twinkle123

Joint Owner Relationship - Spouse Or Unrelated

Hi All, we just bought a condo unit. Hence it is not essential to produce marriage cert upon collection of the keys but would like to ask if the joint owner relationship stated in official documents have any implications in future?

In the OTP, my fiance signed in his name only.

In the application of the bank loan, his is the owner, while I am the joint owner. Relationship stated is Fiance.

In the Sales and Purchase agreement to be exercised in 3 days time, what should I write for relationship?

In the cpf application to fund the monthly installments, should we process under spouse or 2 unrelated owners since we have not ROM yet?

We are intending to get married only early next year. I am just wondering what would the impact be based on the status of the relationship when we purchase the flat. Is it better to state as spouse and produce the document on a later date for S&P or cpf? Would this delay the buying process?

Pls advise soon coz we have to exercise the OTP in 3 days time. Thanks!

no experience on private property but as with filling most forms, the information should be 'as at' i.e. if you have already ROM, then spouse, if not, then just fiance will be good enough. as for the updating part, it's up to you to inform the bank and SLA. since marital status has no impact on CPF withdrawal, dun think it's necessary to delay the buying process for this...

Ic.. thanks for your reply! Yup, I'm seeing so many forms now. Kinda confused. The lawyer actually did advise putting 'spouse' as I think being "unrelated" would actually lengthen the approval process. But the prob is we aren't rom yet. CPF board does allow us to put 'Spouse' at this time and submit our documents on a later date though.. Eg marriage cert. But I am just worried if this would cause any complication in future.

In all the agreements you mentioned, I would think that the relationship is not important. Unlike HDB, which has rules governing family units, there are no such rules for private properties. The important thing to note is more on the ownership rather than the relationship. For example, in the S&P agreement, you can either have (a) your fiancee is the sole owner; (b) you are the joint-owner; © you are the tenant-in-common. They don't need your marriage cert.

just to also add, if u're not indicated as an owner (whether tenancy in common or Joint tennancy), u will not be able to use ur CPF for the house at all, whether is it for the lumpsum or monthly installment servicing.

I.e you have to be part of an owner then can use ur CPF for the house.

just to protect urself, its always better to have a share in the house as a co-owner then just be a co-borrower in the housin loan application (i.e only liablity but no asset owned)

does joint singles need to be relatives to fulfil the family nucleus?

cos the muslim with 10 wives can get 3x HDB under Joint Singles..which is weird..

rules governing private and hdb properties are very different

buying a hdb flat, you need to form proper family nucleus, or be orphaned or aged above 35yrs blah blah blah

b

uying private property, all you need is money. as for the joint singles thingy is for withdrawal of cpf. if you using all case, you can have as many as you can afford to with anyone you like - foreigners and locals alike

rules governing private and hdb properties are very different

buying a hdb flat, you need to form proper family nucleus, or be orphaned or aged above 35yrs blah blah blah

buying private property, all you need is money. as for the joint singles thingy is for withdrawal of cpf. if you using all case, you can have as many as you can afford to with anyone you like - foreigners and locals alike

then why can the muslim buy 3 jumbo flat ? dun tell me all the 10 wives are relatives? siblings ?