Homeowner 1 Report post Posted April 19, 2007 (edited) Applefreak, have you tried my contractor, Mr. Lim? Think his kitchen price is reasonable and worth it. No harm getting another quotation and no hacking permit fee! Edited April 19, 2007 by Homeowner Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2007 applefreak, the $100 is to hack both study wall or oni 1 side. how come hacking permit fee $250 so expensive? my ID nv charge mi for hacking permit leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Odielim 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2007 well that is the headache part of being ur own pck.. but u will gain quite abit on knowledge wise..if u want to save cost, u got to press on.. its tough but u can do it! dont give up! homeowner kitchen is nice Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
storeberry 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2007 Yah you tried calling my contractor as well? Its no harm having more choice but end of the day it boil down to which contractor you can click with & more comfortable with. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Homeowner 1 Report post Posted April 19, 2007 Agreed...it's too early to rule anyone out; but if you're happy with the price and contractor, please request to view his work and speak with the homeowners if possible ('cos need to know whether his quotation is reliable, whether he met his estimated schedule, whether he rectifies errors happily, etc.). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted April 20, 2007 oh dear, serious ah but didn't know where else to go coz those in chinatown is any recommendation where to get them at a lower price?will take your advice and check carefully when they deliver, what should i look out for? nails - anyhow hammered.the joints - not flushed.workmanship no very good nowadays.can check out Oriental handifcraft in henderson industrial park.or theres another one at bencoolen, opposite hotel81.i find their workmanshop so PRO and price is more reasonable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2007 applefreak, the $100 is to hack both study wall or oni 1 side. how come hacking permit fee $250 so expensive? my ID nv charge mi for hacking permit lehit's just to hack one side, think they charge permit fee coz they dun have their own permitneed to 'borrow' from another company that's why got to pay Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2007 nails - anyhow hammered.the joints - not flushed.workmanship no very good nowadays.can check out Oriental handifcraft in henderson industrial park.or theres another one at bencoolen, opposite hotel81.i find their workmanshop so PRO and price is more reasonable.argh, should have asked you much earlieralready paid 50% deposit that day, coz my parents like the furniture so muchheard of Oriental handicraft but lazy to go and check it out will pay more attention to the jointsas far as i can see, those pieces we picked have no nailsif have nails i reject, the money we pay is actually for the 'soon' joint Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted April 20, 2007 argh, should have asked you much earlieralready paid 50% deposit that day, coz my parents like the furniture so muchheard of Oriental handicraft but lazy to go and check it out will pay more attention to the jointsas far as i can see, those pieces we picked have no nailsif have nails i reject, the money we pay is actually for the 'soon' jointtry to arrange for MORE pple to check on the furnitures during delivery.more pple can spot more defects. get yur parents, all your aunties uncles. 2 times me n wife went to see their stuffs, HQ n somewhere.those on display...haiz...very poor workmanship yet wants to charge so much.4 out of 7 altar tables on display, the grooves were not even, left bigger than right...etcafter i found 1 rosewood chair(not special offer) with 3 nails anyhow hammered near the joints, I decide to leave.some pple told me if buy from sghandicraft, must buy their OLDER stuffs, not the new ones. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2007 heng ah, think those i bought not considered new baheven the salesman also commented that nobody buy such pieces nowadaysnow must starting praying that the pieces come defect freehad wanted to go down and pay the day before deliverylooks like i gotta hold on to my money until it's satisfactory Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2007 my tile contractor just called to inform me about the cost of laying homo tiles and level up the balcony.got to top up $1.35 psf so my unit needs 1250sqf of tiles = $1688cost of level up the balcony = $450total will cost me $2138 just for the rectificationreceived the final quote from patrick with all the correct itemsbut he is not able to find the kind of grilles i wantso i got to find my own aluminium contractormost prob will go for him since forummers have such high praise for himand most of my things are carpentry works Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Homeowner 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2007 Congrats on finding your contractor! Now, for the execution... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Odielim 0 Report post Posted April 20, 2007 that is great applefreak,u found someone! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ben3555 0 Report post Posted April 20, 2007 Apple..congrats..Patrick well recommended here and should not be a problem.. Is he doing all the work.?. I find the quotes you posted earlier on the high side and not reliable i.e have to pay to apply for permit..This should be free.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2007 the earlier price is by the tile contractor engaged by hdbthe permit is only free if the contractor doing the work is the permit holder, if not he need to find someone who has the permit to do the application thus the extra chargeit's a rather common practice which i believe hdb is aware of as wellso not hacking my walls coz of the stupid $250 permit feesfor patrick, he is not charging me any permit fee coz nothing i'm doing requires a permit.as soon as the hdb tile contractor finish up, i can meet patrick at my place for a final discussion before starting workhis price is really reasonable and most importantly - he is known to be responsible and ah keong is well-known for his carpentry skills btw, severely busted my budget coz didn't factor in the cost of upgrading to homo tiles and many misc itemsthink my budget of 10k is way too unrealistic, a closer figure now should be $20k-$22k Share this post Link to post Share on other sites