mist

Our Living Space

should i make noise at ikea huh? but actually what can they do, at most give me the same light and make me worry again everytime i go to the toilet.

Harlow....I support u to make noise....hopefully they can recall pdt if they find it is structurally unsafe! (Like the mattel barbie dolls recently)...den we can go back to exchange.... :deal:

Can I call you Ms Neo instead of Mist? hehe...:deal:

Erm actually when you purchase the light, is it indicated for toilet use? I know IKEA will label their lights for wet area. But I think you can feedback to IKEA about their products...I think they will refund you with a voucher when goods are returned with a valid reason.

Like my case, I bought a big picture frame (Ribba) from IKEA and when I try to remove the backing to insert my picture...the glass panel in front cracked into half. I went back to IKEA with the broken frame and they gave me a refund voucher after listening to my explaination. I realised that it is made in China and many of the frames on the IKEA shelves cracked and shattered too. On top of that I think IKEA have been calling back some purchased products lately because of manufacturing defects.

no lah, my covers are all plastic

so if drop is a bit painful if kenna the head :P

unless you can prove it is a manufacturing fault

at least demand for refund

but if it's due to 'wear and tear' then i dun think they will entertain loh

ikea is know for bad service leh, there's a site by the name of ihateikea :deal:

really! got such a site? har but i quite like ikea actually leh. so fun to shop there coz its bigg and got lots of stuff to see.. so sad this kinda thing happen. 1 year can consider wear and tear meh. and its only 3.90.. i'm wondering if tis worth it to make a big fuss lor!

Harlow....I support u to make noise....hopefully they can recall pdt if they find it is structurally unsafe! (Like the mattel barbie dolls recently)...den we can go back to exchange.... :P

hehe i think quite impossible that they will admit its unsafe lor. coz other peoples oso ok.. urs oso ok. maybe i just unlucky. :(

hehe don bluff le.. u will exhange meh!! u manage to tahan with poor lighting for so long. hmm but maybe got free exhange u will be the 1st to queue up ah. hehe

Can I call you Ms Neo instead of Mist? hehe...:(

Erm actually when you purchase the light, is it indicated for toilet use? I know IKEA will label their lights for wet area. But I think you can feedback to IKEA about their products...I think they will refund you with a voucher when goods are returned with a valid reason.

Like my case, I bought a big picture frame (Ribba) from IKEA and when I try to remove the backing to insert my picture...the glass panel in front cracked into half. I went back to IKEA with the broken frame and they gave me a refund voucher after listening to my explaination. I realised that it is made in China and many of the frames on the IKEA shelves cracked and shattered too. On top of that I think IKEA have been calling back some purchased products lately because of manufacturing defects.

hi sumo.

can! coz my name is not mist anyway! hehe. but ms neo sounds so teacherly, but i guess still better than wad sumo sounds like. kakaka.

hmm.... cant remember whether its labeled.. thot they only label mirrors for wet area..

wah i oso got the ribba frame! huh if like dat.. i must bring back the broken glass pieces to ikea ah! hehe.

aiyo china pdts are really scary. so many bad publicity nowadays.

Edited by mist

Well...You can always "DaPao" the broken pieces for them to see...I did that for my frame when I return. Recently I bought a stainless steel top from IKEA for my study table, it rusted...and gosh...it is from China. I find it very troublesome to make an exchange so we just live with it.

didnt have time to go ikea, so i feedback to them over the internet feedback at their website on sunday. This morning, they call me already! response quite fast :P they say they want to come down to check and maybe replace the glass cover and clips for me.

But the problem is i'm pretty scared of this light design liao. afraid the cover will drop again. But they said if they change another lamp, i will have to get my own electrician to install it coz ikea dont hav electricians to install :jawdrop:

oh and i think my lights are made in china too! :notti: and yup some of their steel pdts do rust.. i bought the magnetic bar for my kitchen and its rusty liao.

Edited by mist

didnt have time to go ikea, so i feedback to them over the internet feedback at their website on sunday. This morning, they call me already! response quite fast :P they say they want to come down to check and maybe replace the glass cover and clips for me.

But the problem is i'm pretty scared of this light design liao. afraid the cover will drop again. But they said if they change another lamp, i will have to get my own electrician to install it coz ikea dont hav electricians to install :jawdrop:

oh and i think my lights are made in china too! :notti:

I see...but if you feel unsafe, then better change it. I am also having a major problem with lighting recently...my track lights are blowing one by one. everything is doing fine until recently...called the electrician and he totally push all the problems to light fixtures and ask me to get replacement...gosh that is so much $$$ coz I have quite a number of track lights abd on top of that I have to pay my elecrician for doing the replacement. I dunno how..so upset one again our home.

hey my track lightings blew too. 3 times within 7 months.. we kinda stop replacing some of them coz we seldom use it anyway. actually if u just bought it not too long ago you can go back to the shop and ask them whether can change..

i dun have confident with that shop's product already loh....but the strange thing is that so many blew within 2 days at different areas...so I do not know if it is the adapters giving problem or the electrical work. Our home depend on track lights in the night but now we are so scared to on them in the night already. Mrs Sumobear always got a shocked when the light blow, it pop so loud....

I thought my worries for home is over but now...it is the light....sob sob

Hi Mist...

Wanna check with you where am I able to find uphostery fabrics, the thicker kind of fabrics? So far i have only see the fabrics for clothes. I have found an abandoned retro chair at club street, and I am thinking to find a bright flowery fabrics to wrap it up. :drunk:

hi there! don worry abt your light :P in fact the less light the more romantic la. hehe.

as for the upholstery material, theres quite a few at spotlight. goodrich also has. joo chiat mainly curtains fabric but some are pretty heavyweight so i think can use for furniture as well. and if u feeling loaded, u can order from internet. they have so many other prints that i havent seen in sg. can try www.reprodepot.com. got v chio fabrics :notti:

hmm.. that all i've been to so far. the problem is the nice wans all so ex leh. how i wish i can print my own lor (and cheaply).

places like ikea and courts i think they have upholstery fabric but think its only avail if u buy their furniture.. but then if u buy fabric(if they willing to sell to u separate) from there pple will think ur furniture is from there too coz their fabric selection quite limited and very distintive 'ikea' or 'courts' type.

Hi...

My tracklight problem is most likely to be caused by the tracklight adaptors which i have been cheated when I buy them loh. I have replaced the adaptors with the old reliable ones at my previous home, everything seem ok. I need the tracklights to highlight my decors...

I saw reprodepot website before but I think theirs are the fabrics for clothes if I am not wrong. Probably some bright floral or retro print will be good for my chair. Anyway I will pop by spotlight to checkout.

Erm...I am an Anti-Courts person and the fabrics at IKEA look disappointingly ugly loh...

hi there! don worry abt your light :deal: in fact the less light the more romantic la. hehe.

as for the upholstery material, theres quite a few at spotlight. goodrich also has. joo chiat mainly curtains fabric but some are pretty heavyweight so i think can use for furniture as well. and if u feeling loaded, u can order from internet. they have so many other prints that i havent seen in sg. can try www.reprodepot.com. got v chio fabrics :notti:

hmm.. that all i've been to so far. the problem is the nice wans all so ex leh. how i wish i can print my own lor (and cheaply).

places like ikea and courts i think they have upholstery fabric but think its only avail if u buy their furniture.. but then if u buy fabric(if they willing to sell to u separate) from there pple will think ur furniture is from there too coz their fabric selection quite limited and very distintive 'ikea' or 'courts' type.

Hi...

My tracklight problem is most likely to be caused by the tracklight adaptors which i have been cheated when I buy them loh. I have replaced the adaptors with the old reliable ones at my previous home, everything seem ok. I need the tracklights to highlight my decors...

I saw reprodepot website before but I think theirs are the fabrics for clothes if I am not wrong. Probably some bright floral or retro print will be good for my chair. Anyway I will pop by spotlight to checkout.

Erm...I am an Anti-Courts person and the fabrics at IKEA look disappointingly ugly loh...

hehehe u are like my hubby he oso anti courts. hmm i think if the fabric are not the soft flimsy type, maybe can also use for chairs. search reprodepot under "heavyweight" description lor, or "upholstery". hehe i think spotlight oso quite limited in bright colored floral fabric.. the best i've seen are all avail in internet ones lor.

hi mist, can clearly see that ikea's designed is flawed. its good that u feedback to them..cant imagine what will happen if kids or elderly are involved. glad to know that you are alright too..

i dun buy ikea's lighting becoz of the weird 3 pin design. i too feel its too flimsy so din buy...

yar! that time thot cheap so buy lor. i marney face one mah $-) but then now when i look at it think its dangerous too. anyway, ikea came down to my house to check, then they told me my complain was the only one they recieved so far and they dont think its a product fault and mine's probably a one-off defective case. they offered me the same replacement but i told them i dont trust the design anymore, so they offered me another light(without the scary 3 pin design) but i didnt like, so they offered me a 20 bucks voucher instead lor. think will spend the voucher on other things. will most prob get light from elsewhere and get electrician to connect :sport-smiley-004: sigh think the electrician gonna cost me.

Edited by mist

hi hi guys! had to dig out my renoblog thread again to post this photo.. and ask for ideas..

my hubby has a set of antique peranakan tiles and we are not sure to frame it up or leave it as it is. besides framing or leaving as it is, is there any other things we could do with it huh...

Untitled-1.jpg

they are BEAUTIFUL :( !!

you can considering using them as coasters with appropriate backing

or deco tiles in the bathroom, along the passageway or an empty wall

maybe even on the floor if there's a specific location you want to lead the visitors to :notti:

they are BEAUTIFUL :notti::dunno:

you can considering using them as coasters with appropriate backing

or deco tiles in the bathroom, along the passageway or an empty wall

maybe even on the floor if there's a specific location you want to lead the visitors to :P

hmm.. coasters! maybe hor. :dunno:

har use it as actual tiles very xin tong leh. nex time move house cannot bring with me.. :dunno: