applefreak

Kitty's Cattery

eh what is 'real' kitchen tiles ah? those hdb-provided ceramic ones count or not? me got a s/s 40cm wok (can't remember brand but it's 5-ply) so if drop maybe will have a crater? :unsure:

eh what is 'real' kitchen tiles ah? those hdb-provided ceramic ones count or not? me got a s/s 40cm wok (can't remember brand but it's 5-ply) so if drop maybe will have a crater? :)

I think most tiles available in the market should be able to withstand shock...provided you go to those well-established tile company. Another thing that you may want to look into will be the country that produce the tiles...Made in China maybe questionable sometimes.

many pple used all kinds of tiles that meant for wall/living area in their kitchen.

ordinary kitchen tiles are tougher...but the makes/brand is a question though.

me still pondering if should change the kitchen tile

looking at the provided tiles, dun think can withstand anything, maybe not even a knock by a cup, let alone a wok :)

me still pondering if should change the kitchen tile

looking at the provided tiles, dun think can withstand anything, maybe not even a knock by a cup, let alone a wok :)

free one then dont change liao....hdb tiles should ok bah...

but the colour is really cmi :)

beige floor tiles with bluish grey wall tiles

thought of spray painting but it seems that it's not really suitable for kitchen

esp heavy users like me

colour of floor tiles

IMG_0286.jpg

colour of wall tiles

IMG_0288.jpg

Those are nice colours, very neutral BUT you must have the right colour combination for the carpentry to bring out the details and colours. Got those funny floral design on the tiles? HDB like those kind of tiles, yucks!

R u having an ID to renovate your home? Challenge him with the colours that you have in your home to come out something nice for you. All designers should be trained to tackle colour combination.

Edited by sumobear

but the colour is really cmi :curse:

thought of spray painting but it seems that it's not really suitable for kitchen

esp heavy users like me

colour of floor tiles

IMG_0286.jpg

colour of wall tiles

IMG_0288.jpg

Wah bian! Ur tiles are more nicer than mine (Fake Orange color) :help:

I heard my ID said he ever did a few hse with wall plaster over the kitchen tiles, so far no complain although they also do heavy cooking. Actually depend hw often u maintain ur kitchen tidiness. :~

my class is mon, wed and fri

hate the fri class esp coz it's like the weekend and still got to go school

somemore class ends around 9:45 :P

by the time reach home no need to do any other thing but sleep :bow:

updated my blog with the photos

either i'm too ngiao or my TO going blind liao :~

my classes are on mon n thur.. supposed to graduate in aug but coz i failed two papers (incl. re-sit papers), i muz re-module 2 subjects n graduate later!! :curse: my class fm 7pm-10pm leh.. but i skipped class occasionally coz too tired n the lecturer juz teach word by word fm their notes. :lol:

but the colour is really cmi :help:

esp heavy users like me

colour of floor tiles

IMG_0286.jpg

colour of wall tiles

IMG_0288.jpg

applefreak,

the kitchen wall tiles still alright la.. at first we wanted to overlay them and even chose the tiles liao but changed our mind later. coz our new dark grey floor tiles can match it... tink the most u change the floor tiles can liao la.. change wall tiles is more expensive than floor tiles coz the surface area is bigger.

Harlow applefreak, me had the same exact tiles as u for the kitchen walls.....can understand how u feel.....

my kitchen no flooring though as it's a standard unit.

But cuz mine got sme chip-off edges n we complain abt it n the hollowness of sme tiles, manage to get HDB to chg....but in the end hor, chg to a grey-ish-white tile oso (minus the flower la).....

actually hor, after u put kitchen cabinets liao, the walls not so significant liao (esp if u oso plan to put up backsplash)....

Most ID or contractor wld oso say dat the kitchen cabinets r the 1st items ppl see when they walk into ur kitchen, not the floor tiles bah.....

hmm, how hollow was your hollow tile?

my TO refused to change, saying that at least half must be hollow

if 1/4 hollow cannot change :curse:

come to think about it, you're right about the part people seeing the cabinets first, and also the cabinets covering the wall

my kitchen layout is one side all cabinets, the other side is fridge, table then sink support.

maybe not so bad hor :help:

hmm, how hollow was your hollow tile?

my TO refused to change, saying that at least half must be hollow

if 1/4 hollow cannot change :furious:

come to think about it, you're right about the part people seeing the cabinets first, and also the cabinets covering the wall

my kitchen layout is one side all cabinets, the other side is fridge, table then sink support.

maybe not so bad hor :unsure:

Try shouting at your tiles to check if there is any echo from the hollow ones...hehe (Ok, I am just trying to be corny on a friday afternoon)

Floor tiles very easy to check....roll coins over the floor and listen to the sound(Not sure if marble can or not, probably your neighbour staying downstair will freak out!). This is a technique that I had learned from my father-in-law's friend. The sound of hollow tiles will be different. Walls have to be knocked one by one to check...

actually i already knock all the tiles liao

got one is 1/4 hollow but TO refused to change

she say guideline is at least half hollow :furious:

i used $1 coin to check, my TO got this rod with metal ball at the end

I'm also looking to do some solar films on windows. So interested to learn more & hope someone can share some good lobang...

Applefreak, promoting your blog works... :furious:

me now busily digging for the post on solar films on windows.

remember saw the post somewhere but cant find it...

let me know if anyone of you come across it. thanks.