applefreak

Kitty's Cattery

Hi Apple..undersand how you feel.. sometime when doing reno, very difficult to keep to an initial estimate expecially when u realise that there are some work that cannot be avioded.. only thing is to control needs and want .. haha easiler said than done.. But must make sure that all required wet work are done and then in the future when got more funds then can add on the wants.. My initial budget of $30K also busted long time ago..now more like to be at least 2.5 times after adding in the furnishing... bleeding but worth every cents to have a nice home for the family.. Hopefuuly can strike 4D, Toto, Big Sweep.. Hahahaha..

thanks everyone for your kind words and support

especially those who recommend their contractors to me when i was desperately looking for one

to console myself, actually didn't bust my budget of $10k

what busted the budget was the rose-wood furnitures and other unexpected expenditures like bedframe with storage headboard, ceiling fans etc

my reno quote is actually slightly less than $7k, and i budgeted about $3k for windows and grilles coz everyone i approached either does not carry the design i want or lion open big mouth - $15psf for aluminium grilles :D

hehehe, make you all put up with my self-deception but no choice loh, feeling guilty spending so much liao

now just can't wait to get my lappy back so that i can upload photos of my war zone and the new facade of my block :sport-smiley-004:

This is no self-deception...my budget was $20k for everything, in the end, hit $36k...bo bian :dancingqueen:. Luckily, we have old furniture to bring over...so furnishing will costs us only $360 (moving costs):sport-smiley-004:! Heheh!

actually only budgeted $10k initially coz thought will bring over all our old furniture. then my dad ask for new bookcase, my mum wanted new mahjong table and wardrobe...

thank goodness managed to save quite a bit on lights

total damaged $500 including installation for 13 lights except dining and my room coz going for ceiling fan in these two area :rolleyes:

Homeowner, which mover you using?

me looking for one that can dismantle and reassemble wardrobes leh

got any to recommend?

My inital reno budget was 20k....and then 25k...and now 30K! Die die must be 30k...or else no money to hold wedding lor!

mi 18k, 23k, 30k and finally 40k. already eating into some of our wedding funds :sport-smiley-018:

My inital reno budget was 20k....and then 25k...and now 30K! Die die must be 30k...or else no money to hold wedding lor!

just imagine WHERE you can go for 20k-30k....ride a reindeer during XMAS in Switzerland, ride a camel in Egypt, go round europe 2-3 times...etc :sport-smiley-018:

wow, MaCe you sure have a lot of ideas how to spend money :yamseng:

the reindeer ride sounds so romantic and interesting...

guess only when we really start sourcing for contractor/ID do we realise that there are a lot more things to be done then flooring and kitchen cabinets. every little item cost extra and all seem to be must-dos e.g. base for washer/cabinet, installation of hood/instant heater, windows for balcony/yard etc. all these are better done now than later.

hmmm, MaCe give so many ideas leh

should i paint my place on my own so that i can go ride camel???

:yamseng::lol:

Homeowner, which mover you using?

me looking for one that can dismantle and reassemble wardrobes leh

got any to recommend?

Am using Island Link Express ('cos they gave me the cheapest quote), but after reading a forumer's entry on another moving company (apparantly they broke some kitchen stuff already wrapped in newspaper), we decided to move all fragile items, e.g. glassware, crockery, ourselves. Moving on Thursday, will let you know how they perform at my blog. :(

wow, MaCe you sure have a lot of ideas how to spend money :P

the reindeer ride sounds so romantic and interesting...

hmmm, MaCe give so many ideas leh

should i paint my place on my own so that i can go ride camel???

:jawdrop::sport-smiley-004:

alamak....unless your painting costs $5k.....or else forget it....

ride camel = $5k

ride reindeer = around $6-7k

wah, $5k!!! all inclusive or just to ride the camel?

maybe other than painting myself, got to make kitchen cabinet myself too :rofl:

now just patiently waiting for hdb contractor to finish the tiling works

then will do another round of inspection to see what else need to be done

anyone has the experience of getting the hdb aluminium contractors do your windows at balcony/yard?

most packages to Egypt - $5k.. !!

why must look for hdb alum contractors? Any main con will do, ask patrick lor.

or are you refering to Licensed HDB contractor?

coz patrick's contractor dun have the grilles i want !!

now got to look for my own contractor to do the windows and grilles

quite like the windows in my rooms coz dun have the centre rod thing

so thought since they are coming down to change the glass pane might as well as them to do the windows as well

maybe will be cheaper as they have the stock liao mah

uniform look across board mah :rofl: