compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 hi bluberi, of course! let wait till we all move into the units, we fix up one weekend evening for a after dinner tour of these 2 blocks.. hee.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 hi bluberi, of course! let wait till we all move into the units, we fix up one weekend evening for a after dinner tour of these 2 blocks.. hee..compassvale, u haven move in ar? tot ur reno completed long ago.. dat time i saw ur reno blog, ur reno uber nice! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 hi bluberi, good thing you didn't drop by todaythe tiler was still working and the noise of him cutting the tile is deafeningthink i'm half-deaf liao coz all doors closed so that neighbours dun complain i have absolutely no idea when i'll be moving in coz after the tiles are donems ng of hdb will arrange for the aluminium contractor to come change the window pane, then do an acid wash of the unit. if the stains on the kitchen/toilet tiles cannot be cleaned, hdb will hack and relay the affected areas. if the stains on the WCs cannot be cleaned, it will be changed after the hacking works are all done. after all these, then i can start my own renovation. only the supreme being will know when i'm moving in today went down to meet a few contractorsquite angry with the panggiap guy. the appt was at 2pm, called around 2:35 to tell me he lost my address and asked for it. told him no need to come liao.the one from wing shing was early and he quote me $970 for all grilles (excl toilets) with max. 3" gap.the other from another company quote me $1.1k for 3" gap, $1.3k for 2.5" gap and he was late. appt at 1:30pm, when i called up at 1:40 the guy had the guts to say he forgot. since i was waiting for the wing shing guy, just waited loh.so going with wing shing coz the guy quite sincere and the price is goodanyone can comment on their works?btw, will be hacking away all the bedrooms doors and framechanging to wooden onescoz the MBR door needs to be opened out into the passagewayand since doing one, might as well do all Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 hi bluberi, good thing you didn't drop by todaythe tiler was still working and the noise of him cutting the tile is deafeningthink i'm half-deaf liao coz all doors closed so that neighbours dun complain i have absolutely no idea when i'll be moving in coz after the tiles are donems ng of hdb will arrange for the aluminium contractor to come change the window pane, then do an acid wash of the unit. if the stains on the kitchen/toilet tiles cannot be cleaned, hdb will hack and relay the affected areas. if the stains on the WCs cannot be cleaned, it will be changed after the hacking works are all done. after all these, then i can start my own renovation. only the supreme being will know when i'm moving in today went down to meet a few contractorsquite angry with the panggiap guy. the appt was at 2pm, called around 2:35 to tell me he lost my address and asked for it. told him no need to come liao.the one from wing shing was early and he quote me $970 for all grilles (excl toilets) with max. 3" gap.the other from another company quote me $1.1k for 3" gap, $1.3k for 2.5" gap and he was late. appt at 1:30pm, when i called up at 1:40 the guy had the guts to say he forgot. since i was waiting for the wing shing guy, just waited loh.so going with wing shing coz the guy quite sincere and the price is goodanyone can comment on their works?btw, will be hacking away all the bedrooms doors and framechanging to wooden onescoz the MBR door needs to be opened out into the passagewayand since doing one, might as well do alldat time my place also super noisy, but my neighbours are close-door policy.. so i guess noisy or quiet they also hack care. no one complained to mi also. my door open big big somemore. hmm, i tink they sure got a way to remove the stains in the toilet n WC. mine got more than 30pcs of crack tiles n they still have the sames tiles to replace every single piece. same for the WC, dunno how they managed to removed the stupid stain away, anyway i still changed the WCs coz i dun like the colours given.oh, the pang giap guy ar.. dat time came to my mum place more than an hour late. but when he came to my place was punctual.. but the reply for my price enquiry of a certain design was real slow until i told the customer service guy who followed up with mi dat i need time to tink. i make them call mi several times den told them i dun need their service. i beri bad hor. coz my ID either matched or gave mi a lower price for the same things quoted by pang giap. how com u wan the bedroom doors to open out towards the passageway? wat if both MBR n bedroom 2 doors open at the same time, it'll knock against each other since they are just beside of each other mah.. i oni changed my bedroom doors to solid veneer with lever handle, a whooping $380 each. no need to change door frame. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 the panggiap people very bad one lohcalled me in the evening to apologise about his guy being late and ask to make another appt.when i told them i dun go down very often, he actually said this to me 'erm you have animals right? you also dun want anything to happen to them right?'i was like what do you mean by that? are you cursing my babies?so angry with them actually only MBR door will open into the passageway, coz need the space behind the door for my parents' two big wardrobe. but since changing one, might as well change all. also, another forummer told me that our unit wind quite strong and things rust very fast. so the door frames are all metal, better change now coz once the tiles are laid changing the frames will crack the tiles. luckily my bf reminded me that we need to change the doors...it's a very complicated process loh, firstly people who supply doors don't do hacking works. then the frame must be removed before the tiles are laid. my contractor is charging me $300 just to remove the frames and make good the walls. then the frames will cost me $120 each. and i will only know the door price when i go down to the place to choose the door sigh... more and more things to be donebut my salary seems to be stagnant leh, how??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LinDa 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 sigh... more and more things to be donebut my salary seems to be stagnant leh, how???sighs, same feeling on the above..i changed all my toilet and room doors but the frame only for my toilet (as it was bi-fold and i wanted normal doors so frame different) and MBR (as i moved the door forward).. son's room door frame remains, when i knocked it sounds like mental but those new frames r wood, don't know will look not uniformed anot coz the doors all face one another then later very ugly.. when i asked the ID, he says when painted all the same colour, looks the same one so don't waste money.. so i oso hopefully looks ok.. anyone got any experience on this??my common toilet door had to open outwards oso coz toilet too small.. hope no accidents.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 compassvale, u haven move in ar? tot ur reno completed long ago.. dat time i saw ur reno blog, ur reno uber nice!yupyup... reno finished since Aug 06, and moved in since Nov 06... Thanks for the compliments, our reno is just simple stuff, not much fancy designs. Trying very hard to keep it clutter free! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 my parents usually leave their door open so shouldn't have any problemframes changed bcoz the three bedroom doors are side-by-side, so might be a little more obviousso now compassvale has move in, bluberi most prob moving in after AD? me hoping to move in before 7th month. so likely our little gathering will be held in 7th month? then we can tell ghost stories liao... kekeke think bcoz of all the beams, the MBR is actually the smallest roomeven when compared to the study Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 the panggiap people very bad one lohcalled me in the evening to apologise about his guy being late and ask to make another appt.when i told them i dun go down very often, he actually said this to me 'erm you have animals right? you also dun want anything to happen to them right?'i was like what do you mean by that? are you cursing my babies?so angry with them actually only MBR door will open into the passageway, coz need the space behind the door for my parents' two big wardrobe. but since changing one, might as well change all. also, another forummer told me that our unit wind quite strong and things rust very fast. so the door frames are all metal, better change now coz once the tiles are laid changing the frames will crack the tiles. luckily my bf reminded me that we need to change the doors...it's a very complicated process loh, firstly people who supply doors don't do hacking works. then the frame must be removed before the tiles are laid. my contractor is charging me $300 just to remove the frames and make good the walls. then the frames will cost me $120 each. and i will only know the door price when i go down to the place to choose the door sigh... more and more things to be donebut my salary seems to be stagnant leh, how???Hi Applefreak, is it absolutely necessary to open the MBR outwards to accomodate the wardrobe? if the MBR occupant doesnt mind sleeping facing the door, then a huge wardrobe can be done in the MBR still. It sounds like pretty much cost incurred just to hack and replace door frames and changing doors.... For us, we are ok with sleeping with a third of the bed facing the door. .. we have a huge wardrobe and even halfheight cabinets for folded clothes. We did change our doors to solid veneer, at 180 each without lockset. All came as part of our reno package. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 went to the tangs sale just now,the cups that i was eyeing was on 50% saleit's three cups that can be stacked on top of one another, in cats printsso i quickly grabbed two sets, $14.90 each setso 50% discount means buy one get one free another good buy is a set of two cups and saucers at $5 (after discount)think bluberi should get a set. coz it's in moo moo prints Hi Applefreak, is it absolutely necessary to open the MBR outwards to accomodate the wardrobe? if the MBR occupant doesnt mind sleeping facing the door, then a huge wardrobe can be done in the MBR still. It sounds like pretty much cost incurred just to hack and replace door frames and changing doors.... For us, we are ok with sleeping with a third of the bed facing the door. .. we have a huge wardrobe and even halfheight cabinets for folded clothes. We did change our doors to solid veneer, at 180 each without lockset. All came as part of our reno package.not sure if we have the same layoutbut for my MBR, if bed face the door means head will be under windownot so good leh somemore evening sun comes in through the window so bed will become very hotalso bcoz of the two wardrobes, one is existing and we bought another oneboth are 1.6m wide and 0.6m deep so difficult to find spacethen the toilet door and window is right smack in the middle of the wall, so none of the wardrobe can be at either wall can't imagine how the HDB architects actually passed their exams... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 (edited) bluberi's handing over soon ya? guess once applefreak is done, we can do the mini gathering? and ooo.. i was at tangs just now too... and the sale explains why there was soooooooo many people... i just grabbed my karcher vacum cleaner and headed straight to the carpark to breathe!went to the tangs sale just now,the cups that i was eyeing was on 50% saleit's three cups that can be stacked on top of one another, in cats printsso i quickly grabbed two sets, $14.90 each setso 50% discount means buy one get one free another good buy is a set of two cups and saucers at $5 (after discount)think bluberi should get a set. coz it's in moo moo prints not sure if we have the same layoutbut for my MBR, if bed face the door means head will be under windownot so good leh somemore evening sun comes in through the window so bed will become very hotalso bcoz of the two wardrobes, one is existing and we bought another oneboth are 1.6m wide and 0.6m deep so difficult to find spacethen the toilet door and window is right smack in the middle of the wall, so none of the wardrobe can be at either wall can't imagine how the HDB architects actually passed their exams...yes, we have exactly the same layout and the same problems. But we dont really care abt bed orientation, so it's fine that we sleep with head under window. Yup you are right, afternoon sun comes in from that window, reaching a third of our bed. But as we are working during day, and also made total blockout curtains for that window, sun problem is not so evident for us. Agree with you that the MBR is a huge problem for us, and coz of that, we spent so much on carpentary for that room (second compared to our study)! Edited May 12, 2007 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 yupyup... reno finished since Aug 06, and moved in since Nov 06... Thanks for the compliments, our reno is just simple stuff, not much fancy designs. Trying very hard to keep it clutter free! i like ur toilet leh... my dream toilet!! i oni managed to pyscho my hubby into changing all the sanitary ware n let mi have a vanity cabinet in the MBR toilet. but my MIL nagged at mi for wasting $$. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 guess that's another reason why i'm rather reluctant to get marriedparents nag not enough, still got in-laws to nag i abit patang lah, somemore it's for my parentsdun want anything bad to happen to them lohmy own room dun have this kind of restrictionand good thing coz got one wall without beam, can put bed and look out through the full-ht windows Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 my parents usually leave their door open so shouldn't have any problemframes changed bcoz the three bedroom doors are side-by-side, so might be a little more obviousso now compassvale has move in, bluberi most prob moving in after AD? me hoping to move in before 7th month. so likely our little gathering will be held in 7th month? then we can tell ghost stories liao... kekeke think bcoz of all the beams, the MBR is actually the smallest roomeven when compared to the study applefreak, mi moving in b4 7th mth lah... provided nothings comes up unexpectedly.... ya lor.. i always complain to everyone dat my MBR is the smallest compare to the other rooms in the house. i like bedroom 2 coz it has the least beams. i so much wanted to hack the wall between the MBR and bedroom 2 to make it my MBR bedroom+WIW+private entertainment room but my hubby dun allow coz the value of our nest will drop. hmm, we are looking at staying there for long term, i dunno care abt the value lor. even the hacking of our study room wall took mi some time to pyscho him.the MBR slightly bigger than the study ba.. my fren and also the painter told mi it's better to have a bigger living room coz the bedrooms are oni for sleeping, no need to be so big. i tink we should consider ourselves lucky coz at least the rooms are not as small as those in HongKong.Hi Applefreak, is it absolutely necessary to open the MBR outwards to accomodate the wardrobe? if the MBR occupant doesnt mind sleeping facing the door, then a huge wardrobe can be done in the MBR still. It sounds like pretty much cost incurred just to hack and replace door frames and changing doors.... For us, we are ok with sleeping with a third of the bed facing the door. .. we have a huge wardrobe and even halfheight cabinets for folded clothes. We did change our doors to solid veneer, at 180 each without lockset. All came as part of our reno package.compassvale, ur solid veneer doors looked the same as mine leh, how com mine is $380.. am i cheated??? went to the tangs sale just now,the cups that i was eyeing was on 50% saleit's three cups that can be stacked on top of one another, in cats printsso i quickly grabbed two sets, $14.90 each setso 50% discount means buy one get one free another good buy is a set of two cups and saucers at $5 (after discount)think bluberi should get a set. coz it's in moo moo prints applefreak, u remember i like cows ar.. suddenly i remember i still got $20 tangs voucher haven use. can go tangs and get the cups. the sales is until when huh? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2007 not very sure until when but think tomorrow will definitely still haveyour blog is titled cow barn mah you will move in b4 before your AD or your AD is before 7th month?most likely i'll be the last to move inunless jaren is joining us... kekekenow downloading some pix i took todayactually it's just more of my tiles Share this post Link to post Share on other sites