applefreak 1 Report post Posted July 3, 2007 hmm, A4 most probably will cost me around $100 rightjust now chunky monkey supplied a website of a company that does customising of roller blindslikely to check it out and put my babies pix on the roller blind so 5mp pix can blow up to 1m x 1m or not?sorry leh, spam your t-blog with so many questionsi :~ myself first Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted July 3, 2007 Hi Sumo... me long time no post but have to come in after seeing your handiwork my place already completed for almost one month and it is still bare.. if only i have your energy level and creativity... really very nice pieces and ideas...Hi Ben,thanks for the compliment. Well...I think you should not reject your own creativity, just do whatever you feel is right. Art and design is always subjective. So far the things that I have done for my home do not requires alot of creativity, I just get all the available materials off shelves and put them together. Everyone will have the kind of energy as I do as long the person is not stuck with their usual routine life and get started with some thing new. Ben, try it out! You will enjoy the process....cheers hmm, A4 most probably will cost me around $100 rightjust now chunky monkey supplied a website of a company that does customising of roller blindslikely to check it out and put my babies pix on the roller blind so 5mp pix can blow up to 1m x 1m or not?sorry leh, spam your t-blog with so many questionsi myself first A4 should be quite cheap but I am not sure if they print A4 canvases....but I think canvases should be big then look good. If you print them small, might as well use photo frame.The Alphabet blocks that I have is printed from a photo that I took using a 10MP Digital SLR Camera. My boss did his using a 4MP digital camera, the image is kind of pixelated when printed but the canvas looks perfect from a distance.Rollerblind very adventurous leh...not sure about that. You can try asking! Sure got people having such service.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted July 3, 2007 chunky monkey supplied the websitethe place is at new world plaza i thinkwill check it out over the weekend thanks for all your advicewill definitely share my 'products' if i ever get down to it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LinDa 0 Report post Posted July 3, 2007 i must find time to go find a nice fabric first. if i wan a 1.2m by 1.2m canvas, what size do i buy the fabric? i mean i go in e shop, i must see if its long enough first rite? then if long enough, i ask the uncle/auntie to sell me 1.4m so it can stretch? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted July 3, 2007 if the pix is taken with 2mp camera hor, how big can it go?a 2mp camera, if blow up to 5R still ok, but blow up to 8R, will lose the sharpness liao...but it also depends on the printer... but there is still a limit to it... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2007 i must find time to go find a nice fabric first. if i wan a 1.2m by 1.2m canvas, what size do i buy the fabric? i mean i go in e shop, i must see if its long enough first rite? then if long enough, i ask the uncle/auntie to sell me 1.4m so it can stretch?I think it is better to buy more as you need to grip the end and pull to the back before you staple. Most fabrics will have length but width should be limited, so check the size. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LinDa 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 I think it is better to buy more as you need to grip the end and pull to the back before you staple. Most fabrics will have length but width should be limited, so check the size.so the width i buy something which is 1.4m u think enough for me to pull and staple? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 so the width i buy something which is 1.4m u think enough for me to pull and staple?Erm...it is really subjective and I think it is better to buy extra coz the extra cloth will not cost much. The excess can use to make other things. I wanna sew a soft toy with my excess but lazy to start...Where do you intend to go and buy the fabric? Heard that Goodrich carries a wide range of fabrics... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mist 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 so the width i buy something which is 1.4m u think enough for me to pull and staple?i think if its a 1.2 x 1.2 frame, u buy 1.4 x 1.4 cloth is enough liao. unless yours is a super thick frame, then u need more to cover the edges. but if u like the cloth, no harm buying more like wad sumo said. Can use for other stuff! Erm...it is really subjective and I think it is better to buy extra coz the extra cloth will not cost much. The excess can use to make other things. I wanna sew a soft toy with my excess but lazy to start...Where do you intend to go and buy the fabric? Heard that Goodrich carries a wide range of fabrics...I like goodrich fabrics but how come its so expensive de lei? the last time i asked its like $100+ per m run. $100!!!! i know its imported designer fabric and all that but i wonder whether its much cheaper if we buy in UK.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 I like goodrich fabrics but how come its so expensive de lei? the last time i asked its like $100+ per m run. $100!!!! i know its imported designer fabric and all that but i wonder whether its much cheaper if we buy in UK..The reason why they can call such price is because they have dominated the local industry with wallpaper and fabrics. On another side, I think their fabric should be premium quality in order to sell at such price.Erm... actually I am eyeing for a piece of fabric at a shop near my office but it is $100+ per metre...my darling will kill me if I buy. It is a piece that I cannot forget after so many months. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LinDa 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 if really like buy lor. somemoe u bio so long liao. i see a very very very expensive pc of clothe if i like, i try to wait for 3 days. if after 3 days still like, i will buy lor. but most of the times, my clothes cheap cheap la, so end up impulsive spending. goodrich fabric expensive lei. $100 per m lor. 1.4m will be like $150. can't bear to spend so much on a pc of cloth lei. go find cheaper ones at chinatown or what first. then sians already still can change not so heart pain. and i don't know how to staple, so buy cheap one to test test first. when got skill liao, can buy good quality one. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2007 if really like buy lor. somemoe u bio so long liao. i see a very very very expensive pc of clothe if i like, i try to wait for 3 days. if after 3 days still like, i will buy lor. but most of the times, my clothes cheap cheap la, so end up impulsive spending. goodrich fabric expensive lei. $100 per m lor. 1.4m will be like $150. can't bear to spend so much on a pc of cloth lei. go find cheaper ones at chinatown or what first. then sians already still can change not so heart pain. and i don't know how to staple, so buy cheap one to test test first. when got skill liao, can buy good quality one. Another option that you can consider to do that may save some cost will be getting plain mounted canvas or mount plain coloured fabric and paint on it using brushes, stencils, rubber stamp...I am sure your kids can help out and they will sure enjoy it. You can just drip and splash paint... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2007 Our home security troops...on guard 24/7 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bubsbunny 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2007 Our home security troops...on guard 24/7Woah sumobear, those are old time 'peng zai'. Do they still sell them now? My kor's favorite, always force me to be the enemy Wonder where i can get them too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2007 Our home security troops...on guard 24/7so cuteeebut then hor, one of the peng kia pointing the guy at own guy leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites