applefreak

Kitty's Cattery

Applefreak, have you tried my contractor, Mr. Lim? Think his kitchen price is reasonable and worth it. No harm getting another quotation and no hacking permit fee! :sport-smiley-003:

Edited by Homeowner

applefreak, the $100 is to hack both study wall or oni 1 side. how come hacking permit fee $250 so expensive? my ID nv charge mi for hacking permit leh

well that is the headache part of being ur own pck.. but u will gain quite abit on knowledge wise..

if u want to save cost, u got to press on.. its tough but u can do it! dont give up!

homeowner kitchen is nice :sport-smiley-003:

Yah you tried calling my contractor as well? Its no harm having more choice but end of the day it boil down to which contractor you can click with & more comfortable with. :dunno:

Agreed...it's too early to rule anyone out; but if you're happy with the price and contractor, please request to view his work and speak with the homeowners if possible ('cos need to know whether his quotation is reliable, whether he met his estimated schedule, whether he rectifies errors happily, etc.).

oh dear, serious ah :thumbs up::)

but didn't know where else to go coz those in chinatown is :)

any recommendation where to get them at a lower price?

will take your advice and check carefully when they deliver, what should i look out for? :P:P

nails - anyhow hammered.

the joints - not flushed.

workmanship no very good nowadays.

can check out Oriental handifcraft in henderson industrial park.

or theres another one at bencoolen, opposite hotel81.

i find their workmanshop so PRO and price is more reasonable.

applefreak, the $100 is to hack both study wall or oni 1 side. how come hacking permit fee $250 so expensive? my ID nv charge mi for hacking permit leh

it's just to hack one side, think they charge permit fee coz they dun have their own permit

need to 'borrow' from another company that's why got to pay

nails - anyhow hammered.

the joints - not flushed.

workmanship no very good nowadays.

can check out Oriental handifcraft in henderson industrial park.

or theres another one at bencoolen, opposite hotel81.

i find their workmanshop so PRO and price is more reasonable.

argh, should have asked you much earlier

already paid 50% deposit that day, coz my parents like the furniture so much

heard of Oriental handicraft but lazy to go and check it out :):bangwall:

will pay more attention to the joints

as far as i can see, those pieces we picked have no nails

if have nails i reject, the money we pay is actually for the 'soon' joint

argh, should have asked you much earlier

already paid 50% deposit that day, coz my parents like the furniture so much

heard of Oriental handicraft but lazy to go and check it out :):bangwall:

will pay more attention to the joints

as far as i can see, those pieces we picked have no nails

if have nails i reject, the money we pay is actually for the 'soon' joint

try to arrange for MORE pple to check on the furnitures during delivery.

more pple can spot more defects. get yur parents, all your aunties uncles.

2 times me n wife went to see their stuffs, HQ n somewhere.

those on display...haiz...very poor workmanship yet wants to charge so much.

4 out of 7 altar tables on display, the grooves were not even, left bigger than right...etc

after i found 1 rosewood chair(not special offer) with 3 nails anyhow hammered near the joints, I decide to leave.

some pple told me if buy from sghandicraft, must buy their OLDER stuffs, not the new ones.

heng ah, think those i bought not considered new bah

even the salesman also commented that nobody buy such pieces nowadays

now must starting praying that the pieces come defect free

had wanted to go down and pay the day before delivery

looks like i gotta hold on to my money until it's satisfactory

my tile contractor just called to inform me about the cost of laying homo tiles and level up the balcony.

got to top up $1.35 psf so my unit needs 1250sqf of tiles = $1688

cost of level up the balcony = $450

total will cost me $2138 just for the rectification

received the final quote from patrick with all the correct items

but he is not able to find the kind of grilles i want

so i got to find my own aluminium contractor

most prob will go for him since forummers have such high praise for him

and most of my things are carpentry works

Apple..congrats..Patrick well recommended here and should not be a problem.. Is he doing all the work.?. I find the quotes you posted earlier on the high side and not reliable i.e have to pay to apply for permit..This should be free..

the earlier price is by the tile contractor engaged by hdb

the permit is only free if the contractor doing the work is the permit holder, if not he need to find someone who has the permit to do the application thus the extra charge

it's a rather common practice which i believe hdb is aware of as well

so not hacking my walls coz of the stupid $250 permit fees

for patrick, he is not charging me any permit fee coz nothing i'm doing requires a permit.

as soon as the hdb tile contractor finish up, i can meet patrick at my place for a final discussion before starting work

his price is really reasonable and most importantly - he is known to be responsible and ah keong is well-known for his carpentry skills :jawdrop:

btw, severely busted my budget coz didn't factor in the cost of upgrading to homo tiles and many misc items

think my budget of 10k is way too unrealistic, a closer figure now should be $20k-$22k :sport-smiley-004: