applefreak

Kitty's Cattery

actually i oso don't know how to check my grouting lor.. what do u mean its uneven?? my walls are uneven.. i'll strangle vincent if he wants to handover on saturday with it like that..

anyone knows, is u handover than do defects or do defects than handover??

linda, HDB walls are all uneven.. unless u r willing for fork our $$ and get ur ID to do plastering for the whole house. tink my colleague paid close to $2k to plaster her 5rm. my ID quoted me $2.8k for plastering which i tink is too much liao. can spend the $$ for better things. i'll juz live with the uneven walls.

should ask HDB do the defects b4 handover... if it's sanitary ware n u dun intend to change to nicer ones, can change after handover.. like dat ur ID's workers wun get to use the new sanitary. i got HDB to change all b4 reno coz i dun wan to ask them to com back another time, plus they do things beri slow. end up i changed all my sanitary ware, i juz kept the new taps dat HDB changed for mi juz in case next time i need them. save $$ :deal:

but ur flat is re-sale? coz re-sale flat is not covered by HDB for defects.

applefreak,

tml u'll be at ur place??? i'll be over at my nest for the whole day... 10am till 8pm++ or even later. coz tml WINK coming at 10am to do my lotus de-cals, cleaning in the aftn and delivery of my leather sofa and fisher&paykel washing machine after 5pm. guess i'll bring my laptop over for some entertainment, but no internet access yet!:deal:

yes i'll be at my nest from 12 to at least 1:30

wah so envious leh, can go to your nest and prepare for shifting in

spoke to ms ng just now and she will get the key back from the tile contractor so that can do the rest of the defects

now come to think of it, no way i can shift in on 19 jun

coz still have the tv points, the door knobs, the WCs, the vanity top and most importantly - the tiles in the kitchen/tile :deal:

yes i'll be at my nest from 12 to at least 1:30

wah so envious leh, can go to your nest and prepare for shifting in

spoke to ms ng just now and she will get the key back from the tile contractor so that can do the rest of the defects

now come to think of it, no way i can shift in on 19 jun

coz still have the tv points, the door knobs, the WCs, the vanity top and most importantly - the tiles in the kitchen/tile :rolleyes:

applefreak, hope ur defects will be rectified soon so dat ur reno can begin.

to me, must rectify all defects before i takeover the unit loh

if i takeover liao they say i takeover means i accept die liao lah

so i will only take back my keys when i feel everything do swee swee liao

i oso don't know.. see how it goes.. i had a fren whom took e keys back den settle e defects coz she has a lot of appliances in liao.. mine too.. yesterday all my appliances and mattresses were delivered.. supposed to handover today.. but coz i not very happy with the wallpaper plus they had a issue with my mbr cushion headboard that had the electrician and carpentry guys yelling at one another yesterday morning.. my hubby whom was there was so stressed!!

i told vincent to delay everything.. coz today is painting, cleaning and curtain.. i wan to remove wallpapers in my study room.. looks awful.. so i told him if he arrange for painting people to come in today then i remove my wallpaper, they got to come back again next week to repaint the wall.. must well, remove le then arrange for painting.. curtain is the last thing, he says once curtain up then reno is complete..

but sad lor.. coz yesterday they were like 10 workers at my place and basically hitting into once another.. too many trades going on.. resulted in that firey quarrel as well as i find slip shod work.. the tilers oso came over to touch up some tiles but its not tiled straight.. a bit popping out.. then the wallpapers not synchronised.. like they nv paste in line with the next design.. a bit out.. dun noe if its me thats being so particular or sure not very in line one.. anyone got wallpaper experience?? can advise??

and worst of all, my carpet kena glue.. dont know whose the culprit.. quite a few places somemore.. :rolleyes:

linda, HDB walls are all uneven.. unless u r willing for fork our $$ and get ur ID to do plastering for the whole house. tink my colleague paid close to $2k to plaster her 5rm. my ID quoted me $2.8k for plastering which i tink is too much liao. can spend the $$ for better things. i'll juz live with the uneven walls.

should ask HDB do the defects b4 handover... if it's sanitary ware n u dun intend to change to nicer ones, can change after handover.. like dat ur ID's workers wun get to use the new sanitary. i got HDB to change all b4 reno coz i dun wan to ask them to com back another time, plus they do things beri slow. end up i changed all my sanitary ware, i juz kept the new taps dat HDB changed for mi juz in case next time i need them. save $$ :good:

but ur flat is re-sale? coz re-sale flat is not covered by HDB for defects.

no le, resale so its own pocket.. :good: vincent did chipson/plasterboard for my living wall coz it was going to be wallpapered and if the wall is uneven, after the dark wallpaper is up, the uneven-ness will be even more obvious..

ya la.. i havent use my toilet bowl the workers USING LIAO!! :dunno: but bo bian la.. if not oso no where to do.. hee.. den my hubby say, u think u buy new units, those bangala wun use yr toilet meh??

i oso don't know.. see how it goes.. i had a fren whom took e keys back den settle e defects coz she has a lot of appliances in liao.. mine too.. yesterday all my appliances and mattresses were delivered.. supposed to handover today.. but coz i not very happy with the wallpaper plus they had a issue with my mbr cushion headboard that had the electrician and carpentry guys yelling at one another yesterday morning.. my hubby whom was there was so stressed!!

i told vincent to delay everything.. coz today is painting, cleaning and curtain.. i wan to remove wallpapers in my study room.. looks awful.. so i told him if he arrange for painting people to come in today then i remove my wallpaper, they got to come back again next week to repaint the wall.. must well, remove le then arrange for painting.. curtain is the last thing, he says once curtain up then reno is complete..

but sad lor.. coz yesterday they were like 10 workers at my place and basically hitting into once another.. too many trades going on.. resulted in that firey quarrel as well as i find slip shod work.. the tilers oso came over to touch up some tiles but its not tiled straight.. a bit popping out.. then the wallpapers not synchronised.. like they nv paste in line with the next design.. a bit out.. dun noe if its me thats being so particular or sure not very in line one.. anyone got wallpaper experience?? can advise??

and worst of all, my carpet kena glue.. dont know whose the culprit.. quite a few places somemore.. :notti:

no le, resale so its own pocket.. :P vincent did chipson/plasterboard for my living wall coz it was going to be wallpapered and if the wall is uneven, after the dark wallpaper is up, the uneven-ness will be even more obvious..

ya la.. i havent use my toilet bowl the workers USING LIAO!! :lol: but bo bian la.. if not oso no where to do.. hee.. den my hubby say, u think u buy new units, those bangala wun use yr toilet meh??

wah, so happening over at ur place yesterday... no wonder ur hubby is stressed.

my new toilet bowl (nt the HDB koyak one) suffered the same fate, wat's lagi best is still got **** stucked on the side for days!:lol::P i called my ID once i saw dat n told him to get his workers to wash it off. they used my new toilet bowl still got the cheek to leave **** inside for me to see.

wah, so happening over at ur place yesterday... no wonder ur hubby is stressed.

my new toilet bowl (nt the HDB koyak one) suffered the same fate, wat's lagi best is still got **** stucked on the side for days!:notti::lol: i called my ID once i saw dat n told him to get his workers to wash it off. they used my new toilet bowl still got the cheek to leave **** inside for me to see.

happening lor.. happening until so many fireworks!! haha.. i nagged at vincent on his poor planning lor.. :lol:

i oso saw some **** on my toilet bowl lor.. but i pretend nv see.. so gross can.. then one or two days later not there le.. it pains me sia.. :P

LinDa - dear dear, so many things happening

hope everything is soughted out liao

must get your ID to settle everything first then takeover loh

the things still can come in mah, you've got the keys to the unit also right?

if not fully rectified dun pay the last 10% to him :P

Bluberi - they have sort of cleaned up the toilet bowl but the masking tape is still around. and the flushing is not really working well, the water does not cover up to the line. will only cover up to the line if i do a 'half-flush'. but how can expect me to remember to be gentle everything right? and it's a defect to me loh, so die die will make her rectify them.

went down to my nest today to meet three different contractors

first to arrive is the hdb tile contractor but i couldn't recognise him cos he cut his hair :P got my bf to deal with him. after that he called his worker and started shouting over the phone. a few minutes later the door contractor called me to ask me if it's okay for them to come by around 2pm. upon hearing that i was super pixxed :lol: already agreed to come by at 1pm and now can call me to say 2pm!:notti: passed the phone over to my bf (again) for him to deal with them.

after that finally met the 'legendary' ah keong from ho bee :)

he is really very nice and spent the next two hours explaining the different types of drawers, different ways of putting things and the technical difficulties of the kitchen. this is without me signing anything or payng any deposit :lol: at the end of the discussion, it was decided that instead of having the sink and stove in one straight line, the sink and stove will be opposite each other at different ends of the kitchen i.e. sink at the window and stove at the entrance side. can see the $$$ going and hear the cashier 'kaching kaching' while my money fly out of the window :(

well, i have been prepared to spend the most money in the kitchen coz it's a very important room to me. thinking of getting hdb to change my bedroom doors as well coz now that it's been taken down, can see the top cmi, uneven and not painted at all. if run my hands along the edge sure kenna cut one. took photos too but camera with my bf so will upload later.

happening lor.. happening until so many fireworks!! haha.. i nagged at vincent on his poor planning lor.. :notti:

i oso saw some **** on my toilet bowl lor.. but i pretend nv see.. so gross can.. then one or two days later not there le.. it pains me sia.. :lol:

i buay tahan lor, it was there for 3-4days.. can u imagine i saw it everyday coz i went to spot check every other day of the reno.

LinDa - dear dear, so many things happening

hope everything is soughted out liao

must get your ID to settle everything first then takeover loh

the things still can come in mah, you've got the keys to the unit also right?

if not fully rectified dun pay the last 10% to him :P

Bluberi - they have sort of cleaned up the toilet bowl but the masking tape is still around. and the flushing is not really working well, the water does not cover up to the line. will only cover up to the line if i do a 'half-flush'. but how can expect me to remember to be gentle everything right? and it's a defect to me loh, so die die will make her rectify them.

went down to my nest today to meet three different contractors

first to arrive is the hdb tile contractor but i couldn't recognise him cos he cut his hair :) got my bf to deal with him. after that he called his worker and started shouting over the phone. a few minutes later the door contractor called me to ask me if it's okay for them to come by around 2pm. upon hearing that i was super pixxed :lol: already agreed to come by at 1pm and now can call me to say 2pm!:notti: passed the phone over to my bf (again) for him to deal with them.

after that finally met the 'legendary' ah keong from ho bee :)

he is really very nice and spent the next two hours explaining the different types of drawers, different ways of putting things and the technical difficulties of the kitchen. this is without me signing anything or payng any deposit :P at the end of the discussion, it was decided that instead of having the sink and stove in one straight line, the sink and stove will be opposite each other at different ends of the kitchen i.e. sink at the window and stove at the entrance side. can see the $$$ going and hear the cashier 'kaching kaching' while my money fly out of the window :P

well, i have been prepared to spend the most money in the kitchen coz it's a very important room to me. thinking of getting hdb to change my bedroom doors as well coz now that it's been taken down, can see the top cmi, uneven and not painted at all. if run my hands along the edge sure kenna cut one. took photos too but camera with my bf so will upload later.

i'm oso perfectionist lei.. but sometimes i feel pai say for being so complainative.. i was also running my hands on a lot of things in my new house and find a number of things not even at my place.. :P

yr bf so sweet!! hehe.. but machiam its his and yr house can!! coz he's like settling this and that for u.. :(

haha, every change is usually upgrade so $$$.. hardly got change that is downgrade.. ask bluberri, we both busted our budgets by an astronomical amt (at least to a poor soul like me) lor!! :lol:

Edited by LinDa

hehehe, that's what bf is for mah

true about the upgrading part :lol:

now that i have more time to save money, maybe can think of what to add for the renovation. :notti:

hehehe, that's what bf is for mah

true about the upgrading part :lol:

now that i have more time to save money, maybe can think of what to add for the renovation. :notti:

now that i have more time to save money, maybe can think of what to add for the renovation - don't get u lei??

coz now can't move in 19 jun liao mah

rectifications more prob will finish only end jun

meaning my own renovation will only start in jul so more time to save money loh

:unsure:

coz now can't move in 19 jun liao mah

rectifications more prob will finish only end jun

meaning my own renovation will only start in jul so more time to save money loh

:unsure:

muahahaha.. now i see.. jia u jia u jia u ok.. but u very optimistic lor.. i will think 'oh no, more time to think of wat i want to do for the house and spend more $$'..

Edited by LinDa

Hi Applefreak,

See that you are comtemplating where to place the stove in your blog. Just want to share our experience with you since we have the same layout.

Our kitchen has the sink, stove and fridge are all in one line, just like your initial plans. Yes, the socket will be baked everytime you cook, so we shifted the socket left, nearer the fridge (which till now we have not plugged anything into the sockets yet, only used the sockets behind the fridge)

The available countertop space between the stove and sink is more than sufficient for our cooking use, maybe cos we are not heavy cooks :dunno:

Just thought that it's easier that you have sink and stove alongside, less messy when you cook (wun drip/drop things on the floor). And besides, it's good to maintain a "dry kitchen" side, where you have your tall cabinet and table.

dsc00119xu5.jpg

Edited by compassvale