warzone

21-04-07_1309.jpg

total destruction

21-04-07_1311.jpg

tiles savaged by contractor

21-04-07_1310.jpg

new external facade of my block :dancingqueen:

21-04-07_1306.jpg

finally saw ur reno pics liao.. :furious: urs is starting n mine is ending. next mon/tue, my ID will handover our nest liao. juz now my hubby n i went to Home-Fix at Compasspoint n bought a Duro lock to standby already.

ur tiles beri nice, looked like marble leh.

hmm, the workers stay there meh? how com got soap n shaver leh?

Edited by bluberi

finally saw ur reno pics liao.. 8| urs is starting n mine is ending. next mon/tue, my ID will handover our nest liao. juz now my hubby n i went to Home-Fix at Compasspoint n bought a Duro lock to standby already.

ur tiles beri nice, looked like marble leh.

hmm, the workers stay there meh? how com got soap n shaver leh?

think they shower here

and charge their hp and whatever also

luckily didn't open utilities account, if not got to pay dunno how much :(

dun think they stay overnight though, went there quite a few times but didn't see them around

the tiles are love-at-first-sight

but considered for quite a while coz it'll cost more

and labour also got to pay extra coz need two person to lay this tile

wanted to go for the 600 x 600 of similar design but was 1/2 hr late and not enough left

so grind and go for the big big one :sport-smiley-004:

all in all it's an additional $3k - topup for tile price, additional labour charge and level up balcony.

thankfully the lady at the tile shop very nice, sold the tiles to me at $2.3psf

just $0.10psf more compared to the 600 x 600 brown one :D

hi applefreak,

can see my unit in this pic too 8|

love the new facade, looks so much brighter and less dowdy

initially my sis didn't want this cluster coz she said the flats look so old 8|

so happy with the new colours :D

glad that the blocks are repainted now.

yup, that was a minus point as we went about selecting also, almost wanted to get anchorvale side as the flats there looked much newer and in better condition even though built around the same period.

nonetheless, none of them had our kinda layout. very-unHDB-like dun you agree, 2 entrances/exit to the kitchen

It's either u love it or u don't kinda layout. Had suggested to my frens to consider the units here as well but some just don't like the layout... hehe

Edited by compassvale

glad that the blocks are repainted now.

yup, that was a minus point as we went about selecting also, almost wanted to get anchorvale side as the flats there looked much newer and in better condition even though built around the same period.

nonetheless, none of them had our kinda layout. very-unHDB-like dun you agree, 2 entrances/exit to the kitchen

It's either u love it or u don't kinda layout. Had suggested to my frens to consider the units here as well but some just don't like the layout... hehe

compassvale,

i agree the kitchen is beri un-HDB like coz of the 2 entrances. it's one of the main reasons we selected tis cluster i/o anchorvale.

same here, i chose this flat also bcoz of the two entrance

more photos to share

ready for tiling (hand a bit shaky coz too excited)

04-05-07_1837.jpg

mountains of cement and my dream tiles :D

04-05-07_1838.jpg

hacked balcony door

04-05-07_1839.jpg

mountain of sand in room

04-05-07_1840.jpg

Hi Applefreak,

See that you level your balcony too... have you arranged for windows to be installed? raining these couple of days.. so you may not want the rain to get onto your newly laid tiles...:D

yes yes totally forgot about it

think tomorrow must start calling for contractors

today called one, say it'll cost around $2k to do the grilles i want

if really can't find other than no choice got to pay loh

not many contractors do alumesh nowadays :D

yes yes totally forgot about it

think tomorrow must start calling for contractors

today called one, say it'll cost around $2k to do the grilles i want

if really can't find other than no choice got to pay loh

not many contractors do alumesh nowadays :D

applefreak, thur channel 8 got variety show called 'thriftking' (the title is something like dat la). one couple did wrought iron grilles n gate for the whole house at oni $1600 :) the whole episode tells u where to get nice furniture at cheaper price. u can download n watch the episode no.5 from MOBTV.

thanks for the heads up

watched that episode, only interested in the shop that sells the second-hand hotel stuff, think add is 153 jalan umpat but dun know where is that !!

have went down to wihardja several times, cheap but workmanship leaves much to be desired. had wanted to buy a low table with drawers but when i pull the whole drawer out, there are nails sticking out behind!:):D if want to buy from there must check and check and check somemore

the shop selling chairs also did not come across as cheap

find that the hosts very exaggerating...

but they didn't state which shop or industrial park they went to get the grilles :)

i went down to panggiap but the shop looks so messy and pple unfriendly so didn't venture inside.

most prob will just call and ask for the price psf before asking them to come down to measure and quote...

sighs, why i was reading this, i finally don't feel so alone, thought i'm the only one that went ga-ga and busted the reno budget (without electrical, furniture & furnishing).. initally was $25K, $30K, $40K and now its $45K.. haven't even receive my variation order yet.. told my ID not to give me a heart attack.. :notti: coz plus the rest of the stuffs, my reno total damage i now set aside is abt $70K.. *faints* (after vomitting blood) haha..

i love yr place's layout, when i was looking for a new flat last nov, i was thinking of buying yr area but by the time we decided no more units for chinese! so end up buy resale.. i love the 2 entrance kitchen, the balcony, the big yard!! :(

yr big tiles lay liao sure look very nice.. keep the photos coming in ya!! ;)

really no more ah? thank goodness got it when i did 8|

love the two entrance kitchen and the big living room

finally a place where the whole family can sit together and watch tv (now we do it separately coz living room too small and cluttered 8| )

kekeke, think all of us busted our budget

many things that we didn't even dream of are necessary to make the flat into our dream home

and sometimes when we go hunting we'll see things that we MUST have, like my rosewood furnitures :dribble:

went down to my flat again today but didn't take any photos coz nothing changed

just wanted to look at the tiles again :good::D

really no more ah? thank goodness got it when i did :)

love the two entrance kitchen and the big living room

finally a place where the whole family can sit together and watch tv (now we do it separately coz living room too small and cluttered :( )

kekeke, think all of us busted our budget

many things that we didn't even dream of are necessary to make the flat into our dream home

and sometimes when we go hunting we'll see things that we MUST have, like my rosewood furnitures :D

went down to my flat again today but didn't take any photos coz nothing changed

just wanted to look at the tiles again :) :)

when i saw the statistics again, still got units but chinese cannot buy le lor..

its the only only only only only time i wish i was a malay or indian..

haha.. :)

so u staying with yr whole in laws??

yaya, but i was reading some of other forummers post and their advice is 'do not think you need the best' and i try to remember it everytime i shop for something..

like i was buying my built-in oven, really want to buy teka one, but end up buy rinnai coz its like $400 cheaper..

then we are going to buy washing machine soon, wanted to buy brandt but now considering getting LG instead..

sighs, how i wish i married a RICH husband lei, den don't need worry abt $$..

haha.. i think all of u newly weds la so still lovey dovey and hubby is the best, i marry 6 yrs le so will habour such thoughts.. keke.. :P