applefreak

Kitty's Cattery

for me both convenience and electricity consumption are important

if the convenience outweighs the consumption, i'll still take it

have microwave oven at home coz of the convenience

can you imagine without it, i'd have to do so many more steps to heat up something

save electricity but waste water, coz got to use pots and pans !!

Heehee, I come in Chap-Jik-Ka.....

Aircon---Neber install in living/dining but luckily our place is windy. Bght a small cute fan for $100+ n put on a small cute stool to rotate wind around the living n dining area, still cheaper than aircon in longrun. Now Im always screaming at hubby to switch off the aircon n lights when not in use becuz end of mth, the utility bill comes to us liao.... !! Planning to buy a tower fan for use when family comes around for steamboat....

Oven---Must haf! Me canot survive w/o microwave n hubby canot survive w/o his oven. I can cook everythg frm rice to vege to fish in microwave. Oven is useful for making toastbread n chkn n doesnt leave oily stain on floor (when u pan-fry). Dinno abt the elec consumptn though, thanks mace for the highlight !!

Gonna bring my old oven in n put 1 side on a small side-table.... No oven is like not bringing weapon to war.... :)

My new microwave still in my storeroom, still don hv a chance to use it. :dunno:

USE it!:bangwall: you will love the LOOK of the fast spinning wheel at your meter. !!

mace didi, ask you something about FS hor

the divider i'm supposed to have between the main door and windows hor

must be full height and wider than main door isit?

later going to gnee hong to see got anything suitable or not

better confirm the 'requirements' now :dunno: !! :bangwall::yamseng:

Hi all

thanks for all the thoughts... nice to hear what so many people think

Compassvale: u have a very good point, also thinking of putting aircon in living.. btw how often do u use it?

all have their points... still thinking ... considering hard... and looking at finances..

:dunno:

mace didi, ask you something about FS hor

the divider i'm supposed to have between the main door and windows hor

must be full height and wider than main door isit?

later going to gnee hong to see got anything suitable or not

better confirm the 'requirements' now :dunno: !! :bangwall::yamseng:

ya. meaning standing outside main door, you cant see the windows.

if gneehong ones not tall enough, then go www.justanthony.com , cos i saw beri TALL ones there but didnt ask how the muchie...

*nod nod* Chap jik-ka again....

I just install string curtains becuz of must-haf-divider thingy oso, my FSM said so...

Dunno if it fits description (Mace, must cannot see the window at all ah??).....

I thk string curtains quite cheap way to install divider and flexible too, if u dun like it next time, just tear away and do smething else......just a suggestion :)

Btw ur hse is all Oriencherry-wood rite? Mabbe u wan to consider installing a silk curtain type instead? The curtain lady recommended me to get my contractor to install a wooden plummet on ceiling (mabbe u can try wooden curtain rod?) n den hang a nice piece of silk from it (mabbe got oriental picture type?).....

but my hse not oriental style so I stick to the cheaper string curtain....

Dont mind me kpo, just a suggestion :bleah::)

but hor, if stand outside main door cannot see

doesn't mean it's taller than the door right?

as long as taller than the average person can liao

my main door is 82", but usually cabinets come in 78"

which is taller than the average person liao (eye level)

this kind can?

one more question, should the divider be nearer the door

or nearer to the windows?

*nod nod* Chap jik-ka again....

I just install string curtains becuz of must-haf-divider thingy oso, my FSM said so...

Dunno if it fits description (Mace, must cannot see the window at all ah??).....

I thk string curtains quite cheap way to install divider and flexible too, if u dun like it next time, just tear away and do smething else......just a suggestion :)

Btw ur hse is all Oriencherry-wood rite? Mabbe u wan to consider installing a silk curtain type instead? The curtain lady recommended me to get my contractor to install a wooden plummet on ceiling (mabbe u can try wooden curtain rod?) n den hang a nice piece of silk from it (mabbe got oriental picture type?).....

but my hse not oriental style so I stick to the cheaper string curtain....

Dont mind me kpo, just a suggestion :):)

not kaypoh lah, we are all here to share share and give suggestions mah :bleah:

dun know if curtains cut it or not?

if yes i'll go spotlight this wed and buy the material

spotlight having sale leh, and i can DIY the curtain :)

i seldom use microwave, only to heat up food

e.g. leftover prata or stuff

dun know how to cook with microwave :)

I teach u :)

Step 1) When u ta-bao food hor, keep the clear plastic box with cover

Step 2) Anything can be microwaved, so long as you keep it with the lid on, ar-bo it will "explode" n fly all over ur microwave n soon u will see a beautiful picture inside :)

Step 3) If it dries up the 1st time u cook in microwave, next time, put water inside 1st

Step 4) Buy plastic wrap. The microwave will normally come with a free glass plate/bowl. Put whatever u wan to cook inside, cover with plastic wrap n poke holes in the wrap

MOST IMPT

Step 5) If it doesnt cook in the 1st 10mins, take a chair, sit dwn in front of ur microwave, press another 5min n watch. If whatever inside ballons, press STOP. If it doesnt cook, press another 5min.

one more question, should the divider be nearer the door

or nearer to the windows?

not kaypoh lah, we are all here to share share and give suggestions mah :)

dun know if curtains cut it or not?

if yes i'll go spotlight this wed and buy the material

spotlight having sale leh, and i can DIY the curtain :bleah:

:D My FSM say curtains can le...or rather she said "lian" in chinese can, I take it dat all kinda curtains can lah....n she din say haf to touch ceiling le but MUST be wider than the door la. Mabbe Mace Bro can give mre clarifications on dat :D

Actually katong/geylang serai material cheaper than spotlight I thot (MIL say wan la, I neber compare). My string curtains is oni $80/piece. I use 2 pieces (go double so its not so transparent) n I got enuff to do another string curtain for my passage way. I would think it shd be nearer to door bah, not sure abt ur layout though :)

hehehe actually use one piece of string curtain can liao right

get those 3m x 3m ones :)

saw someone selling at SGB, but only the string curtain, no rod or installation...

hmm, i got meow meow lian dun know can or not :bleah:

Hi all

do most people install aircon for the living room?

thinking of doing that, but some say not use often and going to be wasteful..

what u all think??

:):bleah:

i oni haf aircon in the bedrooms n study. we dun foresee any need to haf aircon in the living+dining coz we dun always haf guest coming over. a standing or ceiling fan is enough liao. if install liao, tink 1yr also wun on more than 10times.

as our living+dining room forms a L-shape, it'll need a bigger BTU aircon or 2 aircon in order for the place to be cool lor. dat time saw the showflat at 299A put a bigger BTU aircon near the balcony (somewhere in the middle of the L-shape). dun look beri nice also. electricity beri expensive leh.

hehehe actually use one piece of string curtain can liao right

get those 3m x 3m ones :bleah:

saw someone selling at SGB, but only the string curtain, no rod or installation...

hmm, i got meow meow lian dun know can or not :)

Meow Meow lian even better for u la---House of cats mah :)

Mabbe u can hang string balls at the bottom of ur lian for ur catcats to play, hehehe :)

yup, 1 piece can liao actuali, 3.2m. length is cut urself wan.

Technically can be done urself if u have a rod or smething to drill n install onto ur ceiling

they just paste velcro all around the rod den sew velcro on the top portion of the string curtain n then paste on. The velcro veli strong type I thk.....tonite I upload picture... :)

i think a similar question will be,

do most people install ovens in the kitchen? may not use often and going to be wasteful.

think it's really a personal choice and how much this item will value-add your home/lifestyle ba....

items like aircon have to give it a thorough consideration, as it is something that is not easy to add-on

after the renovation without major pipings/trunkings going across your unit.

We considered 2 scenarios for our case:

1) if we installed living room aircon during the reno, but after the reno, realised that we never/seldom use it.

impact: minimal, as the cost of aircon is already in the reno that has been paid and the impact of the

higher reno cost would have been accepted mentally for some time liao. And not using the living room

aircon just means lower utility bills anyway.

2) if we did not installed living room aircon, but after the reno, decided that it is really not bad to install it

after all.

impact: much more, as there would be major trunkings/hackings done. and we would regret

*aiya, how come never do at the reno stage....regret liao*

then every now and then, when u have big family gatherings, a niggling thought may come to your mind like...

*maybe a living room aircon could be a little useful after all, aiya...should have done it*

reno sometimes is like this.......even a simple item never do, at the reno stage like not needed to keep the overall budget down...

but after the reno.....then really regret how come never just squeeze a little to do the item...hehehe

just like the case of ovens....maybe one whole year really do not really need to use the oven at all...

but just one or twice in a year you may think of baking something yourself, just an urge to do some baking.....

but..hehe...we dun have an oven :)

compassvale got a point here...

anyway.. mi n hubby haf lotsa regrets after reno...

Heehee, I come in Chap-Jik-Ka.....

Aircon---Neber install in living/dining but luckily our place is windy. Bght a small cute fan for $100+ n put on a small cute stool to rotate wind around the living n dining area, still cheaper than aircon in longrun. Now Im always screaming at hubby to switch off the aircon n lights when not in use becuz end of mth, the utility bill comes to us liao.... :) Planning to buy a tower fan for use when family comes around for steamboat....

Oven---Must haf! Me canot survive w/o microwave n hubby canot survive w/o his oven. I can cook everythg frm rice to vege to fish in microwave. Oven is useful for making toastbread n chkn n doesnt leave oily stain on floor (when u pan-fry). Dinno abt the elec consumptn though, thanks mace for the highlight :bleah:

Gonna bring my old oven in n put 1 side on a small side-table.... No oven is like not bringing weapon to war.... :)

lucky u!! i wanted an oven but my hubby said NO!!

i gave him the some reasons to get an oven, n here are his replies.

mi: i can bake cake for u to eat

HB: wan to eat cake, just go cake shop buy

mi: we can haf bake rice some times

HB: wan bake rice, go eat Swensens

mi: i wan to bake pineapple tarts during CNY

HB: go over to ur mum's place n bake with ur sis

now i tinking of using the $100 taka voucher i haf to get an electric oven or tell my GM i need an electric oven coz he said he wan to get me be-lated housewarming gift.