applefreak

Kitty's Cattery

thanks pencil for your suggestions :)

seems like box-up is the way to go, but dun know how much more it's gonna set me back :D

is my expenditure going to crept up to $40k? :dancingqueen:

You need to consider how long your aircon will last. In the event of an aircon disaster, you will have to pay to remove the boxup, fix the problem and do the boxup again. My boxup is limited to a 1 feet by 1/4 feet area just enough to make it look like part of the beam, but my ID was nice enough to do it for me as part of doing the false ceiling in the living room.

hehehe i went to the showflat partly bcoz i want to steal idea as to how to run the trunking

so asked a lot of questions. then we realised the trunking seems to run away from the MBR so asked the SA there, then he told us the compressor at the balcony. we were like :dancingqueen:

bluberi, it's okay lah

if my bf ask why am i spending additional amt again then i'll point him to this t-blog chat :D

but seriously, like what you have said, the kitchen tiles really cmi loh

really dun know what is wrong with the person who choose this colour

thanks pencil for your suggestions :)

seems like box-up is the way to go, but dun know how much more it's gonna set me back :~

is my expenditure going to crept up to $40k? :)

u saw my blog.. no trunking except for a small one in the study room. didn't box it up coz liddat my study room door got problem opening liao.

hmm, since u wun be selling the flat rite, maybe as well one time pay n do it swee swee.

I 'hide' some of my trunking inside my store room. The rest are just exposed but are stuck closely to the side of the walls or ceiling to minimize it from sticking out too much. Of course, make sure the aircon installer fill up all the gaps and you need the trunking to be painted so that they 'blend' into the background.

Oh.. and beware of the beams. Very irritating. I have a short stretch where the trunking had to go under one of my beams and I got my ID to box it up so that it looks like part of the beam.

hide in storeroom??? i tot we not supposed to hack the HHS?? or urs is the old HDB storeroom?

Hi Bluberi

is yr unit right at the end of yr level? went up there few wks ago, dunno whether is yr hse so nv went in to sae hi to u... if i'm not wrong yr is the one with white tiles right?

hi hi... tot u disappear liao. how's ur reno?

yes, u r rite... it's right at the end, next to the staircase lor..

tink either the 2nd or 4th floor unit EA is having reno, my floor nw 100% full liao.

very valid points, think better not try and 'hide' the trunking in case the pipes leak or what. taking the box-up apart cost money, worst will be those small leaks, not enough to drip out but coz the box-up to start rotting :dancingqueen:

will be meeting patrick this saturday, think will discuss with him about the kitchen tiles. you're right about the not-moving out part, so might as well do it once and for all. most to most take a 'friendly' loan from my bf :D

btw, how you run your air-con trunking?

will be getting the air-con down to install trunking soon

but heard about the horrible beams so wondering how best to camouflage the trunking (no false ceiling for me)

Harlow apple...

Yah, aircon trunking can b a nightmare. I just met up w air-con guy frm Hongtar on Sat to discuss aircon piping. Not sure if u order aircon oredi, but Hongtar is gd I find. They had total 3 visits, 1 to tell us how they will run the trunking so we can finalise our false ceiling design, 1 to run trunking (b4 electrical works but after any hacking), last visit to put up actual aircon unit after painting. They're oso cheap! :D

Depending on ur layout n wer u put e aircon, piping will b different.... After aircon-guy visit, I curse n swear dat hw come HDB got sooo many structural beams?!?! Ar-boil at hdb n wonder how they design oso..... :dancingqueen:

The aircon guy will need to see ur layout n advise u on how best to lay the gas pipe n water pipe for safety...No false ceiling will b hard to hide e pipes but if got problem in future, u wont haf to tear dwn false ceiling to solve prob oso, pros n cons bah.....

I haf sme structural beams across my passageway so the beam is lowered by abt 1-2in to cover e pipes (gotta tell contractor to box it up).....

Hope this helps u :)

hi hi... tot u disappear liao. how's ur reno?

yes, u r rite... it's right at the end, next to the staircase lor..

tink either the 2nd or 4th floor unit EA is having reno, my floor nw 100% full liao.

Start hacking tis wed... u moved n le rite... btw yr tiles is ceremic or homo... look like ceremic leh..

very valid points, think better not try and 'hide' the trunking in case the pipes leak or what. taking the box-up apart cost money, worst will be those small leaks, not enough to drip out but coz the box-up to start rotting :dancingqueen:

will be meeting patrick this saturday, think will discuss with him about the kitchen tiles. you're right about the not-moving out part, so might as well do it once and for all. most to most take a 'friendly' loan from my bf :D

haha.. we also got no intention of moving out in the near future.. maybe only when we are old old liao den downgrade to a smaller flat. dats y my hubby who initially wanted a budget reno of $20k was willing to spend twice the budget amt.

but i still nt beri satisfied, wan to change my balcony door next time...

me is the super kiasu person

already bought my air-con when i got my keys

come to think of it, i can't believe me too :D

bought a LG sys 3 non-inverter from besttech at $1650

the standard class 0 dun-noe-what-flex insulation, gr23 copper and unlimited piping with two trips...

spoke to patrick who said that my trunking got to run the length of BR2 coz of the structural beam between MBR and BR2

now will call the air-con guy to come down and see how.

not getting false ceiling coz already find the ceiling too low (my family members average 1.7 and above :~)

now come to think about it, think i went shopping-mad a little too early

some of the purchases i regret a bit coz might have gone for something better if i know i got more time to earn more money :)

but guess the prices i got back then can't be found now so some consolation there :dancingqueen:

Start hacking tis wed... u moved n le rite... btw yr tiles is ceremic or homo... look like ceremic leh..

juz moved in yesterday...

ceramic tiles, was changed by HDB last aug.. they wun be so kind to change to homo. how i wished they nv change it first, i'm willing top up n change to homo tiles. since they changed liao, we juz stick to it lor.. it's nt so awful like the old pink tiles.

juz moved in yesterday...

ceramic tiles, was changed by HDB last aug.. they wun be so kind to change to homo. how i wished they nv change it first, i'm willing top up n change to homo tiles. since they changed liao, we juz stick to it lor.. it's nt so awful like the old pink tiles.

ya lor.. mine is the old pink one.. so haf to spend to hack & change to homo tiles.. though kithen tiles didnt change due to budget... maybe will change it in near future, together with the bathrm tiles...

mi also budget liao... so the bathroom muz wait liao... no $$ for makeover.

you building kitchen cabinet right?

if so next time how to change the flr tiles?

me initially didn't want to change the flr tiles, but if now dun change next time very difficult to change liao so think maybe just go for it :dancingqueen:

as for the bathroom tiles, dun know should do anything to them or not

maybe if still got a bit left over, will get someone to spray paint them instead like some forummers here did :D

you building kitchen cabinet right?

if so next time how to change the flr tiles?

me initially didn't want to change the flr tiles, but if now dun change next time very difficult to change liao so think maybe just go for it :dancingqueen:

as for the bathroom tiles, dun know should do anything to them or not

maybe if still got a bit left over, will get someone to spray paint them instead like some forummers here did :D

cannot meh.. shd be can change even if got kitchen cabinet coz the cabinets are on the base mah..

nt sure how much it's gonna cost for the spray job.. but i got a quote to spray the kitchen wall tiles, it's abt $900. cheaper than overlaying which is abt $2.3k

coz i think the tiles will be on the base also mah

so if want to hack dun know will damage the cabinets or not

also, can't imagine living with the dust and dirt :dunno:

and no cooking!:blink: think i'll just starve to death just thinking about it :)

$900 to spray the kitchen walls quite okay leh

or maybe i can spray the kitchen floor

then every few years can change colour

hehehe :P

coz i think the tiles will be on the base also mah

so if want to hack dun know will damage the cabinets or not

also, can't imagine living with the dust and dirt :P

and no cooking!:notti: think i'll just starve to death just thinking about it 8|

$900 to spray the kitchen walls quite okay leh

or maybe i can spray the kitchen floor

then every few years can change colour

hehehe :lol:

haha... good idea, change colour every few years...

tink i'll spray the toilet tiles first... hate the MBR grey theme

maybe you can ask if got group discount or not?

then we can engage the same contractor to do the spray-painting if it's cheaper :notti:

btw, wanted to ask you about your switches

are they serving you well?

thinking of changing the switches as well

my list of wants just keep getting longer 8|:lol::P