mint

Hdb (not) Rectifying Defects For New Flats?

Well, that seems quite ridiculous.. They never informed us that we had to raise the defects once inspected. In fact, cos we kiasu so we call the HDB officer to complain after that and she told us to email the list to her... No trying to twist and turn to get out of rectifying it for us... So I think you can try..

We raised a point that although its an old flat, we purchased it direct from HDB, therefore its their responsibility to ensure that the condition is good. So don't let them off so easily..

OMG! so it's not that the officers forgot to tell us only O_O

I just called up the branch office, they say must have finish inspection and told them le. Said can try speak to the officer that show us the place, but he is not around now ><

Anyway, my hb was like anyway u wanna rehaul the place, dun get so worked up lar ><

Abit sad still, like got kept in the 'dark' about the procedures T_T

So glad they get it done for you! Did they like do a good job? Took a loooooonnnggg time???

I actually hope to get mine done asap so I can move in. staying w PIL now. Don't feel like delaying getting the keys! =P

OMG! so it's not that the officers forgot to tell us only O_O

I just called up the branch office, they say must have finish inspection and told them le. Said can try speak to the officer that show us the place, but he is not around now ><

Anyway, my hb was like anyway u wanna rehaul the place, dun get so worked up lar ><

Abit sad still, like got kept in the 'dark' about the procedures T_T

So glad they get it done for you! Did they like do a good job? Took a loooooonnnggg time???

I actually hope to get mine done asap so I can move in. staying w PIL now. Don't feel like delaying getting the keys! =P

Haha, yar, they took a looong time.. more than 1 month and I had to keep chasing. I will be going to inspect again during lunch again today! Hope it will be fine, but judging from all the bad experiences with HDB, I dun have my hopes up high.. Expect they will just paint over the rust of the pipes etc.. I will update on the condition again later when I get back

Dun just try, must really fight for it.. Futhermore, we pay so much and yet they expect us to accept all this defects.. :dancingqueen: .. I could not stand their attitude cos my branch officer keep trying to push all blame by saying its an old flat so sure like this or that.. Well, its still their responsibility...

Haha, yar, they took a looong time.. more than 1 month and I had to keep chasing. I will be going to inspect again during lunch again today! Hope it will be fine, but judging from all the bad experiences with HDB, I dun have my hopes up high.. Expect they will just paint over the rust of the pipes etc.. I will update on the condition again later when I get back

Dun just try, must really fight for it.. Futhermore, we pay so much and yet they expect us to accept all this defects.. :dancingqueen: .. I could not stand their attitude cos my branch officer keep trying to push all blame by saying its an old flat so sure like this or that.. Well, its still their responsibility...

Good Luck!!

Wah! > 1 mth! D=

Are they going to change the whole windows and gates for you?

Seems like buying a house also lotsa frustration to go thru hehehe, sometimes wonder y the guys can still keep so cool =3

Good Luck!!

Wah! > 1 mth! D=

Are they going to change the whole windows and gates for you?

Seems like buying a house also lotsa frustration to go thru hehehe, sometimes wonder y the guys can still keep so cool =3

not changing the windows.. just rectifying it so it can at least be closed and latched.. !! Although I wish they would change new one for me.. HEHE .. Cos it doesn't suit the concept I want

Doesn't suit the concept? Then are u still going to change it later? O_O

Nope, just going to use curtains or blinds to cover up...

Anyway, I just got back from the inspection.. Everything is done nicely.. All windows are now able to close and latch properly and quite smooth also.. the gate was change, the rusted pipes painted and 1 of the bedroom doors change w/o our knowledge.. The Branch officer said there was a chip so they changed it for us.. Quite happy .. now just hoping can collect keys soon...

Not sure if still want to ask again if they can re-plaster the walls cos quite even with dents and the bricks outline..

Nope, just going to use curtains or blinds to cover up...

Anyway, I just got back from the inspection.. Everything is done nicely.. All windows are now able to close and latch properly and quite smooth also.. the gate was change, the rusted pipes painted and 1 of the bedroom doors change w/o our knowledge.. The Branch officer said there was a chip so they changed it for us.. Quite happy .. now just hoping can collect keys soon...

Not sure if still want to ask again if they can re-plaster the walls cos quite even with dents and the bricks outline..

CONGRATS! Glad ur persistance got them to do it nicely!

Mine was like... i went out in the afternoon go get some electric appliances info, the.. HDB branch officer called the house, and told my MIL (upon hearing i not back yet) that HDB is like dat one, they did a valuation and sell us 'cheap' because of the state of the flat. like... to me it's like saying you already get cheap le, y so much trouble... still wanna report defects X_X

Actually, I thought the valuation is base on the location and the unit height as well as the building age?

Think will go on plan, tomorrow go take keys bah. Did they let you know approximately when u can take your keys???

CONGRATS! Glad ur persistance got them to do it nicely!

Mine was like... i went out in the afternoon go get some electric appliances info, the.. HDB branch officer called the house, and told my MIL (upon hearing i not back yet) that HDB is like dat one, they did a valuation and sell us 'cheap' because of the state of the flat. like... to me it's like saying you already get cheap le, y so much trouble... still wanna report defects X_X

Actually, I thought the valuation is base on the location and the unit height as well as the building age?

Think will go on plan, tomorrow go take keys bah. Did they let you know approximately when u can take your keys???

How can they say that :P ... Im sure they still will mark up from the valuation... I think the state of the flat also plays a part.. Actually alot of my foreign friends also laugh at our procedures to purchase a home.. Imagine not even being able to view the place first before buying.. We only have a floor plan to view.. :~

Whether old or new, the flat is under HDB responsibility, therefore they have the responsibility to make sure the flats sold are of acceptable standards..

No news of keys yet.. My branch officer everything also dunno one.. He will just shrug and say he not sure.. So sickening.. Can't even find out more abt the previous owners.. So you are going to collect tmlr?? So lucky ;) All the best yar!! :dancingqueen:

How can they say that :P ... Im sure they still will mark up from the valuation... I think the state of the flat also plays a part.. Actually alot of my foreign friends also laugh at our procedures to purchase a home.. Imagine not even being able to view the place first before buying.. We only have a floor plan to view.. :~

Whether old or new, the flat is under HDB responsibility, therefore they have the responsibility to make sure the flats sold are of acceptable standards..

No news of keys yet.. My branch officer everything also dunno one.. He will just shrug and say he not sure.. So sickening.. Can't even find out more abt the previous owners.. So you are going to collect tmlr?? So lucky ;) All the best yar!! :dancingqueen:

You're luckier~~ HDB change the gate and help solve the window problem for you. =D

Yesh! It is kinda funny!:P We are basically paying $ to see the flat, but, IF don't want that flat, must requeue / pray for next WIS! :P

Well, "acceptable standards" really varies to personal opinion I think. Usually the HDB officer will think it is acceptable and the consumer will think it is not! hehehehe~

Thank you! The plan is to collect tmlr, hack care the defects thingee le... today the nephew and niece screammm sooooo loud i really think defects are better then my ear drums bursting! lolzz

You're luckier~~ HDB change the gate and help solve the window problem for you. =D

Yesh! It is kinda funny!:bangwall: We are basically paying $ to see the flat, but, IF don't want that flat, must requeue / pray for next WIS! :unsure:

Well, "acceptable standards" really varies to personal opinion I think. Usually the HDB officer will think it is acceptable and the consumer will think it is not! hehehehe~

Thank you! The plan is to collect tmlr, hack care the defects thingee le... today the nephew and niece screammm sooooo loud i really think defects are better then my ear drums bursting! lolzz

Ya, at least its not the old ancient gate.. but its still not the new kind.. looks just like the old kind but nicer.. but cannot be too fussy, they change for me already very good..

What kind of defects do you have?? If not so bad, and if your reno will affect that area then dun stress yourself out too much abt it lor.. Buying a home must be a happy process so dun make yourself upset.. :dancingqueen:

ask u all.. hw long does HDB take to do all the defects ah ? me quite anxious eh ... :dancingqueen:

especially the screeding part which I will be asking them to do. cannot lay my laminates without them doing it first..

Ya, at least its not the old ancient gate.. but its still not the new kind.. looks just like the old kind but nicer.. but cannot be too fussy, they change for me already very good..

What kind of defects do you have?? If not so bad, and if your reno will affect that area then dun stress yourself out too much abt it lor.. Buying a home must be a happy process so dun make yourself upset.. :dancingqueen:

Actually, I also dunno wat defects are there... I didn't check when the officer open the door for us to see =X

Thought is after get keys then check mah~~~ anyway, now must think of deco, never go think abt hdb any more hehehehhee~

U must keep urself happy too k~ :lol:

ask u all.. hw long does HDB take to do all the defects ah ? me quite anxious eh ... !!

especially the screeding part which I will be asking them to do. cannot lay my laminates without them doing it first..

About 2 - 3 weeks?? Im also not sure cos mine is old flat... They took almost 1 mth before I could go inspect but I think mine is cos the branch officer delay meeting up with us.. Must push one, if not dunno delay until when

it'll take a long time

some forummers ever waited almost six months

for me, still waiting for all the rectifications to be done

got my keys on 05 mar, until now only basically cleaned up my windows nia

next week starting the hacking of tiles

bluberi, mine rusty and was changed! mus change. else if cable really comes in, maybe cannot connet

chewbecca, i gave up on them. i bought a new TV point from Clipsal to change.