applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 24, 2007 Hi Apple,Check out this website...http://www.central-iron.com.sg/ourstory.htmMy chair is distributed by this company. I called them and they redirect me to the nearest shop to me that is selling their products. You can call and check with them for the nearest place to where you are staying right now. Their products are kind of old fashion but I think the some of them still retain its classical beauty like the circular rubber band chair that I have. thanks a lotwill definitely check it out after i've finally settled down Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted September 24, 2007 Hi Sumobear,My frien are looking for some painting to put up in their living room, any recommendation on the shops in Spore?? Any style, artist and budget in mind? What is your friend's home theme and the colour scheme of the home especially the place where he/she want to put up the painting? You can also check out one of the forumer's thread, Diva79, she customise painting for people. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted September 25, 2007 Any style, artist and budget in mind? What is your friend's home theme and the colour scheme of the home especially the place where he/she want to put up the painting? You can also check out one of the forumer's thread, Diva79, she customise painting for people.My frien is an Indian her budget is abt $1k no particular artist in her mind, her home theme is modern contemporary and she intend to put it in her living rm which is EM. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted September 25, 2007 My frien is an Indian her budget is abt $1k no particular artist in her mind, her home theme is modern contemporary and she intend to put it in her living rm which is EM.Erm...the theme "Modern Contemporary" can mean alot of styles, the range is very wide. Very difficult for me to visualise the home setting and to tell you what is best for her coz her taste for art appreciation may be different from me. The safest graphic choice will be pictures like flower and plants. Speaking of modern home, it is not necessary to choose accessories that are modern too...she can create a contrast by using something that is ethnic like the Indian Sari...it is a beautiful fabric then she can mount on frames or just hang on a pole fixed to the wall. Wall graphics is not neccessary to be in framed format, just be creative. Another thing that I have realised in modern homes is that many people restrict themselves to colour choice, like everything must be red, black and white...actually can add another colour to create a contrast and a focus point in a space...If she want some paintings, she can try the art galleries at club street, dempsey road, Park mall and Holland Village areas. I think there is a shop at the old turf club selling quite a range paintings at a very reasonable price. 1K is quite alot leh, can let me get alot of things for my home...how i wish I can have 1K to spend for my home.Hope my thoughts can help you a bit... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted September 25, 2007 Actually I also hvnt been to her hse yet, she jus briefly describe to me and ask for my opinion. I told her I am a complete idoit in display but I may consult some experts here. Really thks for the informations I will relay to her and hope she can digest it tooo. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted September 25, 2007 Actually I also hvnt been to her hse yet, she jus briefly describe to me and ask for my opinion. I told her I am a complete idoit in display but I may consult some experts here. !! Really thks for the informations I will relay to her and hope she can digest it tooo. There is no expert here lah...aesthetic is very subjective. Some people may not like what I think is nice or vice versa. Everyone has its own way in appreciating design and art, just be yourself and do whatever you feel is good...do not bother with what other people say. I also learn about design and art through education, books and surfing loads of websites.I always feel that a home is more homely and has more character when the owner personally put in the effort to style his/her home. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted September 26, 2007 Hi Air,Concourse is a good place to hunt for things...quite rewarding. You can find artifical flowers and plants too.Your home is looking good too...I love the platform in your living room, can do modelling catwalk show.Hehe...I love to reshuffle my home furnitures to create the best visual and comfortable layout, so I will avoid having any permanent fixtures like cupboards or feature walls. Interior fashion trend changes very fast, so I do not like to constraint myself to the moving trend. I prefer to do it my way...Hihi sumobear, thanks for your recommendation! I went to concourse today with my hubby during lunch and we indeed found the vases that we like! And cheap too! Just a bit regret buying my twigs from Lifestorey....costs us over $50 for 6 big twigs when I can find one pack at $6.90 at concourse!! Heart pain..very pain... Love the artifical plants and flowers there too...looked so real....might contemplate going back for artificial plants once we've settled in our home.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted September 26, 2007 Hihi sumobear, thanks for your recommendation! I went to concourse today with my hubby during lunch and we indeed found the vases that we like! And cheap too! Just a bit regret buying my twigs from Lifestorey....costs us over $50 for 6 big twigs when I can find one pack at $6.90 at concourse!! Heart pain..very pain... Love the artifical plants and flowers there too...looked so real....might contemplate going back for artificial plants once we've settled in our home....Hi Air,Glad that you have found the things that you like. May I know what is the name of the shop you went to? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted September 27, 2007 Hi Air,Glad that you have found the things that you like. May I know what is the name of the shop you went to?I went to Daco Marketing...they got the vases we like...we receed the other shops but didn't find any to our fancy...but i discovered though they were selling similar items, the price difference between each shop for same item is quite great hor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted September 27, 2007 (edited) I went to Daco Marketing...they got the vases we like...we receed the other shops but didn't find any to our fancy...but i discovered though they were selling similar items, the price difference between each shop for same item is quite great hor...I am suppose to go there to buy some things but until now I still have no time to go there or probably too out of the way. Most of the shops there are wholesale...so price is better. Post pics of what you have bought leh.... Edited September 27, 2007 by sumobear Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted September 27, 2007 I am suppose to go there to buy some things but until now I still have no time to go there or probably too out of the way. Most of the shops there are wholesale...so price is better. Post pics of what you have bought leh.... Sure! Will take some pics this weekend! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mist 0 Report post Posted September 27, 2007 (edited) i bought some artificial flowers at the gelang serai bazaar.. theres lots of flower shops, some say they are from concourse and say the price is the same as concourse... but not sure if they mark up the prices since its for the festive season. eeek! maybe i kenna cheated Edited September 27, 2007 by mist Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted September 27, 2007 i bought some artificial flowers at the gelang serai bazaar.. theres lots of flower shops, some say they are from concourse and say the price is the same as concourse... but not sure if they mark up the prices since its for the festive season. eeek! maybe i kenna cheated Kenna cheated also bobian...I dun think anyone has the time to go around so many places to compare prices before buying right. just remember not to go back there to buy will do...I think since renovation, we also kenna cheated for many items but in the end just have to live with it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted September 27, 2007 Kenna cheated also bobian...I dun think anyone has the time to go around so many places to compare prices before buying right. just remember not to go back there to buy will do...I think since renovation, we also kenna cheated for many items but in the end just have to live with it.Ya lor agree...cos this is the first time most of us are getting a flat...so some things still gong gong one...but after this experience, the next time buy stuff for your house, we know where to get and where not to get already... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted September 30, 2007 The years of IKEA! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites