mist 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 huh? simi holder simi pole? shower?hehe.. dont understand whos pole slot where oso... hmm. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 no lah, that day patrick called to say the shower head holder cannot be fixed onto the rainshower poleso called the seller and the seller came down today with loads of thingsturn out the holder can be slotted onto the pole, just that got to unscrew something from the bottommaybe the plumber tried to slot it from the top? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 no lah, that day patrick called to say the shower head holder cannot be fixed onto the rainshower poleso called the seller and the seller came down today with loads of thingsturn out the holder can be slotted onto the pole, just that got to unscrew something from the bottommaybe the plumber tried to slot it from the top?yours is a special designer type shower?they installed mine without any problems leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mist 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 hehe sometimes the installation people also quite duh wan lor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 yours is a special designer type shower?they installed mine without any problems lehno leh, bought it off the internet at $200 maybe they never install this kind before btw, this one looks interestingyou think easy to use?http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:Telecont...tioner:17211788one call and come back to cool room hehe sometimes the installation people also quite duh wan lormaybe this plumber is not the one who did MaCe placethen hor, my switches also got problemkeep forgetting to tell patrick Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gendon 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 no lah, that day patrick called to say the shower head holder cannot be fixed onto the rainshower poleso called the seller and the seller came down today with loads of thingsturn out the holder can be slotted onto the pole, just that got to unscrew something from the bottommaybe the plumber tried to slot it from the top?Then plumber need to catch up on new designs and installation methods Which reminds me of my plumber when he got headache installing most of the bathroom accessories. Lucky my ID more ngiao than me An article to share with all: 6 Kitchen-Planning Myths (source: Kohler)"When planning a new kitchen or renovation, it pays to keep an open mind and learn all you can. That includes busting a few common myths about the planning process and its outcomes. Read on to benefit from some real-world examples from kitchen-design professionals:Myth #1: “I can add that easily at a later time.”“[My client] insisted she didn’t need a microwave,” says Juliana Caitlin, a designer in Jacksonville, FL. “But when her husband was transferred and they had to sell the house, the missing microwave was a big issue among potential buyers, even those who admired her gorgeous cabinets.”Designers say it’s best to add features to your new kitchen during, not after, renovation. Even if you’re not sure whether you’ll use a feature right away, prepare for its future installation by running cable and electrical lines. For example, one day, you, your growing kids, or a future homeowner may want a flat-screen television or a home-monitoring screen in the kitchen. Or, you may someday need more outlets on your counters and island.Homeowners should install a variety of kitchen lighting fixtures throughout the kitchen, especially under-cabinet lighting, since it illuminates counter top space far better than overhead lighting alone. Also, don’t forget to consider aging issues. Wall ovens and drawer-style dishwashers will prove a plus if you develop back problems down the road.Myth #2: “I’m not having any clutter in my new kitchen.”One homeowner recently ripped out her crowded pantry to make room for a lovely butler area with glass-front cabinets. “Now she doesn’t have a pantry—and no place to store everyday dry goods and cereals,” says Laurie Smith, a designer in Woodridge, IL. “She thought she could adapt, but how can she when there’s insufficient storage space?”Whether we like it or not, life is messy—in kitchens both new and old. That’s why adequate space to store it is essential. “The most common mistake among homeowners is that they want kitchens that open onto other rooms, and they don’t plan any upper storage for china and glassware,” Caitlin says. “There needs to be a balance between function and style.”Myth #3: “Bigger is always better.”Like so many homeowners, Ms. X finally got a massive kitchen for entertaining, but now she walks endlessly from one appliance to another. Caitlin says this is one mistake that homeowners have to live with for a long time, since kitchen renovations are done only once every 15 years or so. The solution, she says, is to install two sets of appliances, essentially integrating two work triangles into the kitchen area.Most designers urge their clients to choose quality over quantity when designing a kitchen, particularly if money is an issue. “If a homeowner is over-budget on a huge kitchen and is forced to opt for 2-cm granite rather than 3-cm granite with a pretty dropped edge, she will be reminded of that decision every time she enters the kitchen,” Caitlin says. Sarah Jenkins, a designer in Chevy Chase, MD, agrees, adding that it’s possible to entertain up to 40 people “without trauma” in a smaller, efficient kitchen.Myth #4: “I don’t need a designer.”Ms. X put her builder in charge of renovating the kitchen of her old house. Unfortunately, the builder failed to inspect above the ceiling prior to starting work. Eventually, Ms. X had to hire a designer to help deal with the oven hood protruding from her ceiling molding, visible duct work and a mishmash of cabinets of different sizes. A year later, the project still isn’t complete.Not every kitchen project requires a designer. But many of us need someone to help us see the big picture and oversee the entire project, including working within budget and coordinating the efforts of the architect and builder or contractor.Myth #5: “Yes, it will fit.”One client insisted on putting an island in her new condo kitchen, although there was clearly not enough room for it. “She’s trying to do what’s popular without any thought to whether it would work in the space,” Jenkins says. “Now, there’s barely room to stand behind it to use the counter and you can’t put anything on the adjacent wall except for a painting.”Human nature is tricky. We can unwittingly grow attached to our old appliances and end up with new refrigerators that are too small or with ovens that are short on burners. Or, we forget our physical limitations and opt for a sink bay window that’s too deep or an island that’s too huge to clean. Caitlin recommends that homeowners pay particular attention to aisle width, which should be between 42” and 48”. “If there’s too little space, you’re stuck if someone lowers the door of the oven, dishwasher or microwave,” she says.Myth #6: “I want what she has.” It’s tempting to follow the latest trends, but it pays to be practical. Do you really want your friend’s painted cabinets when they risk water damage near your sink? Will you tire of that popular granite color? Will you still love antique glazed cabinets in 10 years? Will that funky kitchen featured in that glossy magazine really work in your house?Considering the scope of a kitchen renovation, it’s best to proceed cautiously. “Homeowners get carried away when they see someone else’s home or a kitchen showroom,” says Jenkins. “They go bounding off and buy things without thinking of the rest of the house. Usually the kitchen is the first room they do during a home renovation and it dictates the colors for the rest of the house—for what seems like forever. It’s a huge investment.”------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 17, 2007 heng i got renotalkif not think will make quite a few mistakes highlighted aboveesp the island one Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 17, 2007 heng i got renotalkif not think will make quite a few mistakes highlighted aboveesp the island one I only got 1 Kitchen Planning Myth - which is a sub-category of the 1 Renovation Planning Myth.the moment we get the door keys to the new house - buy $100 big $100 small on the unit number.kena liao - simi problem also dont have liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 17, 2007 think some of it doesn't really apply to singapore contextmyth #1 is one of themhow many of us decide our purchase based on the microwave?most likely we'll just buy and hack everything away as for myth #6, think it applies to everywhere at homee.g. feature wall, wallpaper, pendant dining lights !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted August 17, 2007 I only got 1 Kitchen Planning Myth - which is a sub-category of the 1 Renovation Planning Myth.the moment we get the door keys to the new house - buy $100 big $100 small on the unit number.kena liao - simi problem also dont have liao dats a GOOD one!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 17, 2007 think some of it doesn't really apply to singapore contextmyth #1 is one of themhow many of us decide our purchase based on the microwave?most likely we'll just buy and hack everything away as for myth #6, think it applies to everywhere at homee.g. feature wall, wallpaper, pendant dining lights !!aiya it all boils down to MONEY - if your dad or mum says "hey daughter, take this $50,000 cash and do up your kitchen! Another $30k cash go do your toilets, oh forgot this $100k for your livingroom and another $100k for your MBR."What problem will you have huh? Most guidelines and myths are meant for people who have the $$$.But the cold hard fact is that most of us are tied with a certain "budgeted" budget. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 17, 2007 Then plumber need to catch up on new designs and installation methods Which reminds me of my plumber when he got headache installing most of the bathroom accessories. Lucky my ID more ngiao than me some cant blame them, besides working long hours everyday - they just dont have time to upgrade themselves. they may possess great workmanship but when come to new stuffs haiz..same case when I told a friend about electronic ballasts(energy saving) for fluorescent lamps - he called up his buddy who is a electrician for 20yrs. Over the phone, this Buddy says "NO good lah, lamp spoilts easily lah" - then I told my friend to ask his buddy "got energy saving halogen bulbs or not?". this buddy replied " no have lah, where got energy saving halogen bulb one, already beri energy saving lah!"1) if electronic ballast no good and causes lamps to spoil easily , philips and osram already bankrupt long time ago.2) then I show my friend this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 17, 2007 no lah, like myth #6some of us tend to go for what we find nice at our friend's placethat's why for a period of time, every house-warming i go to gives me a deja-vu feelingEVERYBODY got the L-shaped sofa, low tv console and feature wall behind, tic-tac door feature wall to hide HHS and standard 20ft kitchen cabinet with solid surface it's like everybody used only one ID and one drawing got money doesn't mean got taste okaybut i got no money AND no taste :rofl:talking about ballast, nan wah offer lifetime warranty for their ballast lehthey say coz only spoil once or twice for the life span of the light so they offer this as a freebie coz it's cheap to replacecan it be true? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 17, 2007 (edited) that's why for a period of time, every house-warming i go to gives me a deja-vu feelingEVERYBODY got the L-shaped sofa, low tv console and feature wall behind, tic-tac door feature wall to hide HHS and standard 20ft kitchen cabinet with solid surface it's like everybody used only one ID and one drawing same feeling here! all same same;no offense to those who have them -1) L shape sofa- sick and tired of seeing it. the trend is dying now.2) wrought iron gate- machiam de facto standard by HDB3) Refrigerator concrete base- who still washes their kitchen with BIG SPLASH FLOODs of water in this era ? my house is not a hawker centre, we are using a MOP!4) Side skirting for walls- I have enough of lizards in my parent's house. cos with the skirtings, there is always a gap between the wall and cabinets, desks....creating a HUGE playground and big house for lizards and spiders. Edited August 17, 2007 by MaCe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 17, 2007 talking about ballast, nan wah offer lifetime warranty for their ballast lehthey say coz only spoil once or twice for the life span of the light so they offer this as a freebie coz it's cheap to replacecan it be true? they dont produce their own ballast lah - either from philips or osram.ballast are cheap - most expensive i saw is around $35-$40.00 it's the labor charges that is expensive unless you know how to DIY.I am in the midst of replacing all my magnetic ballasts to electronic ones. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites