oonik grl

How Often Do You Change Your Mind On A Particular Design ?

Hi all, would like to ask your opinion on how often u change ur mind on a design ? maybe u change theme halfway or chage of colours ?

i've changed my mind quite a few times and it's driving FH nuts ! my electrical works are to begin tomorrow but i'm having concerns on the false celing and l-box at my ceiling. it's decided that there will be false ceiling at foyer area and L-box **** room area. But I prefer having all L-box all around so as to give a more spacious look. Plus, me having ceiling fan also.

me worried that if i tell FH now he's going to :dancingqueen::bangwall::yamseng: me cos he just wans to get the reno started and dowan anymore changes liao. But if i don't i tink i will regret it lor :notti: . please :bath: !

what are ur main worries about it?

L-box indeed will make u feel more spacious but it depends on the wiring too.

im not sure wherethe ur current wiring is conceal or not.

I change my ideas VERY OFTEN too!

But so long your ID hasn't indent all the necessary items (paints, laminates) or made the arrangements with the carpenter (measurements, design, compartment, etc). You should still be able to change.

If you are afraid that your FH might make noise, then you better propose something much much better than what you originally had in mind.

hi devilaz. my concern is that if having false ceiling at foyer and l-box **** room will make the room look smaller. plus, since i'm having a ceiling fan as well, the ceiling might look messy.

thanks lawry ! glad to know i'm nt the only one who keep changing ideas ! hee ! the electrician take note of all the lighting points liao but haven start anything yet ..

anyone else fickle minded as well ? hehe !

for living area with a ceiling fan cum L-box at the side will indeed make the whole living area looks crampy. And the lighting effect wont be that nice too. While u on the ceiling fan plus the light box is being light up, ur lightings is being wack by the fan. meaning got shadows of ur fans round and round.

but still it will be good to look at the drawings before i can make comments on it. could u kinldy show us the drawings of ur living and foyer area? if u dont wish to expose then u can pm me the link too.

8|:)

I changed my kitchen design 6 or 7 times... actually not major changes... I think so long as the measurement is not done... I mean they haven't cut the wood ... it is ok to change.. anyway... for me is just ask the designer to cut and paste and reprint... I think it is not that difficult...

My girl's room changed 3-4 times...

It is better to change now rather than later regret...

Edited by HSH21

I changed my kitchen design 6 or 7 times... actually not major changes... I think so long as the measurement is not done... I mean they haven't cut the wood ... it is ok to change.. anyway... for me is just ask the designer to cut and paste and reprint... I think it is not that difficult...

My girl's room changed 3-4 times...

It is better to change now rather than later regret...

I changed my mind several times too! Change until i'm a bit pai seh to call my ID. I just pushed to my FH to call and tell him abt the change....my FH can't stand me too....too fickle minded..... :sport-smiley-003:

But I agree that as long as your ID hasn't placed any order, it's fine to change...but have to make your mind fast...

humm..actually if u are the frickle minded type..i am sure u will have the tendency to change even after everything is finalised right?

however do think ahead - changing to much and too many times might cause friction with your id or even hb. which i think might also hider the reno process...

Actually, you are right. Even till now, I still have second thoughts abt the carpet flooring in our MBR. That must been changed about 3 times already and till now, I'm still deciding.

Actually things i'm not sure about, i told my ID to put on hold first....until the time comes when we must make a decision, we must not look back. I agree it will hinder the process but at the end of the day, you must make sure whatever you have chosen, you must be comfortable with your choice. :bangwall:

i also another frickle minded person. i can change a particular design several times. hubby can't stand me and he'll make noise too. :sport-smiley-004: even when buying things i'm also frickle minded. :dunno: why huh? is it fussy? ;)

hehe ! glad to see i'm nt the only one. for me, i keep telling FH (and myself) that it's our home and I just want to see it nice. No point later on I complain about it. By then I think my FH more :dunno: and will keep asking why I never voice out previously..

Devilaz, I've attached my pic as below. The brown dot represents my ceiling fan. hope u can understand it !

461667609_cec15aea67_o.jpg

i also another frickle minded person. i can change a particular design several times. hubby can't stand me and he'll make noise too. :P even when buying things i'm also frickle minded. :good: why huh? is it fussy? :)

I think guys are more chin chai whereas gals just want the best for their homes....who wouldn't?? :sport-smiley-004:

ya, men are more chin chai whereas women are more fussy. i agree that i'm a fussy person. :unsure: that's my bad habit which can't change liao. :(

even when buying things and i'm also very fussy. :o

*hahahha* no prob. I think i misinterpret the meaning of frickle minded here.

What i meant was that its prefectly fine to keep on changing your mind before a decision is made and finalised.

If its not a situation whereby it will compromise the carpentary works or anything its alright to change.

Our theme changed from resort to minimalist to furturistic to den again modern classic / modern comtempary.

However once the decision is made we just moved on. ;)

although hubby can give in to me almost everything. from reno to buying things. :) but if my fussy is to the very extreme liao and he'll :D

hehe ! glad to see i'm nt the only one. for me, i keep telling FH (and myself) that it's our home and I just want to see it nice. No point later on I complain about it. By then I think my FH more :furious: and will keep asking why I never voice out previously..

Devilaz, I've attached my pic as below. The brown dot represents my ceiling fan. hope u can understand it !

461667609_cec15aea67_o.jpg

This design would look better.... rather than have long L-box along foyer and Living (kinda look weird)..... and at the same time the L-box will demarcate the living room. It would be nice if you can add curtain pelmet along balcony window/door

the same as what i had done for my house... but final decision would be on yours :)

thanks cha_alex.. i have decided to go with FH's original plan. looks weird on floor plan to me but after seeing our place again, it's nt so bad afterall

yah.. ID says that she will do a curtain pelmet for us at the balcony door... hmmm... hope it's free.. hehe !

I think guys are more chin chai whereas gals just want the best for their homes....who wouldn't?? :dancingqueen:

errr.. dont think my fiance is more chin chai than me... more picky i think .hehehe..

our current ID has changed our layout (space planning) by no less than five times in the last two months, and now that we have just gotten our keys, we want to change the layout again, as we have change of plans...

but if there are some parts that we have doubts, we would ask if this can be done in the future if we need it. if the answer is yes, we have opted to leave some out until the time when we decide. e.g. one room will be left unfurnished, until we decide if it will be parents room or some other activity room. parents havent cfm to stay with us or not. probably just do up the walls, flooring and ordinary lights first.

if we cant leave it to the future, then we try to choose the more all-rounded decision, which wouldnt be too much of an eyesore to either of us, in the long term. cant avoid some arguments sometimes, but just need to remember why you are arguing.. to make your home as warm and lovely for each other as possible :)