mist

Our Living Space

hmm.. coasters! maybe hor. :notti:

har use it as actual tiles very xin tong leh. nex time move house cannot bring with me.. :dunno:

Actually when i saw was thinking of coasters also. But if u stick it on a frame and hang it up will get more mileage.. Hee.. My thots anyway. :P

hi hi guys! had to dig out my renoblog thread again to post this photo.. and ask for ideas..

my hubby has a set of antique peranakan tiles and we are not sure to frame it up or leave it as it is. besides framing or leaving as it is, is there any other things we could do with it huh...

Untitled-1.jpg

The tiles looks WOW! Where did you hubby get them? I have been searching for such tiles for quite a while.

Apart from using the tiles as coasters or framed, you can also display them flat in a wooden tray and have some small potted plants or an oil burner on top of it. If you want to do framing, frame them individually in a frame with some depth to create a pop-up visual rather than the flat picture frames, try the IKEA's Ribba series frames. Erm...how about getting a nice wooden chest and mount the tiles on the covers?

Actually when i saw was thinking of coasters also. But if u stick it on a frame and hang it up will get more mileage.. Hee.. My thots anyway. :notti:

thanks! we are thinkin of framing either a long one (6 pieces in a row) or a square one (4 pieces).

The tiles looks WOW! Where did you hubby get them? I have been searching for such tiles for quite a while.

Apart from using the tiles as coasters or framed, you can also display them flat in a wooden tray and have some small potted plants or an oil burner on top of it. If you want to do framing, frame them individually in a frame with some depth to create a pop-up visual rather than the flat picture frames, try the IKEA's Ribba series frames. Erm...how about getting a nice wooden chest and mount the tiles on the covers?

hi sumo, not sure too coz my hubby had some for quite a while.. his mum is nonya. from wad i know, there are some antique shops in melacca that sells. in sg, some antique shops may carry it too! wow i like the wooden chest idea. then the chest can double up as a side table too. hmm will see if hubby like that.

how thick are the tiles?

if not too thick can considering sticking them onto existing toilet tiles 8|

the tiles are normal ceramic tiles thickness.. about 8mm?.. hmm the thing abt sticking to current finishes and making it a fixture is that we cant remove it if we shift house lor:( will be a pity coz its really pretty.

can get the 3M adhesive tape

so far holds my stuff well though i have not tried removing the fixtures

there should also be some kind of super glue in the market that serves this kind of purpose

use it to stick on, and use the solvent provided to remove the glue :P

i like sumobear's idea too

maybe can get a side table and arrange the tiles on top also :dribble: :dribble:

The chest or box that I have in mind is basically using the framed tiles(E.g. configuration of 9 tiles) as a door for the opening side, be it on top or front. Another option will having small boxes with single tile pasted on top of it...to make the box more interesting, you can add a padded frame wrapped with fabric to conceal the rough edges of the tile. Hope you get what I meant...hehe

If you really like the tiles so much, try not to bond it permanently to a surface....try to think of other ways or else you will damage the thing when you rip off.

I found some of those tiles at an antique shop at Arab st but I find it very expensive...3 pcs like $70-80. Find it kind of over-priced.

Edited by sumobear

can get the 3M adhesive tape

so far holds my stuff well though i have not tried removing the fixtures

there should also be some kind of super glue in the market that serves this kind of purpose

use it to stick on, and use the solvent provided to remove the glue :dribble:

i like sumobear's idea too

maybe can get a side table and arrange the tiles on top also :dribble::fire:

3m! yar hor! didnt think of that.. hmm but the underside of the tiles are not smooth, has a seragated (its that how its spelled?) surface for the tiles to grip cement properly. so maybe the double sided 3M tape may not be able to stick properly hor.. hmm but u just gave me an idea.. to use 'glue that can be removed'.. maybe i can use glue gun, coz the glue can be scraped off..! thanks!:good::P

The chest or box that I have in mind is basically using the framed tiles(E.g. configuration of 9 tiles) as a door for the opening side, be it on top or front. Another option will having small boxes with single tile pasted on top of it...to make the box more interesting, you can add a padded frame wrapped with fabric to conceal the rough edges of the tile. Hope you get what I meant...hehe

If you really like the tiles so much, try not to bond it permanently to a surface....try to think of other ways or else you will damage the thing when you rip off.

I found some of those tiles at an antique shop at Arab st but I find it very expensive...3 pcs like $70-80. Find it kind of over-priced.

right now, the only thing i can think of to frame it without bonding with glue is to have the frame overlappin a little of the edge of the tile so that it wont fall off.. but not v keen with that idea lor.

yep i understand wad u meant. was thinking abt the tiles on top of the chest cover when u mentioned it. so exciting.. cant wait to tell hubby.

ooh. my hubby is looking for more of those tiles. hmm .. maybe will go take a look. (do u remeber the name of the shop? or any nearby shop name? or the exact addr? gee thanks) yes the prices shd be abt there.. coz its antique abt 1920s or 1930s era, and it has stopped production liao. (unless u look for reproductions) You know wad, 1 shop in chatuchak sell reproductions but i remember its not cheap. i love that place man. i think u will like it too.

3m! yar hor! didnt think of that.. hmm but the underside of the tiles are not smooth, has a seragated (its that how its spelled?) surface for the tiles to grip cement properly. so maybe the double sided 3M tape may not be able to stick properly hor.. hmm but u just gave me an idea.. to use 'glue that can be removed'.. maybe i can use glue gun, coz the glue can be scraped off..! thanks!:dribble::P

right now, the only thing i can think of to frame it without bonding with glue is to have the frame overlappin a little of the edge of the tile so that it wont fall off.. but not v keen with that idea lor.

yep i understand wad u meant. was thinking abt the tiles on top of the chest cover when u mentioned it. so exciting.. cant wait to tell hubby.

ooh. my hubby is looking for more of those tiles. hmm .. maybe will go take a look. (do u remeber the name of the shop? or any nearby shop name? or the exact addr? gee thanks) yes the prices shd be abt there.. coz its antique abt 1920s or 1930s era, and it has stopped production liao. (unless u look for reproductions) You know wad, 1 shop in chatuchak sell reproductions but i remember its not cheap. i love that place man. i think u will like it too.

Erm...I dunno what is the name of the antique shop at Arab st but the location is just behind the mosque where all the shophouses are...that shop sell alot of retro stuffs and some old toys like those wooden tops, paper balloon, bouncing balls. Recently just went to that shop to take my wedding photos...super cool place. Another area that you can hunt is at East coast or Katong areas, that are alot of shops selling such items but I have not check the price.

Edited by sumobear

Erm...I dunno what is the name of the antique shop at Arab st but the location is just behind the mosque where all the shophouses are...that shop sell alot of retro stuffs and some old toys like those wooden tops, paper balloon, bouncing balls. Recently just went to that shop to take my wedding photos...super cool place. Another area that you can hunt is at East coast or Katong areas, that are alot of shops selling such items but I have not check the price.

hey thanks. will check it out..

one of the forummer recommend a shop around bendemmer area

dun know if they carry this kind of tile :unsure:

isit an antique shop? :P

here are some of the items we bought from our bangkok trip :yamseng:

The wooden carved cornering, the wooden giraffe (smaller one), our living room clock and another betta! :unsure:

P1030732.jpgP1030715.jpgbangkok102.jpgbangkok099.jpg

I totally love your deco!! Where did you get the "sofa" thing for your balcony? We want to get something similar to this for our living room!

hi makemefly

we got the sofa thingy (daybed) from wihardja. You should really go take a look there if u into resort style.. their stuff there is good quality and pretty affordable too.

my balcony don really look like dat liao.. now it looks somethign like this

Hi applefreak,

hehe i havent done anything to the tiles yet. its now sitting in my storeroom getting dusty.. infact have stopped all DIYs liao :sport-smiley-003: been really sleepy and nauseous (vomitting everyday :D:furious: ) after i realised i'm preggie..