applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 3, 2007 pix timemy tilesshaving tools?more of their shower 'toolswarzonetotal destructiontiles savaged by contractornew external facade of my block Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2007 (edited) finally saw ur reno pics liao.. urs is starting n mine is ending. next mon/tue, my ID will handover our nest liao. juz now my hubby n i went to Home-Fix at Compasspoint n bought a Duro lock to standby already. ur tiles beri nice, looked like marble leh.hmm, the workers stay there meh? how com got soap n shaver leh? Edited May 3, 2007 by bluberi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2007 (edited) hi applefreak,can see my unit in this pic too Edited May 3, 2007 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 4, 2007 (edited) finally saw ur reno pics liao.. urs is starting n mine is ending. next mon/tue, my ID will handover our nest liao. juz now my hubby n i went to Home-Fix at Compasspoint n bought a Duro lock to standby already. ur tiles beri nice, looked like marble leh.hmm, the workers stay there meh? how com got soap n shaver leh?think they shower hereand charge their hp and whatever alsoluckily didn't open utilities account, if not got to pay dunno how much dun think they stay overnight though, went there quite a few times but didn't see them aroundthe tiles are love-at-first-sightbut considered for quite a while coz it'll cost moreand labour also got to pay extra coz need two person to lay this tilewanted to go for the 600 x 600 of similar design but was 1/2 hr late and not enough leftso grind and go for the big big one all in all it's an additional $3k - topup for tile price, additional labour charge and level up balcony.thankfully the lady at the tile shop very nice, sold the tiles to me at $2.3psfjust $0.10psf more compared to the 600 x 600 brown one hi applefreak,can see my unit in this pic too love the new facade, looks so much brighter and less dowdyinitially my sis didn't want this cluster coz she said the flats look so old so happy with the new colours Edited May 4, 2007 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2007 (edited) glad that the blocks are repainted now.yup, that was a minus point as we went about selecting also, almost wanted to get anchorvale side as the flats there looked much newer and in better condition even though built around the same period. nonetheless, none of them had our kinda layout. very-unHDB-like dun you agree, 2 entrances/exit to the kitchenIt's either u love it or u don't kinda layout. Had suggested to my frens to consider the units here as well but some just don't like the layout... hehe Edited May 4, 2007 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2007 glad that the blocks are repainted now.yup, that was a minus point as we went about selecting also, almost wanted to get anchorvale side as the flats there looked much newer and in better condition even though built around the same period. nonetheless, none of them had our kinda layout. very-unHDB-like dun you agree, 2 entrances/exit to the kitchenIt's either u love it or u don't kinda layout. Had suggested to my frens to consider the units here as well but some just don't like the layout... hehecompassvale,i agree the kitchen is beri un-HDB like coz of the 2 entrances. it's one of the main reasons we selected tis cluster i/o anchorvale. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 4, 2007 same here, i chose this flat also bcoz of the two entrancemore photos to shareready for tiling (hand a bit shaky coz too excited)mountains of cement and my dream tiles hacked balcony doormountain of sand in room Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2007 Hi Applefreak, See that you level your balcony too... have you arranged for windows to be installed? raining these couple of days.. so you may not want the rain to get onto your newly laid tiles... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 4, 2007 yes yes totally forgot about itthink tomorrow must start calling for contractorstoday called one, say it'll cost around $2k to do the grilles i wantif really can't find other than no choice got to pay lohnot many contractors do alumesh nowadays Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2007 yes yes totally forgot about itthink tomorrow must start calling for contractorstoday called one, say it'll cost around $2k to do the grilles i wantif really can't find other than no choice got to pay lohnot many contractors do alumesh nowadays applefreak, thur channel 8 got variety show called 'thriftking' (the title is something like dat la). one couple did wrought iron grilles n gate for the whole house at oni $1600 the whole episode tells u where to get nice furniture at cheaper price. u can download n watch the episode no.5 from MOBTV. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 5, 2007 thanks for the heads upwatched that episode, only interested in the shop that sells the second-hand hotel stuff, think add is 153 jalan umpat but dun know where is that !!have went down to wihardja several times, cheap but workmanship leaves much to be desired. had wanted to buy a low table with drawers but when i pull the whole drawer out, there are nails sticking out behind! if want to buy from there must check and check and check somemorethe shop selling chairs also did not come across as cheapfind that the hosts very exaggerating...but they didn't state which shop or industrial park they went to get the grilles i went down to panggiap but the shop looks so messy and pple unfriendly so didn't venture inside.most prob will just call and ask for the price psf before asking them to come down to measure and quote... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LinDa 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2007 sighs, why i was reading this, i finally don't feel so alone, thought i'm the only one that went ga-ga and busted the reno budget (without electrical, furniture & furnishing).. initally was $25K, $30K, $40K and now its $45K.. haven't even receive my variation order yet.. told my ID not to give me a heart attack.. coz plus the rest of the stuffs, my reno total damage i now set aside is abt $70K.. *faints* (after vomitting blood) haha..i love yr place's layout, when i was looking for a new flat last nov, i was thinking of buying yr area but by the time we decided no more units for chinese! so end up buy resale.. i love the 2 entrance kitchen, the balcony, the big yard!! yr big tiles lay liao sure look very nice.. keep the photos coming in ya!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 5, 2007 really no more ah? thank goodness got it when i did love the two entrance kitchen and the big living roomfinally a place where the whole family can sit together and watch tv (now we do it separately coz living room too small and cluttered )kekeke, think all of us busted our budgetmany things that we didn't even dream of are necessary to make the flat into our dream homeand sometimes when we go hunting we'll see things that we MUST have, like my rosewood furnitures went down to my flat again today but didn't take any photos coz nothing changedjust wanted to look at the tiles again Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LinDa 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2007 really no more ah? thank goodness got it when i did love the two entrance kitchen and the big living roomfinally a place where the whole family can sit together and watch tv (now we do it separately coz living room too small and cluttered )kekeke, think all of us busted our budgetmany things that we didn't even dream of are necessary to make the flat into our dream homeand sometimes when we go hunting we'll see things that we MUST have, like my rosewood furnitures went down to my flat again today but didn't take any photos coz nothing changedjust wanted to look at the tiles again :)when i saw the statistics again, still got units but chinese cannot buy le lor..its the only only only only only time i wish i was a malay or indian..haha.. so u staying with yr whole in laws??yaya, but i was reading some of other forummers post and their advice is 'do not think you need the best' and i try to remember it everytime i shop for something..like i was buying my built-in oven, really want to buy teka one, but end up buy rinnai coz its like $400 cheaper..then we are going to buy washing machine soon, wanted to buy brandt but now considering getting LG instead..sighs, how i wish i married a RICH husband lei, den don't need worry abt $$..haha.. i think all of u newly weds la so still lovey dovey and hubby is the best, i marry 6 yrs le so will habour such thoughts.. keke.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Homeowner 1 Report post Posted May 5, 2007 Just got the LG front load for $580; used it twice...not bad at all. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites