sumobear

Love Odyssey

Went shopping for paint yesterday at the newly opened Giant Supermarket at Tampines, it was our 1st time going to that supermarket even though we have been going to IKEA frequently to do research and shopping. We were expecting to see a shop but when we are there we are surprised to see a small booth with some machineries at a corner of the supermarket, and I started to have some doubts whether they are able to customised the kind of paint that I want.

Upon presenting the paint colour code to the sales rep, he entered the code to the system and the machine will automatically inject some color pigments to a bucket of white paint and after that he will place the bucket in a shaking machine to mix the paint. I am totally impressed by the advanced technology of the paint industry, salute to the technology engineer.

When we bring the paints back to site, I went through another round of inspection on the pirated paints and realised that the painter also used a cheap paint for the Pink in my master bedroom. Initially I thought that the pirated paint are only the customised colours but never expect the colour direct of the common paint brochure has also been pirated. I never request for a change of the pink paint and I am thinking whether I should. Mrs SumoBear told me to let it go because the colour is very close to what we want but I am still hesitating whether to change because of the quality paint. Any advices anyone?

reno_ICIpaint.jpg

So do u have to pay extra for the customise colour paint? For my kitchen paint, i'm using wash & wear paint, not those normal emulsion paint. But wash & wear dun have the colour i want. So my ID say she gonna ask the paint shop to special mix wash & wear paint of my colour choice. She charge me $200 for it :rolleyes: Dunno got kana ketok or not. But my reno over liao, $ oso give liao. Juz wanna know if there's really such a case whereby gonna pay extra $ for special mixed paint for wash & wear paint.

Hi FSP,

Sad to inform you that you may have been ketok-ed and I am also one of the victims of similar case. I had contracted the HQ of ICI Dulux about my contractor's bogus paint and they have given me a very detailed explaination on their paint. Customised paint color will be $10-$20 more expenisve than the colours that you can easily get off shelves and if you want special treatments like Wash & Wear or others, it will be another $20 or more.

Hacking work is going to start tomorrow and I am very worried as the hacking may damaged my ready-made things even though my contractor has promised that everything will be intact but then again he has been crying wolf so many times that caused me to have some doubts and confidences in his work. Cupboards were layed around the house to minimise the damages and it looks so scary because it makes me feel that my home is going through a pre-war preparation and the hacking is like the rattling machine guns and bombs exploding. I am really worried and upset that my home have to undergo another round of rough treatment. My poor home...

reno_floordest.jpg

Hi FSP,

Sad to inform you that you may have been ketok-ed and I am also one of the victims of similar case. I had contracted the HQ of ICI Dulux about my contractor's bogus paint and they have given me a very detailed explaination on their paint. Customised paint color will be $10-$20 more expenisve than the colours that you can easily get off shelves and if you want special treatments like Wash & Wear or others, it will be another $20 or more.

:rolleyes: TMD... I should have do some research 1st 8| Haiz... Inexperience 1st timer like me gong gong like dat sure kana ketok 1. But at least next time i know. Wat i'm afraid of is dat $ throw liao, but did they give me quality paint or not? Or juz some lousy paint... Haiz... some contractors really very dishornest... Do u know where can i get the customised paint? Like for my case, can they mix wash & wear of my kitchen colour if i give them some samples?

:sport-smiley-004: TMD... I should have do some research 1st :D Haiz... Inexperience 1st timer like me gong gong like dat sure kana ketok 1. But at least next time i know. Wat i'm afraid of is dat $ throw liao, but did they give me quality paint or not? Or juz some lousy paint... Haiz... some contractors really very dishornest... Do u know where can i get the customised paint? Like for my case, can they mix wash & wear of my kitchen colour if i give them some samples?

Well...everyone have their 1st time experience in everything, so just learn from your experience. Actually after checking with the paint supplier, I realised that the paint cost is like 15% or 20% of the quoted price for painting job only.

Customised color range also have a booklet that will open up like a paper fan that you can choose from but it is only available at the shop and not for distribution. Probably you can bring your colour sample to the shop and compare with the booklet. Among the colours, some of the colours may be considered as premium colours which you have to pay abit more but I do not why are they classified that way. In term of Wash & Wear or other special treatments, you may request and add in to the paint at different rates depending on the treatments. If you are worried that you may get cheated, go and get the paints for your painter or sign up painting package with the direct paint company like Nippon or ICI Dulux but they are more expensive.

Everything comes with a price. Nothing comes cheap and good, that is what I have learnt through the renovation.

Hi AppleFreak,

ohhh...you called that an apron-front sink? I called it the lab sink because I remember seeing such sink in the chemistry lab during my secondary school days. It is a tough sink. Do not understand why the sink has anything got to do with your mum's hand.

actually i only think it's called so coz whilst doing research for my kitchen came across a lot of this type of sink, and they are usually called apron-front mounting. but seems like ceramic is the only material it's available in and ceramic chips easily. can imagine my mum dropping woks and pots in the sink, then the sink will have a pock-marked face :sport-smiley-004:

Well...everyone have their 1st time experience in everything, so just learn from your experience. Actually after checking with the paint supplier, I realised that the paint cost is like 15% or 20% of the quoted price for painting job only.

Customised color range also have a booklet that will open up like a paper fan that you can choose from but it is only available at the shop and not for distribution. Probably you can bring your colour sample to the shop and compare with the booklet. Among the colours, some of the colours may be considered as premium colours which you have to pay abit more but I do not why are they classified that way. In term of Wash & Wear or other special treatments, you may request and add in to the paint at different rates depending on the treatments. If you are worried that you may get cheated, go and get the paints for your painter or sign up painting package with the direct paint company like Nippon or ICI Dulux but they are more expensive.

Everything comes with a price. Nothing comes cheap and good, that is what I have learnt through the renovation.

Haiz... My house paint job oredi done up liao... U pay peanuts, u get monkeys. Wat i'm afraid of is for the price i pay, i may not get the quality kinda paint. Lousy paint also will show signs deterrioate after a year or so... Haiz... Hope my paint work is ok lo...

I am sure all contractors will have some dirty old tricks to play and they will sure play it well and flawlessly in front of us. So just keep a close watch on whatever they are doing and show proof that they are giving you the right materials and stuffs. Whatever is completed, just have to live on with it. There is alot of things in my new home that are making me very worried but my dear happy-go-lucky wife will always advise me to let it go and live on with it as long the things will not affect us much in the future.

I signed up for at Self-fix for a Nippon Package last Wed; costs me slightly over $2k with GST. But, they did use the genuine products in the right tins. Calculated that my paints in total - 8 tins of Nippon Odourless, 1 tin of Nippon Weatherbond, Nippon Oil based sealer - 20kg, Martex for the ceiling, Nippon high gloss for the door frame - costs about $700 at a paint shop. So, labour costs is about $1.4k, abt $0.46k for each coat of paint. Think they did a fairly good job for 146sqm over 2 and a half days.

hi sumobear, dun tink abt it so much. i'm sure that everything will go wonderfully especially after all the detailed planning that u have done

Thanks for the encouragement but I just feel very depressed to see my home in such state and I simply cannot pick myself up.

My tears almost roll down when I see my almost completed dream home being smashed up into pieces again. I am feeling so depressed that I am unable to function properly, losing sleep and feel so tired with everything especially with renovation. I am feeling very paranoid. Probably all the pain that I am going through is a recoil of my commitment and passion for this renovation.

renotalk_smashup.jpg

Hey Sumo. don worry ok! the home will turn out well in the end:) especially since u guys got such good taste coz the kitchen is v nice!:sport-smiley-004:

reno process are seldom without hiccups here n there. so hang on there. :help: