Enalyze 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 Got a flyer from Town Council saying of many complaints of dripping mops and clothes as well as wahing of windows. Moving in officially this weekend, is it really that bad?Btw, looks like the feedback to Town Council is quite effective, they are washing the blocks again today.In the first place, HDB flats are not meant to be money-making tools.Agree that HDB flats should not be money making tools since they are supposed to be public housing, but I'm sure there are always people out there who are making money out of these flats. Anyway, let's enjoy staying in Tanglin Halt for many many more years.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 (edited) My 2 cents' worth - our next generation may be writing what you wrote as above in 20 to 30 years' time and comment how cheap it is to own a house during their parents' generation (i.e. our generation). Cost and standard of living is rising at a unbelievable rate.I'm quite sure those days when our parents buy houses at 20 to 30K are definitely not earning as much as we do now (not that we are earning a lot; but at least we don go hungry yet not too full !!).What we should do now is to hope and earn money, should we decide to sell our Tanglin Halt flats in future. True case in point; my parents bought a 3-rm flat at $24K in 1993. They sold the flat at $122K in 1999. 400% increase within 6 years. I think all of us were around during this period; has our standard of living really increased by 400% since 1993?If my children were to be writing the same as what I had written, then it means my flat now can sell at $1.4mil in 2013 (400% increase in 6 years). Possible...?Thus its not just the standard of living that has increased, but the market (demand and supply) had pushed up the prices of the HDB flat. But instead of solving the problem at the root (ie restricting high resale prices), HDB chose to raise their new flats' prices and impose levies so that people like my parents will not profit anymore when they sell the flats.For awhile it SEEMED to have solved the problem; yes we really cannot profit anymore and HDB is in control of the prices. But in the long run (ie now), we are seeing the ill-effects where young couples cannot hardly afford their new flats. It was crazy for anyone to take a 30-yr loan during my parents' time, but today its very common, plus some of us even have to pay cash top-up monthly. So really, the situation is not the same as the past anymore...And the key is, while we can no longer earn money from selling our flats, the HDB is profiteering themselves. The same flat (in our estate) selling for $400K during the first ballot is now $520K, or a 30% increase within a year. For what reason?? Its anyone's guess... Edited January 18, 2008 by zirhk3355 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Enalyze 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 (edited) True case in point; my parents bought a 3-rm flat at $24K in 1993. They sold the flat at $122K in 1999. 400% increase within 6 years. I think all of us were around during this period; has our standard of living really increased by 400% since 1993?If my children were to be writing the same as what I had written, then it means my flat now can sell at $1.4mil in 2013 (400% increase in 6 years). Possible...?Thus its not just the standard of living that has increased, but the market (demand and supply) had pushed up the prices of the HDB flat. But instead of solving the problem at the root (ie restricting high resale prices), HDB chose to raise their new flats' prices and impose levies so that people like my parents will not profit anymore when they sell the flats.For awhile it SEEMED to have solved the problem; yes we really cannot profit anymore and HDB is in control of the prices. But in the long run (ie now), we are seeing the ill-effects where young couples cannot hardly afford their new flats.And the key is, while we can no longer earn money from selling our flats, the HDB is profiteering themselves. The same flat (in our estate) selling for $400K during the first ballot is now $520K, or a 30% increase within a year. For what reason?? Its anyone's guess... Mai so angry lah.... what for? hehehe.... might as well just enjoy what we have now... Edited January 18, 2008 by Enalyze Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 Mai so angry lah.... what for? hehehe.... might as well just enjoy what we have now...ya, want to burst my artery liao...haha...Well for me its ok lor, no need to cash top-up or whatever, but as you mentioned 'our children', that's made me really worried. What is going to happen to them...? Hmmz better go talk to my immigration agent soon... !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 Yes the TC is supposed to wash the block scheduled this week. GOOD job! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Enalyze 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 ya, want to burst my artery liao...haha...Well for me its ok lor, no need to cash top-up or whatever, but as you mentioned 'our children', that's made me really worried. What is going to happen to them...? Hmmz better go talk to my immigration agent soon... !! haha... was actually quite suprised to hear HDB releasing more units from Tanglin Halt as I have always thought that the take up rate is already @ 100%. More noise pollution coming your way? !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 haha... was actually quite suprised to hear HDB releasing more units from Tanglin Halt as I have always thought that the take up rate is already @ 100%. More noise pollution coming your way? !! Its true that most of the units were taken up, but not 100%, maybe like 99%. Why still got leh??Hmmz, tell you over kopi lah - post too much really will increase my blood pressure...cannot... !! Eh, so where's our kopi?? I think ah, kopi already become kopi-peng already... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Enalyze 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 Its true that most of the units were taken up, but not 100%, maybe like 99%. Why still got leh??Hmmz, tell you over kopi lah - post too much really will increase my blood pressure...cannot... !! Eh, so where's our kopi?? I think ah, kopi already become kopi-peng already...Aiyo.... v busy recently ley.... sibey sian.... Next tuesday dinner and kopi how? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 (edited) i maybe bitched with the following reply but these are my sincere thoughts and I am not biased to any org : )while we may b.i.t.c.h big time over the prices of public apartments in singapore, as a whole, we as singaporeans are one big bunch of lucky jokers, the ratio of food cost to income is low, ratio of public transportation to income is low, ratio of housing to income is moderate, ratio of cost of education to income is low (at least for local education) and of course lets ignore private vehicles as this is totally understandable with our land scarce island. we dont have to know much and far, just compare to our closest neighbours for the above mentioned ratios (i.e. Malaysia and Indonesia), you will realise my point. if you have had the opportunity to travel extensively to various parts of the world, you did appreciate how blessed we are.i would like to end with this food for thought: just imagine if our foreparents did not make a trip from china decades ago to singapore or maybe malaysia, we would not be where we are today. we probably be part of the bunch waiting for Olympics 2008 or riding bicycles to and fro daily amidst the smog : )i am sure very appreciative of where i am today despite our hot humid environment as i had jus and am still experiencing 1degreeC working/shopping/eating environment where heater isnt utilised due to poverty. Edited January 18, 2008 by deepakvali Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Enalyze 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 i maybe bitched with the following reply but these are my sincere thoughts and I am not biased to any org : )while we may b.i.t.c.h big time over the prices of public apartments in singapore, as a whole, we as singaporeans are one big bunch of lucky jokers, the ratio of food cost to income is low, ratio of public transportation to income is low, ratio of housing to income is moderate, ratio of cost of education to income is low (at least for local education) and of course lets ignore private vehicles as this is totally understandable with our land scarce island. we dont have to know much and far, just compare to our closest neighbours for the above mentioned ratios (i.e. Malaysia and Indonesia), you will realise my point. if you have had the opportunity to travel extensively to various parts of the world, you did appreciate how blessed we are.i would like to end with this food for thought: just imagine if our foreparents did not make a trip from china decades ago to singapore or maybe malaysia, we would not be where we are today. we probably be part of the bunch waiting for Olympics 2008 or riding bicycles to and fro daily amidst the smog : )Been to Philippines a couple of times and each time I come back, I really think that we are a lucky bunch.... India is even worse.... I only managed to survive 4 days instead of the scheduled 5... hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 Been to Philippines a couple of times and each time I come back, I really think that we are a lucky bunch.... India is even worse.... I only managed to survive 4 days instead of the scheduled 5... hahahahaha i am more blessed as i tend to survive all these rougher trips......how i did it? in my earlier singapore days, i was a very easy going on food hygiene (though i grumble alot of the quality and taste of food), food that drop on floor at home, i'd pick it and eat it (wo washing) hahaha, in public, food tat drops on tables, etc, i did still pick and eat it hahaha. sometimes i did eat with my hands without washing my hands too..... i know this makes me sound like a glut. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 Aiyo.... v busy recently ley.... sibey sian.... Next tuesday dinner and kopi how? Ok, onz! Ur reno start liao?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Enalyze 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 Ok, onz! Ur reno start liao??After new year then start..... now applying for permit.... gonna be stressed and busy liao.... hahahhahaha i am more blessed as i tend to survive all these rougher trips......how i did it? in my earlier singapore days, i was a very easy going on food hygiene (though i grumble alot of the quality and taste of food), food that drop on floor at home, i'd pick it and eat it (wo washing) hahaha, in public, food tat drops on tables, etc, i did still pick and eat it hahaha. sometimes i did eat with my hands without washing my hands too..... i know this makes me sound like a glut.Yah.... as the saying goes, la siap jiak la siap tua.... just that we are so pampered that our stomach can not take unclean water... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 i maybe bitched with the following reply but these are my sincere thoughts and I am not biased to any org : )while we may b.i.t.c.h big time over the prices of public apartments in singapore, as a whole, we as singaporeans are one big bunch of lucky jokers, the ratio of food cost to income is low, ratio of public transportation to income is low, ratio of housing to income is moderate, ratio of cost of education to income is low (at least for local education) and of course lets ignore private vehicles as this is totally understandable with our land scarce island. we dont have to know much and far, just compare to our closest neighbours for the above mentioned ratios (i.e. Malaysia and Indonesia), you will realise my point. if you have had the opportunity to travel extensively to various parts of the world, you did appreciate how blessed we are.i would like to end with this food for thought: just imagine if our foreparents did not make a trip from china decades ago to singapore or maybe malaysia, we would not be where we are today. we probably be part of the bunch waiting for Olympics 2008 or riding bicycles to and fro daily amidst the smog : )i am sure very appreciative of where i am today despite our hot humid environment as i had jus and am still experiencing 1degreeC working/shopping/eating environment where heater isnt utilised due to poverty.Erm not going to type alot this time, otherwise this thread will be very heavy.About standard of living, I did have my fair share of travelling to both fairer and worse countries, but in general I found that other places, their people have a CHOICE. For us, whether we run to Tuas or Changi or Woodlands, we still cannot stay out from the rat race.Like one of my foreign friend said, Singapore is a nice place, very stable economy, structured systems, etc, but nobody wants to grow old here. Your comparison is income is apt, because it shows that without income, there is really nothing else you can rely on.After new year then start..... now applying for permit.... gonna be stressed and busy liao.... hahahhaDun need stress; u need abit of bossing the workers around, just give me a call...hehe... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SPACE 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 Guess, there are many ppl who pulled out at the very last min thus tons of left over, it is kind of unfair for those who has applied during the first ballot n didn't managed to get it. Worse of all if they want to apply for a unit now, it costs more. Guess, most of us here should be thankful. Our flat value has rose so much within a yr! Imagine when the circle line is ready and 5 yrs down the road, central area flat will be even higher in value. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites