lynzi

Tiles Behind Cabinets?

Hi people.

Need your advice here. Is it necessary to have tiles behind kitchen cabinets?

My hubby thought its of no use as no one can see them anyway. But my parents and parents in law said its better to have tiles done up all around.

What do u think? I'm clueless here. :)

Actually I also have the same thinking... why have tiles behind the cabinet.. and there is one company doesn't lay tiles behind the cabinet under their package..

But others told me that if the cabinet will be remove one day... we are unable to find back the same tiles...

Anyway... my kitchen tiles is in the package... so I don't bother...

May be U want to check with your ID how much U can save if don't lay the tiles behind the cabinet...

Actually for ours the package is inclusive of the tiles behind cabinet. But me and hubby tot don't need so we push the balance after minusing cost and labour of the tiles to our l-box and feature wall.

just do what u like... cabinet there dont really need a wall tiles...

wall tiles is that much more eady to clean after cooking than wall only...

but wall paint u can alway change the colour ans use patten also... so its also good...

at least dirty liao u can alway paint it and it will look new and fresh again... :notti:

rem its ur house not ur parents or PIL house...

what they say u just listen.. but is up to u to make up ur mind...

Actually for ours the package is inclusive of the tiles behind cabinet. But me and hubby tot don't need so we push the balance after minusing cost and labour of the tiles to our l-box and feature wall.

How much $$$ U can save?? I mean normally if this is included in the package... the amount that minus off is no much....

I actually skipped tiles for the entire kitchen.

It's mostly the elderly folks who were used to having tiles all over the kitchen walls, easily $3000+ (depend on kitchen size) extra on your quote..

Pause for a moment & think long term will there b a possibilities of u removing the cabinet at certain pt of yr stay? i.e. 2nd kitchen reno project/ change design & etc, no top cabinet @kitchen or suspended cabinet design. If yes, u might b better off with the wall tiles on (note dat the wall tiles design might b obsolete at a later stage making it difficult to find replacement).

Thank u so much for your inputs.

Yah lil blue bear, I do know that I should juz follow what my heart says as its my house and not the parents. Juz dat their opinions got me thinking and made me kancheong for awhile..hehe. :help:

From what had been calculated, the difference of with or without tiles behind cabinets is a few hundred.

Me and hubby did think of skipping the tiles altogether. We were more interested in doing cement screeding for our kitchen. However, after much thinking we decided to juz have tiles as with kids around in the future, it will be easier to clean.

Yup juzchris, I did think of that possibility. I don't think we will be changing the position of the kitchen cabinets as most probably we will only live there for 5 years. If we do intend to stay on, maybe after that 5 years I may decide to do a total revamp of my kitchen...hehe. :yamseng:

Hi, is your kitchen cabinets the full length across one wall? Is it full length up to the ceiling? If it is, that means the tiles will only be visible for the column between the top n bottom cabinets rite?

If so, why not plaster the whole wall and just use a backsplash? And only do tiling for the other untouched walls. That way in future, if you want to change the kitchen layout, that wall is plastered and tile free.. No need to worry abt obsolete tiles too..

white_affair

i think my neighbour is doing cement screeding and his kitchen look cool...

nice de lor... and what make u think if u hv kids this kind of wall will be diff to maintain???

tiles also need to maintain if not also the line will get dirty also de lor...

ya why not go for baksplash if u want to hv much easiler to maintain...

mine whole cabinet area there is glass backing...

but if still want to go for tiles... u better choose those gross one... bec

easy to clean... and choose those bigger one... abt half the side of the homo tiles... my SY using this side of tiles and i'm choose gross one with line... look nice nice to me...

b4 my glass backing is up in my kitchen... my ID say how can ur SY look nicer than ur kitchen... hehehe.... bec the tiles that HDB lay really not nice lor... but bo biang...

i think my neighbour is doing cement screeding and his kitchen look cool...

nice de lor... and what make u think if u hv kids this kind of wall will be diff to maintain???

tiles also need to maintain if not also the line will get dirty also de lor...

ya why not go for baksplash if u want to hv much easiler to maintain...

mine whole cabinet area there is glass backing...

but if still want to go for tiles... u better choose those gross one... bec

easy to clean... and choose those bigger one... abt half the side of the homo tiles... my SY using this side of tiles and i'm choose gross one with line... look nice nice to me...

b4 my glass backing is up in my kitchen... my ID say how can ur SY look nicer than ur kitchen... hehehe.... bec the tiles that HDB lay really not nice lor... but bo biang...

Little Blue Bear, you have seen cement screeding for kitchen? Isit wall and floor or only walls??? Im planning on doing that but for both walls and floor... Dunno nice anot as I haven't seen many pix of that :P

behind cabi no need tiles one lah. who can see? heh heh.

anyway if next time u take out the cabi, sure got holes on the wall tiles. so might as well change everything (tiles included) if u r changing cabi next time =)

:dancingqueen: Wow, so that is your house!! I was just admiring it last week in their website... Find it very bold and unique!! Great Job there! :dancingqueen: Actually I think my sis plc is there.. If im not wrong is it Edge**** P****S??

Actually I just sent a request for quotation from Mike.. Just wondering, how do you find his services and their workmanship??

Lynzi, sorry for hijacking your thread... :P