karen77sg 0 Report post Posted March 6, 2007 Hi Folks,Just wanna ask...cos I forgotten to ask my FS master...When ladies come menses, can they offer joss sticks to their ownGuanyin at home? Many ppl told me actually is no problem.But I feel dirty leh...so dunno good or not to offer during menstruation.Please advise.....Thanks.! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
autumnzy 0 Report post Posted March 6, 2007 By right it's ok.. the one who's super offended by menses is the "da po gong"But if you feel not clean, simply wash your hands before you offer joss stick lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted March 7, 2007 Hi Folks,Just wanna ask...cos I forgotten to ask my FS master...When ladies come menses, can they offer joss sticks to their ownGuanyin at home? Many ppl told me actually is no problem.But I feel dirty leh...so dunno good or not to offer during menstruation.Please advise.....Thanks.! the ONLY TIME a lady(come m*****) cannot offer josssticks is on the day of AN SHEN, new-HOUSE MOVING. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
autumnzy 0 Report post Posted March 7, 2007 Ha hareally ma.. cos she feels "dirty" leh. So wash hands lor.. Cannot be everytime she wanna offer joss sticks, mus go shower meh? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
karen77sg 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2007 the ONLY TIME a lady(come m*****) cannot offer josssticks is on the day of AN SHEN, new-HOUSE MOVING.Thanks a lot! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
enci 1 Report post Posted May 2, 2007 Guan Yin 观音 which's sanskrit name is Avalokietsvara meaning one who percives the cries from this world, a popular bodhisattva 菩萨 in Buddhism which has often been mis-worshipped by Taoists and taoist temples, setting loads of restrictions which goes aganist the teachings of Buddhism. Guan Yin Pusa 观音菩萨 orignated from the 25th Chapter of Universal Door Lotus Sutra 妙法莲华经- 观世音菩萨普门品二十五. Guan Yin appears in the form of female in many cultures who worship him, especially in Chinese Buddhist Culture. Guan Yin Bodhisattva made 12 vows which mainly focused on blessing the world and relieving pain and sufferings to people who calls upon her name with pure faith n devotion. That is the main reason for it's popularity amongst Buddhists or even taoists. However, Guan Yin should not be framed up with superstitions such as that "it is not Ok to if one does not place an incense urner, or burning josspapars" since it was not a Buddhist concept in the beginning. A note to make, no one will be too "dirty" to make offering or pray to Guan Yin Bodhisattva even during menses which is a normal cycle in females. Nobody is too dirty for the Buddha and bodhisattvas to be blessed .... the impt thing, are yr minds and heart pure and clean ???? 南无本师释迦牟尼佛 南无大慈大悲观世音菩萨 。。。 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites