compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 hihi compassvale welcome back ... any pics to share with us ??? sharing some pics first meal at shanghai..HOT HOT HOT view from my mei's apartment Cayenne TURBO at the Jing Mao Grand Hyat Piano Bar full of people Rui Jin Hotel alot more.... really nice place Shanghai is! ate this also, another steamboat place at Xin Tian Di CHEAP!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 Oh wow! Shanghai! =) Is the flea market the one somewhere that's not accessible by mrt and its a erm, 4 storey bldg? A place where if you ask for a price and just go without buying, they'll hurl curses at you for even asking? A wholesale area where most of the local ppl buy their stuff and mark up @ outside normal shops? Nice view your mei's apt has. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 i also want to go shanghai, esp the xiao fei yang :dribble: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ranval9 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 too bad my stay at shanghai always too short to go sight seeing .. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 (edited) Oh wow! Shanghai! =) Is the flea market the one somewhere that's not accessible by mrt and its a erm, 4 storey bldg? A place where if you ask for a price and just go without buying, they'll hurl curses at you for even asking? A wholesale area where most of the local ppl buy their stuff and mark up @ outside normal shops? Nice view your mei's apt has. not exactly a flea market but more like a wholesale centre, initially wanted something like that they quoted RMB 300odd, saying outside selling 700..so very cheap liao. but did not want it badly, so just walk away, she pushed a calculator and told me to punch a number...dun say it out... i punch the magical number....she say too low lah....cannot like dat do business... so she punch 200plus....i say too high..then she punch 100plus..best price she said... i said NO and walked out.... then she called me back...how about 80? i said no, it's my magical number or NO DEAL. finally she said ok, ask me to go buy again next time.... DEAL CLOSED. What's the magical number? RMB 50 Their Ding Tai Feng xiao long baos much nicer than over here Cheap cheap!! RMB 5-8 per disc nia Edited May 4, 2008 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 Yup yup... i typo. Flea mkt only 1 floor normally. Shd be same place. That place confirm must cut more than 1/2 price quoted. My BIL who stayed there (thus he brought us there 2 yrs back) told us he will chop 80% off the price quoted. Initially i was like, can meh? But when we see him do, then we know can work. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 their steamboat is really Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jaren 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 anione heard of or stay at PJ Watergate Hotel in Bangkok?? where's the location?? isst near MBK Centre?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 (edited) woke up late today so ended up going to Chihuly Lounge for breakfast cum lunch cum early dinner worth it, 3 meals of the day for the price of 1 http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/S...nge/Default.htm and I saw Mdm Ho Ch--g about 2 tables away, think I looked at her one too many times wondering if it was her anyway, I MISS SHANGHAI!!!!!!!!! The weather so nice, back here so hot and humid!!! Edited May 4, 2008 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 woke up late today so ended up going to Chihuly Lounge for breakfast cum lunch cum early dinner worth it, 3 meals of the day for the price of 1 http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/S...nge/Default.htm and I saw Mdm Ho Ch--g about 2 tables away, think I looked at her one too many times wondering if it was her anyway, I MISS SHANGHAI!!!!!!!!! The weather so nice, back here so hot and humid!!! wah. ur b'fast/lunch/early dinner looks yummy !! btw, saw ur shanghai photos.. the place looks great. wish oct quickly come so dat i can fly to shanghai !! i'm so looking forward to the trip nw. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 (edited) wah. ur b'fast/lunch/early dinner looks yummy !! btw, saw ur shanghai photos.. the place looks great. wish oct quickly come so dat i can fly to shanghai !! i'm so looking forward to the trip nw. the weather in Oct should be very nice and cooling too! imagine walking in the sun without perspiration, aircon-temp....dry humidity. shioksssss...no rain when i was there Now that we are back - it's so HOT!!! You got 3 days F&E? Let me have a look at your itin? see if there are places which i can suggest which are not already in your itin. I lurve the beautiful Ruijin Hotel (similar to Raffles Hotel status in SG), the massage, Grand Hyatt Piano Bar at the Jin Mao Plaza (fab view, better than paying thru your nose to go up in the Dong Fang Ming Zhu). If you have time, go to Hangzhou (book train tix in advance - it's terrible to have to queue for it). The Xi Hu is fab. Imagine walking around the lake at 26degC, Tshirt and super cooling. It's fab. Popular shopping street - Huai Hai Street (you prob cover it as well), and high end shopping at Plaza 66 (only lux brands, which are 10-20% more ex thatn SG). Najing Dong Lu also worth going - to feel the super crowd. Take care of your belongings. Great city - 5 days shd be enuf. Just that people do not respect personal space (they stand really close to you) and ya - air is dirty. But really great weather. And now, i miss the food. sobz Edited May 4, 2008 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 the weather in Oct should be very nice and cooling too! imagine walking in the sun without perspiration, aircon-temp....dry humidity. shioksssss...no rain when i was there Now that we are back - it's so HOT!!! You got 3 days F&E? Let me have a look at your itin? see if there are places which i can suggest which are not already in your itin. I lurve the beautiful Ruijin Hotel (similar to Raffles Hotel status in SG), the massage, Grand Hyatt Piano Bar at the Jin Mao Plaza (fab view, better than paying thru your nose to go up in the Dong Fang Ming Zhu). If you have time, go to Hangzhou (book train tix in advance - it's terrible to have to queue for it). The Xi Hu is fab. Imagine walking around the lake at 26degC, Tshirt and super cooling. It's fab. Popular shopping street - Huai Hai Street (you prob cover it as well), and high end shopping at Plaza 66 (only lux brands, which are 10-20% more ex thatn SG). Najing Dong Lu also worth going - to feel the super crowd. Take care of your belongings. Great city - 5 days shd be enuf. Just that people do not respect personal space (they stand really close to you) and ya - air is dirty. But really great weather. And now, i miss the food. sobz yah, we purposely chose end oct coz of the weather.. need to get away fm sunny s'pore it's a 5D Jiangnan (consist of Suzhou, Wuzhen, Hangzhou, Nanjing & Wuxi) + 3D F&E Shanghai tour.. nt sure if i shd visit my cousin who migrated there anot. at first tot of going 5D F&E n stay at her place but gotta suit her timing coz she's always flying ard. air ticket to shanghai alone seems nt worth it also. so bk tour package instead. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 hangzhou u will see these....very calm and soothing place... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 hangzhou u will see these....very calm and soothing place... :wub: simply feel like going shanghai immediately liao !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 yah, we purposely chose end oct coz of the weather.. need to get away fm sunny s'pore it's a 5D Jiangnan (consist of Suzhou, Wuzhen, Hangzhou, Nanjing & Wuxi) + 3D F&E Shanghai tour.. nt sure if i shd visit my cousin who migrated there anot. at first tot of going 5D F&E n stay at her place but gotta suit her timing coz she's always flying ard. air ticket to shanghai alone seems nt worth it also. so bk tour package instead. Suzhou! Bedsheets, bedsheets and more silk bedsheets. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites