applefreak

Kitty's Cattery

Just got the LG front load for $580; used it twice...not bad at all.

hey, i oso looking at LG front load, what is yr model?? rpm??

can i chk, is the gentle wash = handwash??

Got the LG frontload 7kg. Rpm 400-1000 (depending on the wash selection). They have selections for wool, delicate, and handwash. Others: Synthetic (1 and a half hours), cotton (2 and a half hours), quick 30 (for half loads), rinse and spin and drain.

Think the LG frontloads have more options/ better technology than the European ones and at a cheaper price.

Got the LG frontload 7kg. Rpm 400-1000 (depending on the wash selection). They have selections for wool, delicate, and handwash. Others: Synthetic (1 and a half hours), cotton (2 and a half hours), quick 30 (for half loads), rinse and spin and drain.

Think the LG frontloads have more options/ better technology than the European ones and at a cheaper price.

u think LG better or Samsung better har??

same country made in rite??

i think i should be ons LG with yr recommendation liao.. if u say good, i trust u!!

coz none i know uses LG so i was still hesitating.. :)

sorry applefreak, started a washing machine discussion in yr thread.. will move to our t-blog and continue, its my washing machine ma, pai say pai say..

Edited by LinDa

sighs, why i was reading this, i finally don't feel so alone, thought i'm the only one that went ga-ga and busted the reno budget (without electrical, furniture & furnishing).. initally was $25K, $30K, $40K and now its $45K.. haven't even receive my variation order yet.. told my ID not to give me a heart attack.. :) coz plus the rest of the stuffs, my reno total damage i now set aside is abt $70K.. *faints* (after vomitting blood) haha..

i love yr place's layout, when i was looking for a new flat last nov, i was thinking of buying yr area but by the time we decided no more units for chinese! so end up buy resale.. i love the 2 entrance kitchen, the balcony, the big yard!! :)

yr big tiles lay liao sure look very nice.. keep the photos coming in ya!! :D

i tot still got alot of EA units available at our cluster of blocks. so fast no chinese quota liao? mine was the first unit in the cluster of blocks to be booked, i nearly tot nobody wants to buy there coz i wait so long b4 someone also booked a unit. the last time i checked (tink in feb), abt 35units has been taken up. was looking at my opp block fm my balcony, out of the 16 units of EA facing my side.. oni 3 units has been taken up and got people staying. the rest all empty.

fyi, the yard is quite small.

no problem. think everyone of us have washing machine at home :P

me using thomson now, used to have brandt

love the mini size of thomson washers (40cm) so most prob will stick to this brand

front load is good coz uses less water, and i find that thomson/brandt is quite gentle on my clothes (i wash everything in WM, including those handwash-only clothes :P)

btw, i'm not married

my parents are my essential occupiers in order for me to apply for this unit :P

bluberi, actually i think our yard is quite reasonable liao

esp compared to those who has to 'make' a dry area in the already-small kitchen

but i do wish the kitchen can be bigger

LinDa, me is of another view (guess i'm a really weird person)

these are things you dun buy often, not like clothes

so i will always buy the best i can afford, like tiles and such

if i buy something that is my second choice, everytime i see that item i will not be the happiest coz i'll always think of my first choice and wish i've gotten it instead

of course not asking you to go and borrow money to buy lah

but if i cannot have my first choice, i'd rather wait and save loh

so will be using my old 29" CRT tv until i have enough to buy my 42" pioneer plasma :yamseng::D

no point getting a cheaper alternative but keep thinking 'how i wish' right?

one more thing to add, made-in and assembled refers to quite different things

made-in is a tag used when 70% (not sure of the %) of the components are made in a particular country

assembled in means the country where the components are put together to form the final product

so you may have a machine that the components are produced in one country and shipped to be assembled in another...

the above refers to cars, but not sure if washing machines /fridges are assembled in the same country as the component production

i find it quite small leh, coz dun seem to able to hang much clothes. the length of the bamboo pole will be quite short.

i tot still got alot of EA units available at our cluster of blocks. so fast no chinese quota liao? mine was the first unit in the cluster of blocks to be booked, i nearly tot nobody wants to buy there coz i wait so long b4 someone also booked a unit. the last time i checked (tink in feb), abt 35units has been taken up. was looking at my opp block fm my balcony, out of the 16 units of EA facing my side.. oni 3 units has been taken up and got people staying. the rest all empty.

fyi, the yard is quite small.

alamak, i tink the out of stock one is the one at sengkang mrt with underground parking..

for yrs, i tink left those very low units or unit no not nice one but still got a couple of chinese quota??

i old le, forget le lor, i remember something like tat.. heh.. :P

the pic yard looks quite big lei..

but got yard better than me no yard got to cut a space out for the yard ma..

no problem. think everyone of us have washing machine at home :P

me using thomson now, used to have brandt

love the mini size of thomson washers (40cm) so most prob will stick to this brand

front load is good coz uses less water, and i find that thomson/brandt is quite gentle on my clothes (i wash everything in WM, including those handwash-only clothes :P)

btw, i'm not married

my parents are my essential occupiers in order for me to apply for this unit :)

bluberi, actually i think our yard is quite reasonable liao

esp compared to those who has to 'make' a dry area in the already-small kitchen

but i do wish the kitchen can be bigger

LinDa, me is of another view (guess i'm a really weird person)

these are things you dun buy often, not like clothes

so i will always buy the best i can afford, like tiles and such

if i buy something that is my second choice, everytime i see that item i will not be the happiest coz i'll always think of my first choice and wish i've gotten it instead

of course not asking you to go and borrow money to buy lah

but if i cannot have my first choice, i'd rather wait and save loh

so will be using my old 29" CRT tv until i have enough to buy my 42" pioneer plasma :):D

no point getting a cheaper alternative but keep thinking 'how i wish' right?

one more thing to add, made-in and assembled refers to quite different things

made-in is a tag used when 70% (not sure of the %) of the components are made in a particular country

assembled in means the country where the components are put together to form the final product

so you may have a machine that the components are produced in one country and shipped to be assembled in another...

the above refers to cars, but not sure if washing machines /fridges are assembled in the same country as the component production

tks for the info.. i did not know that there's a difference.. at least wun get con by salesppl liao!!

u not weird, don't say that ya..

everyone has a different point of view..

that's what makes this world an interesting place, or else, we will all be like robots with the same configurations.. :)

hmm, wa, thomson/brandt so good?? i guess yi fen qian yi fen huo..

now u making me reconsider coz i oso always dump everything into my washer one..

then end up some clothes spoil, out of shape etc..

got to re-evaluate with hubby again le.. problem.. :yamseng:

heehee, i'm the kind that dun mind spending money for convenience (not too much lah) that's why been using thomson/brandt for all these while

all my clothes are washed in the machine coz really lazy to separate them, or handwash some of them

even my mango jacket that says 'dry-clean only' i also dump into the machine and wash

the best part (or worst) is i will take all out and dump into the dryer :D

lazy to even hang them out (except dresses coz hang liao not need to iron)

so next time you see a tall tall girl with crumpled clothes that's me liao

for my block, most EA units are taken but strangely it seems that they are not occupied. some you can see those old old flyers still around though the unit is no longer available according to HDB site...

i find our yard size quite okay coz my current home is a small 3-rm without yard

so having any extra space seems good

my whole family is smittened with the HUGE living room :yamseng::)

u think LG better or Samsung better har??

same country made in rite??

i think i should be ons LG with yr recommendation liao.. if u say good, i trust u!!

coz none i know uses LG so i was still hesitating.. :yamseng:

sorry applefreak, started a washing machine discussion in yr thread.. will move to our t-blog and continue, its my washing machine ma, pai say pai say..

Thanks for your hospitality, Applefreak. Bu ke qi le. :)

Salesperson told me Samsung is not as good. That's my feel with the Samsung top loader as well...a little flimsy. LG was highly recommended by my parents who have used theirs for 3 years without any problems. They prefer LG to Electrolux, the brand of their previous washer. Before Electrolux was AEG, one that lasted 10 to 15 years. But, my parents' philosophy has changed over the years; they now think that it's best not to spend too much on electronic appliances because technology moves very fast. So, in their opinion, it's better to get to replace a cheap washer that lasts for 5 years with a newer more advanced model than to get an expensive one twice the price that lasts for 10 years. LG's fine with me, so I just take their advice loh. :D Have switched from top load to front load to save the clothes from rough washing.

oh yes forgot to mention that both my thomson and brandt are front-load technology in top load style

guess that's why my clothes can take it :)

just realised that LinDa is using tiles from the same supplier as me

and i realised that contractors are really earning a lot a lot from tiles

the retail price on the tile is $3.2psf, but after i told the salesperson i'm buying it myself i.e. not select then ask contractor come down and buy, she immediately drop the price to $3psf. further discussion and the price became $2.5psf. final price i got was $2.3psf for my 800 x 800 homo tiles

another thing i learned from this renovation is that there is actually no such thing as homogenous tiles. the name is porcelain tiles. that's why can't find much when searching for homogenous tiles... but if type porcelain tiles, everything will come out from the production process, the various overseas suppliers etc :yamseng:

when it comes to washers, i just need something with variable temp and rpm for different purposes. so technology like nano-dunnowat, silver-dunnowat is something i won't pay for :D

alamak, i tink the out of stock one is the one at sengkang mrt with underground parking..

for yrs, i tink left those very low units or unit no not nice one but still got a couple of chinese quota??

i old le, forget le lor, i remember something like tat.. heh.. :yamseng:

the pic yard looks quite big lei..

but got yard better than me no yard got to cut a space out for the yard ma..

sengkang got HDB flats with underground carpark meh??? i dunno got leh...

u r rite, got yard better than no yard :) i should be contented liao.

heehee, i'm the kind that dun mind spending money for convenience (not too much lah) that's why been using thomson/brandt for all these while

all my clothes are washed in the machine coz really lazy to separate them, or handwash some of them

even my mango jacket that says 'dry-clean only' i also dump into the machine and wash

the best part (or worst) is i will take all out and dump into the dryer :notti:

lazy to even hang them out (except dresses coz hang liao not need to iron)

so next time you see a tall tall girl with crumpled clothes that's me liao

for my block, most EA units are taken but strangely it seems that they are not occupied. some you can see those old old flyers still around though the unit is no longer available according to HDB site...

i find our yard size quite okay coz my current home is a small 3-rm without yard

so having any extra space seems good

my whole family is smittened with the HUGE living room :jawdrop::(

Hi Applefreak,

yeah, the living room is really very very spacious.. on top of that, we have this pretty big area between the door and the living room, it was where my friends played Twister when they were here for chirstmas!

Guess the huge area is also partly coz of the balcony extension. It makes a difference, coz when we were choosing the unit, we visited some of our neighbours' units, which didnt do the balcony extension.

As for the EA units in our block, i think at least 50% have shifted in when i did my rounds in 2005.. not too sure on the situation recently though...

Edited by compassvale

sengkang got HDB flats with underground carpark meh??? i dunno got leh...

u r rite, got yard better than no yard :curse: i should be contented liao.

i only know the private apartment above the sengkang mrt nia

or the new ones coming up at buangkok mrt?

bluberi, how's your wedding preparation coming along

your gown in your avatar right?

very nice leh, sometimes i want to get married just so to have an excuse to wear something like that :)

horrible thought :yamseng:8|

i only know the private apartment above the sengkang mrt nia

or the new ones coming up at buangkok mrt?

bluberi, how's your wedding preparation coming along

your gown in your avatar right?

very nice leh, sometimes i want to get married just so to have an excuse to wear something like that !!

horrible thought !! :)

i know the condo at sengkang mrt has.. dun tink hdb will haf tis type of carparks ba..

my wedding preparation 7788 liao... oni waiting to haf the bridal shoot, official parents meeting, printing invites and haf the 'guo da li'.. finally the tea ceremony+banquet.

tink now quite common for some ladies to take wedding photo even if they nv get married.

but if i take myself got to pay myself leh

get married can ask husband to pay (that's why i'm still without one coz nobody wants to pay for me !!

my current home the carpark is underneath the block, 3rd and 4th floor carpark and upstairs residential unit

but underground carpark, ummmm

now urgent search for window contractors, but problem is many dun do alumesh so quite difficult to find good and inexpensive ones

meeting up with one tomorrow so got to take half-day and rush down

sigh... can't wait to move into my new place when everything is over !!