bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 but if i take myself got to pay myself lehget married can ask husband to pay (that's why i'm still without one coz nobody wants to pay for me my current home the carpark is underneath the block, 3rd and 4th floor carpark and upstairs residential unitbut underground carpark, ummmmnow urgent search for window contractors, but problem is many dun do alumesh so quite difficult to find good and inexpensive onesmeeting up with one tomorrow so got to take half-day and rush downsigh... can't wait to move into my new place when everything is over aiyo, dun like dat say lah... u got bf rite?if really can't find the alumesh grille, maybe u compromise on the grilles lor... otherwise will affect the reno progress leh.today my nest doing final washing coz last sat the carpenters and painters were doing final touch-up. but i checked and found the painters missing out some areas nv touch-up or nv do a good job. haf feedback to my ID and ask him to get the painters to com again tis sat to do the touching up of the painting works. i'll supervise them. SP Service also coming to turn on the gas.i haf just signed up with Cisco on there SafaHomePlus package, $52.45/mth for 3yrs. shall haf it install within tis 2 weeks, but muz first get the tel line connected. we not gonna move in until jul/aug (b4 lunar 7th mth), so better put security system. dunno izit i kiasu+kiasi.. the whole 3rd storey of my block, nobody installed security system except mi. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 but but but grilles cannot compromise lehwait my babies jump out how? think i will follow and jump down when we first got this flat, we already agree that everything else can dun do but grilles is a must, and must be the type that prevents my babies from getting out.you all dun know, my babies all very naughty one, got chance only slip out of the unit got one time i go m'sia, come back me girl MIAturn out she squeeze out from the gap left in the grilles for us to open the louvre windows. less than 8cm leh, she also can squeeze out.how like this???so envy, soon you can stay over the weekend at your nest liaolike holiday chalet like that me still dun have to wait until whenhopefully the workers have at least started to prepare the floor for laying the tileswah this sat you super busy leh, got to supervise this and thatand SP services coming somemore...do you really feel that the security system is necessary?me most prob not getting coz my parents are home most of the timeand i've got very nice neighbours my neighbours also home most of the time so shouldn't be a problem Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 but but but grilles cannot compromise lehwait my babies jump out how? think i will follow and jump down when we first got this flat, we already agree that everything else can dun do but grilles is a must, and must be the type that prevents my babies from getting out.you all dun know, my babies all very naughty one, got chance only slip out of the unit got one time i go m'sia, come back me girl MIAturn out she squeeze out from the gap left in the grilles for us to open the louvre windows. less than 8cm leh, she also can squeeze out.how like this???so envy, soon you can stay over the weekend at your nest liaolike holiday chalet like that me still dun have to wait until whenhopefully the workers have at least started to prepare the floor for laying the tileswah this sat you super busy leh, got to supervise this and thatand SP services coming somemore...do you really feel that the security system is necessary?me most prob not getting coz my parents are home most of the timeand i've got very nice neighbours my neighbours also home most of the time so shouldn't be a problemoh.. i forgot u got cats leh... but nowadays really dun see grilles like the alumesh liao.. if rally dun haf how? u will custom make?ya lor, it's gonna be like a weekend chalet to us liao.to mi, the security system is a must coz oni my hubby n mi staying there.. oni at nite den we r at home. somemore my neighbours opp. n next door always close the door when they see ppl walking by.. like so scare ppl look into their house. both also haf dogs (2 and 1 respectively). so i better install juz in case lor... fm the lift to my doorstep, oni 1 family bother to open their door...and dats 3 units away at the corridor next to the rubbish chute. no friendly neighbours... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LinDa 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 (edited) Salesperson told me Samsung is not as good. That's my feel with the Samsung top loader as well...a little flimsy.i agree on the flimsy part, did try the door the last time i was at courts. my old washer is samsung, friends chip in as gift so very cheap nia, think $400. i use for last 6 yrs oso no problem. just gave away to another forummer when i moved to my parents place and getting new washer. hence, was considering buying back same brand. i thot LG and Samsung almost sama sama quality. hmmm, more food for thought. hais, times like this, i hope i married a courts washing machine cum dryer salesman. then he can do all the thinking. haha.. even my mango jacket that says 'dry-clean only' i also dump into the machine and washthe best part (or worst) is i will take all out and dump into the dryer i find our yard size quite okay coz my current home is a small 3-rm without yardso having any extra space seems goodmy whole family is smittened with the HUGE living room !! stylo lei! how i wish i dare lor. i not so gung-ho, dry clean one i will handwash if too broke that month to send for dry cleaning. outing one i put into those laundry bag and dump into washing machine. then those die die must handwash one, i feel very pek cek abt it one.. coz cannot hang dripping wet clothes outside later neighbours complain, cannot hang inside kitchen coz will wet the whole floor and cannot hang inside toilet coz no space..i oso use to stay in small 3-rm without yard so i know the smallness. looking forward to my bigger space too. oh yes forgot to mention that both my thomson and brandt are front-load technology in top load styleguess that's why my clothes can take it just realised that LinDa is using tiles from the same supplier as meand i realised that contractors are really earning a lot a lot from tilesthe retail price on the tile is $3.2psf, but after i told the salesperson i'm buying it myself i.e. not select then ask contractor come down and buy, she immediately drop the price to $3psf. further discussion and the price became $2.5psf. final price i got was $2.3psf for my 800 x 800 homo tilesanother thing i learned from this renovation is that there is actually no such thing as homogenous tiles. the name is porcelain tiles.what is front-load technology in top-load style, means those mental drums type but open from top?so those front-load technology in front-load style not as good?wa, so much difference ar?!? but then u lay the tiles how much u pay?yup, when they delivered the tiles, i saw the packaging outside says porcelain tiles, its just a nice title ba! haha..like in singapore we call chocolate fondue, in camera highlands where i went last dec, they call it chocolate steamboat! and its really just like steamboat ma. just we fanciful follow some other ang mo country call fondue. Edited May 7, 2007 by LinDa Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 oh.. i forgot u got cats leh... but nowadays really dun see grilles like the alumesh liao.. if rally dun haf how? u will custom make?ya lor, it's gonna be like a weekend chalet to us liao.to mi, the security system is a must coz oni my hubby n mi staying there.. oni at nite den we r at home. somemore my neighbours opp. n next door always close the door when they see ppl walking by.. like so scare ppl look into their house. both also haf dogs (2 and 1 respectively). so i better install juz in case lor... fm the lift to my doorstep, oni 1 family bother to open their door...and dats 3 units away at the corridor next to the rubbish chute. no friendly neighbours...tomorrow meeting the contractor also dun have alumeshbut he say can custom wrought iron ones, just dunno how much since alumesh will cost close to $2k anyway, will see how much he quote lohdie die must have, custom make also no choice actually we checked out the area before committing to this unitmet my next next door neighbour and had a good chat with her so i already know got friendly neighbour then last sat went down met my next door neighbour. she was very nice and kept inviting us to her place next time.these two neighbours door usually partly open, so good for meimmediately from the lift got a family with dog but will only bark at strangers so it's like many obstacles for bad pple !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LinDa 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 (edited) i know the condo at sengkang mrt has.. dun tink hdb will haf tis type of carparks ba..alamak again.. think its buangkok?? haha, the estate call corris or atris or something?? haven't built finish one.. underground carpark lei when i see the floor plan.. no meh?? i love underground parking..sorry ya girls, i is stay and study and almost work west side kampong for the last 26 yrs of my life.. ventured to the east (hougang) only for 2 yrs long long time ago as my first boyfriend stays there..so hor i get the areas there all mixed up.. sooper dooper soorry.. sumimasen!! Edited May 7, 2007 by LinDa Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 (edited) i agree on the flimsy part, did try the door the last time i was at courts. my old washer is samsung, friends chip in as gift so very cheap nia, think $400. i use for last 6 yrs oso no problem. just gave away to another forummer when i moved to my parents place and getting new washer. hence, was considering buying back same brand. i thot LG and Samsung almost sama sama quality. hmmm, more food for thought. hais, times like this, i hope i married a courts washing machine cum dryer salesman. then he can do all the thinking. haha.. for washing machines, as the technology is advancing by leaps and bounds, it's rather hard for lay pple like us to catch up. i go by experience and recommendations loh. that's why sticking to thomson/brandt stylo lei! how i wish i dare lor. i not so gung-ho, dry clean one i will handwash if too broke that month to send for dry cleaning. outing one i put into those laundry bag and dump into washing machine. but coz my toilet cannot hang, i always have a problem of hanging dripping wet clothes in my old flat. cannot hang outside later neighbours complain, cannot hang inside coz will wet the whole floor, pek cek one!actually the labels on the clothes are not exactly very correct. a better way would be to look at the material of the clothe and wash accordingly. that's why i dump all my clothes into the WM coz i know the material can take it !! what is front-load technology in top-load style, means those mental drums type but open from top?so those front-load technology in front-load style not as good?no lah, just that top-load style machines are much slimmer. mine is 40cm in width nia leh. front load technology as in the drum is front load style but the loading is actually from the top wa, so much difference ar?!? but then u lay the tiles how much u pay?yup, when they delivered the tiles, i saw the packaging outside says porcelain tiles, its just a nice title ba! haha..like in singapore we call chocolate fondue, in camera highlands where i went last dec, they call it chocolate steamboat! and its really just like steamboat ma. just we fanciful follow some other ang mo country call fondue.actually it's really porcelain tiles. that's why when i searched for homogenous tiles can't find much. but when i do for porcelain tiles, basically all the information comes out. it's termed homogenous coz of the quality i.e. homogenous throughout the entire tilemy tiles are laid by the HDB contractor coz my flat is premium (comes with floor tiles) but the tiles already cmi so HDB replacing them but with ceramic. so i top up for porcelain lor. initially contractor ask me to go hafary, but the selection there really limited Edited May 7, 2007 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LinDa 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 oic, wa, now i know more abt washing machines, going to impress my hubby the next time we go see washing machines..he keep saying i waste time in forum..haha.. so good, hdb lay.. i tink if i buy tiles only then lay hor, still got to engage contractor, almost the same ba..then still got to go do coodination coz i hacking walls all this..sighs, bo bian, pay more for the service ba..plus my ID oso think of the plumbing abit when laying tiles coz my kitchen sink is located on the somewhat island breakfast counter..good luck on yr alumesh search ya!!ey, i forget to tell u i'm oso tall tall clothes crumpled crumpled.. hahaha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 tomorrow meeting the contractor also dun have alumeshbut he say can custom wrought iron ones, just dunno how much since alumesh will cost close to $2k anyway, will see how much he quote lohdie die must have, custom make also no choice actually we checked out the area before committing to this unitmet my next next door neighbour and had a good chat with her so i already know got friendly neighbour then last sat went down met my next door neighbour. she was very nice and kept inviting us to her place next time.these two neighbours door usually partly open, so good for meimmediately from the lift got a family with dog but will only bark at strangers so it's like many obstacles for bad pple hmm, wrought iron is more expensive than aluminium. tink may cost $2k or more to custom-made ba..so good u got friendly neighbours, not like mine... close-down policy one. so far oni my opp. door neighbour's youngest daughter will say hello when she sees mi. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 oic, wa, now i know more abt washing machines, going to impress my hubby the next time we go see washing machines..he keep saying i waste time in forum..haha.. we will be getting this hitachi nano titanium 8kg - $493 onli.http://www.hitachiconsumer.com/sg/products...=635&tid=71so good u got friendly neighbours, not like mine... close-down policy one. so far oni my opp. door neighbour's youngest daughter will say hello when she sees mi.good/friendly neighbours very impt. lucky me, whole stretch same level all the neighbours are very friendly(old estate). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
oonik grl 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 good/friendly neighbours very impt. lucky me, whole stretch same level all the neighbours are very friendly(old estate).same as me.. my stretch there all quite friendly. when we first few days keep going to the house, they popped by to say hello. one of the neighbours even invited us to his house to take a look around.but there's 2 opposite us always close door one. never see their faces before... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 y oni mi got close-door policy neighbours not fair!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 (edited) y oni mi got close-door policy neighbours not fair!!maybe your timing not correct bahthe first neighbour we met was almost 11 plus at night liaoshe just came back and was looking at us coz we (my sis, her bf and me) was behaving a little suspicously outside the unit.so we went up to her and told her we are interested in the unitthen she started telling us about the neighbourhood, buses to places etcwe saw my next door neighbour last friday afternoon when she was returning to her unitmaybe weekends your neighbours all go out so nobody at home as for the grilles, no choice lohcoz aluminium customised will cost easily $15psf, comparable to wrought ironthen might as well take wrought iron haha, so now we have two tall tall clothes crumpled crumpledbut luckily we not in same neighbourhoodso if saw in SK it's me, if in JW it's LinDa some pix of my babiesmy domestic shorthair girl (from the streets)my domestic longhair boy (from SPCA)my burmese-cross boy (adopted from petshop) Edited May 8, 2007 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 wah!so many MEOW MEOW you got! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 that's why must get grilles they very cute horlove them to bits :notti: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites