road users.the crash tests that were done and film and put on youtube is usually not tested on fair grounds. A $30k car cost in the original country of mfgr may only be $10k, and what do you expect a $10k car can do? basic transport from point a to point b, just like a bicycle, except its engine is more powerful and can attain a certain speed.but of coz that's why the more ex a car, the more luxury items is installed. some even have front airbags and side airbags that come out from the chair and the door. but there's been a study that airbags can kill too, so is seat belts. that's why the driver really has to be a responsible driver to others and not only to themselves. there are ways to manuever cars that got abs or no abs and how to control skiding car and handle the car properly rather than let the car handle the driver. those who buy beemers will have such course, there are also other institutions offering such course. practically, they also teach you how to crash at minimal damage or avoid crash. also teaches you to do stunts and a mini race to let you feel the F1 feel. very shiok but very scrary course. Edited February 20, 2008 by leen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 ya, honda jazz / fit is the super mini champion but cost is $55k+/- and once it get to this price range, the $17k savings will sort of diminish as when you calculate, avg monthly cost that you need to fork out is abt the same as normal plate car.i got 1 honda jazz at hm and i love this car. but the new honda jazz is abt to come out. totally different look from the old range. the parallel importer (PI) has already bring the changed Fit in SG mkt already. so if want to have a look at the new facelift, go PI and see. with all the sport things all fixed up, whew... it looks like a mini power racing car fit2008 my dream car actually.16-18km/L!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leen 2 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 oh ya, forgot to mention, in Japan, fit actually have turbo version. and i mean real turbo, not those after mkt installation. but original turbo from honda the fit is for Jap mkt specs which is better than jazz but jazz meets the local requirements. because in Jap mkt, they need powerful machine to travel far but their parking is much more expensive than oweing a car Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LadyLuck 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 ya, honda jazz / fit is the super mini champion but cost is $55k+/- and once it get to this price range, the $17k savings will sort of diminish as when you calculate, avg monthly cost that you need to fork out is abt the same as normal plate car.i got 1 honda jazz at hm and i love this car. but the new honda jazz is abt to come out. totally different look from the old range. the parallel importer (PI) has already bring the changed Fit in SG mkt already. so if want to have a look at the new facelift, go PI and see. with all the sport things all fixed up, whew... it looks like a mini power racing car but honda jazz/fit is vy petrol saving car, that's why its a supermini champion. but for safety, most impt factor is the driver (besides the car). you have seen how many evos/wrx/beemers/etc that got into serious accidents that are reported on the news. if the driver is a kuku nut driver, no matter how safe or good the car he/she owns, its a danger to every road users.the crash tests that were done and film and put on youtube is usually not tested on fair grounds. A $30k car cost in the original country of mfgr may only be $10k, and what do you expect a $10k car can do? basic transport from point a to point b, just like a bicycle, except its engine is more powerful and can attain a certain speed.but of coz that's why the more ex a car, the more luxury items is installed. some even have front airbags and side airbags that come out from the chair and the door. but there's been a study that airbags can kill too, so is seat belts. that's why the driver really has to be a responsible driver to others and not only to themselves. there are ways to manuever cars that got abs or no abs and how to control skiding car and handle the car properly rather than let the car handle the driver. those who buy beemers will have such course, there are also other institutions offering such course. practically, they also teach you how to crash at minimal damage or avoid crash. also teaches you to do stunts and a mini race to let you feel the F1 feel. very shiok but very scrary course.huh monthly come out to be the same if get opc with better small car? argh...seems pointless, mus well get normal car lioa hor....today i saw a subaru racer typ duno name , its road tax only S$99/year OPC Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 oh ya, forgot to mention, in Japan, fit actually have turbo version. and i mean real turbo, not those after mkt installation. but original turbo from honda the fit is for Jap mkt specs which is better than jazz but jazz meets the local requirements. because in Jap mkt, they need powerful machine to travel far but their parking is much more expensive than oweing a car MUGEN HONDA FIT F154SC, not turbo, but supercharged F154SC has a supercharger slapped onto the L15A that boosts the power of the 1.5-liter four to 150 hp and 136 lb.-ft. of torque.http://blogs.edmunds.com/Straightline/4155http://www.autoblog.com/2008/01/17/2008-to...ncept-by-mugen/ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 just a side note, do try to avoid cars which the centre backseat seat belt is not those shoulder-to-hip typethose that secures across the waist actually is more dangerous then without coz tests have shown that when in a crash, the person wearing those waist-secured seat belts will end up paralysed, even if it's a minor crashit's just like a whip-lash, but instead of the neck it's the waist Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 MUGEN HONDA FIT F154SC, not turbo, but supercharged F154SC has a supercharger slapped onto the L15A that boosts the power of the 1.5-liter four to 150 hp and 136 lb.-ft. of torque.http://blogs.edmunds.com/Straightline/4155http://www.autoblog.com/2008/01/17/2008-to...ncept-by-mugen/poisoning Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 huh monthly come out to be the same if get opc with better small car? argh...seems pointless, mus well get normal car lioa hor....yupz - imho this is the usual "wrong" calculation most first time car buyers did. they thought they saved a lot but end up paying a lot more for repairs + inconvenience. although i have heard of korean car owners who dont have any problems with their cars but that is very RARE, the lucky few! Years back I bought a van instead although for the same amount i could get a kor car, if you have frens who owns car repair workshops i believe you would do the same like me too. Without kor cars, at least 30% of the workshops in sg already closed shop!China car buyers are actually gambling with their life for the X dollars saved. even my china relatives dont DARE to buy china made cars cos they have seen with their own eyes how those cars crumple like paper.unless you ONLY intend to use it within the 3 yrs warranty period and then sell it off(at a lost), sure then it's ok. most cars now have a 5yrs "break even" - or the year that you lose the least. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 (edited) What abt Honda Civic, Toyota Vios or Suzuki Swift Sport are they good??? Edited February 21, 2008 by Cantona7 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 What abt Honda Civic, Toyota Vios or Suzuki Swift Sport are they good??? good for?think these cars cater to different markets lehmost important is knowing what you want from the carperformance? comfort? space? fuel efficiency? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 (edited) er.. ya loh agree with apple.. to me (some1 don really know much in cars).. i only know civic.. more expensive but better performance than the other 2 mentioned.. but being more power n responsive.. also translate to more fuel cost..vios.. good on ur petrol pay card... very fuel efficient.. but is not as responsive as civic..swift.. look cute! haha! Edited February 21, 2008 by xlan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 thought swift sport more powerful???drove a civic 1.6 before, not very responsive lahsomemore engine very loud when step accelerator hard hard go for the jazz 2008 lah1. fuel efficient2. nice looking3. spacious4. reasonably pricedso beri tempting to get it as an OPC Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 (edited) mm.. i sit on the swift sport b4.. no power leh.. (oops i was not driver la.. was sitting on 1 of the "brothers" car at my fren's wedding AD).. like he stepped so hard the engine v loud.. but car didn't advance forward much leh.. haha.. oops.. hope he doesn't read this.. hahahahaha..actually was wondering.. the new jazz/fit got the sunroof all the way to the back seats.. will it be v hot under sg weather? thou hv vkool installed.. i still feel the heat with the normal 6 glasses leh.. if 1 more big panel at the roof.. Edited February 21, 2008 by xlan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 What abt Honda Civic, Toyota Vios or Suzuki Swift Sport are they good??? your type can only drive bmws and merz... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 mm.. i sit on the swift sport b4.. no power leh.. (oops i was not driver la.. was sitting on 1 of the "brothers" car at my fren's wedding AD).. like he stepped so hard the engine v loud.. but car didn't advance forward much leh.. haha.. oops.. hope he doesn't read this.. hahahahaha..actually was wondering.. the new jazz/fit got the sunroof all the way to the back seats.. will it be v hot under sg weather? thou hv vkool installed.. i still feel the heat with the normal 6 glasses leh.. if 1 more big panel at the roof.. his is manual version? is it forgot to change gear vkool so bad meh? we using huper and our sunroof also all the way to the backdon't really feel the heat leh for civic find that the auto doesn't drop gear as fast as other carsso got to lift foot off pedal, wait one or two sec before flooring then gear will dropleceh leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites