bluskye

Ok To Run Electrical Wires Alongside Citygas Pipe?

Me doing my reno now. Was thinking if I should use CityGas. However, the previous owner cut away all the CityGas pipes... :furious::furious::(! Thinking of connecting them back. So called CityGas. Then they sent a technician down, and he say cannot run electricity alongside CityGas pipes, cos scared sparks will cause explosion. I'm thinking using cornice with downlights to cover the ugly pipes and trunking. Then he suggest put the electrical trunkings outside cornice, in dat case I do cornice for wat? :sport-smiley-004:

So I call CityGas again a couple of days later. Den they say can run alongside, as long as the wires are covered by dunno wat flexible rubber tube.

Today I call CityGas again. This time, they say cannot again!:D:furious: 1 moment say can't, next moment say can, den say cannot... arghh... den the guy took down my contacts, say wan to call me back. But haven call.

Anybody running your electrical trunkings alongside the CityGas pipes, covered in cornice with downlights? :dunno:

Btw my flat 17 yrs old liao, so the CityGas outlet is outside the house, not in the kitchen. So must run all the way through the living room.

Edited by bluskye

Me doing my reno now. Was thinking if I should use CityGas. However, the previous owner cut away all the CityGas pipes... zzzz zz! Thinking of connecting them back. So called CityGas. Then they sent a technician down, and he say cannot run electricity alongside CityGas pipes, cos scared sparks will cause explosion. I'm thinking using cornice with downlights to cover the ugly pipes and trunking. Then he suggest put the electrical trunkings outside cornice, in dat case I do cornice for wat? :P

So I call CityGas again a couple of days later. Den they say can run alongside, as long as the wires are covered by dunno wat flexible rubber tube.

Today I call CityGas again. This time, they say cannot again!zz:furious: 1 moment say can't, next moment say can, den say cannot... arghh... den the guy took down my contacts, say wan to call me back. But haven call.

Anybody running your electrical trunkings alongside the CityGas pipes, covered in cornice with downlights? :dunno:

Btw my flat 17 yrs old liao, so the CityGas outlet is outside the house, not in the kitchen. So must run all the way through the living room.

If there is no connecting joints of wires alongside with the gas pipe, what is there to spark.?

Nowadays Citygas very safe liao, better than LPG tanks.

my gas pipe is alongside with my electrical trunking in my kitchen covered with false ceiling and PLC downlight.

My advise to you is run the trunking first, then the pipe, test for pressure leak, if everything ok, then cover up with false ceiling.

Okok, tks GMC :dancingqueen: ! Will try that out. Anyway CityGas is sending someone down again tomorrow to take another look. Wah... if not for this forum, I think a lot of new home owners doing reno will be at a lost... :dancingqueen:

sorry to hijack tis thread.

anyone koes if it's ok to run the gas pipe from the kitchen thru the service yard wall (from the top n go down the bottom) and back into the kitchen? :(

need to do it this way coz i'll be having sliding door at the kitchen entrance. can't possibly have the gas pipes running down there, oni alternative is to go thru service yard n back into the kitchen. but the citygas sub-con said cannot coz the top part of the service yard wall is a structural beam. told mi to called citygas or HDB TO to come down n see if i dun believe. but i checked my floorplan liao, the service yard wall dun haf structural beam lor. :P

see the red box i've drawn around the service yard wall. where got structural beam??

floorplan.jpg

Edited by bluberi

dun wori.. it can go thru.. when the sub-con is at the unit they will advise u the shorter route to run.. some beam can be drill thru... hehe

Those on the floor plan are the vertical structure pillars. The top horizontal structure beams are not shown in the floor plan. The top horizontal s. beam usually stretch between two vertical s. pillars.... for your case, if its a top horizontal s. beam, it should extend all the way to bedroom 3.... :unsure: