Cartoon Wayne 0 Report post Posted January 16, 2008 Oops, sorry too kan cheong to jio people...haha... You are having the same facing as me! Hmmz I also dun mind volunteering my home, but let's see if any fireworks' view people want to volunteer...hehe...CNY Lou Hei 2008Date: 16th Feb 08 / 17th Feb 08Venue: (TBC)Attendance List:1. Armani and Wifey (2 x adults)2. jule & hubby (2 x adults)3. sakae sushi & family ( 2 x adults, 1 x child)4. Cartoon Wayne & wifey ( 2 x adults)5. zirhk3355 & wifey ( 2 x adults)6. vineyard & wifey (2 x adults) tentatively, will give early warning if cannot make it7. skyspectrum & family (?? adults, ?? child) Pl update8. 9. 10.11.12.13.14.15.16.17.18.19.20.My Wife working on weekend so count mi in without my wife 1st...If at nite i think she should able to make it.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted January 16, 2008 But CNY not much fireworks. Usually at the River Hong Bao and only for a few minutes.Ya lah, but at least it forms part of our itinerary for the day mah. Otherwise we all end up in slouching in front of the TV, or the mahjong table. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted January 16, 2008 Ya lah, but at least it forms part of our itinerary for the day mah. Otherwise we all end up in slouching in front of the TV, or the mahjong table. Pls bring along your namecards to introduce ... hahaha .... why dont we put a notice at the notice board, inviting all to come .... hehehe ... register by emailing to your email zirh3355@hotmail.com?Good idea? Cos not all will be using renotalk to chat. What you tink? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HOME2BE 0 Report post Posted January 16, 2008 KIV, cos I've not move in yet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted January 16, 2008 (edited) Pls bring along your namecards to introduce ... hahaha .... why dont we put a notice at the notice board, inviting all to come .... hehehe ... register by emailing to your email zirh3355@hotmail.com?Good idea? Cos not all will be using renotalk to chat. What you tink?Actually we had toyed with the idea of putting up notices in the lifts, but guess people would probably not be very happy about so many ads, not forgetting the notices would probably be lost amist all the other commercial ads and flyers.Can also start a website, call something like www.88tanglin.com or something, where it can become a portal for all residents to use, be it for products, services, merchants, activities like gatherings, BBQs, etc. Can also act as information counter regarding crime rates, wanted criminals, missing pets, etc.Further, our children/teenagers would be terrified if we can list their photos on the web for neighbours to recognise and keep a watchout on each others' kids who play truant or sit at long john silver too long. Elderly/Needy people can have their family contacts and medical conditions listed (locked up with passwords and accessible by certain people only), so we can help when there is an emergency. Blah blah...alot of usages!But I guess this will take time, like who to do it, getting sponsorships from the merchants, maintenance of the website, event organisers, etc. Edited January 16, 2008 by zirhk3355 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jule 0 Report post Posted January 16, 2008 Actually we had toyed with the idea of putting up notices in the lifts, but guess people would probably not be very happy about so many ads, not forgetting the notices would probably be lost amist all the other commercial ads and flyers.Can also start a website, call something like www.88tanglin.com or something, where it can become a portal for all residents to use, be it for products, services, merchants, activities like gatherings, BBQs, etc. Can also act as information counter regarding crime rates, wanted criminals, missing pets, etc.Further, our children/teenagers would be terrified if we can list their photos on the web for neighbours to recognise and keep a watchout on each others' kids who play truant or sit at long john silver too long. Elderly/Needy people can have their family contacts and medical conditions listed (locked up with passwords and accessible by certain people only), so we can help when there is an emergency. Blah blah...alot of usages!But I guess this will take time, like who to do it, getting sponsorships from the merchants, maintenance of the website, event organisers, etc.Ha... i remember there was a WhoLivesNearYou websiteLike what?? !! true mahh.. But I not free that night mah... Ha.. not my MBR hor.... maybe my bedframe would have come by then. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted January 16, 2008 Ha... i remember there was a WhoLivesNearYou websiteBut I not free that night mah... Ha.. not my MBR hor.... maybe my bedframe would have come by then.Eh, I didn't say you leh?? Why so sensitive??Haha...got bedframe never mind, we all can help you dismantle, move it out and set up the table for food. But after that huh, assemble back is on your own...haha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
armani 0 Report post Posted January 16, 2008 hihi... i've created a mutiply webpage for all of us.http://tanglinhalt.multiply.com/just a suggestion.if there's a better website to use then feel free to create one k? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SPACE 0 Report post Posted January 16, 2008 spotted two rodents yesterday between the pavillion n the playground field and managed to capture one of them on camera. here is the pic: http://fedho.com/image/view/254 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 spotted two rodents yesterday between the pavillion n the playground field and managed to capture one of them on camera. here is the pic: http://fedho.com/image/view/254Good. Please send this to the TC. Think they need to cement the corners. Better for us too ...hihi... i've created a mutiply webpage for all of us.http://tanglinhalt.multiply.com/just a suggestion.if there's a better website to use then feel free to create one k?Hmm ... must be a member to login ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vineyard 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Actually we had toyed with the idea of putting up notices in the lifts, but guess people would probably not be very happy about so many ads, not forgetting the notices would probably be lost amist all the other commercial ads and flyers.Can also start a website, call something like www.88tanglin.com or something, where it can become a portal for all residents to use, be it for products, services, merchants, activities like gatherings, BBQs, etc. Can also act as information counter regarding crime rates, wanted criminals, missing pets, etc.Further, our children/teenagers would be terrified if we can list their photos on the web for neighbours to recognise and keep a watchout on each others' kids who play truant or sit at long john silver too long. Elderly/Needy people can have their family contacts and medical conditions listed (locked up with passwords and accessible by certain people only), so we can help when there is an emergency. Blah blah...alot of usages!But I guess this will take time, like who to do it, getting sponsorships from the merchants, maintenance of the website, event organisers, etc.Actually there are already quite a few websites that is dedicated to our neighbourhood (renotalk, sgbride, yahoo group, friendster etc). However the problem is that our neighbourhood seems to be quite small and the number of internet savvy guys/gals that frequently logs on are even smaller, esp. when everyone start to settle in and seldom log-on anymore. Then the effort to create this will be wasted and diminished in time. Unlike those bigger estate/development where the number is sustainable. Maybe its better to include the entire Tanglin Halt, but then.. it may invite unwanted attention from the wrong people...That said, it would still be nice that there is a way for everyone to stay connected, informed and know each other from door to door. I hate going into the lift with another neighbour but behaving like stranger and the silence is deafening.I would not mind hosting a website and sponsering for a great IP address, but how do we ensure participation? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Actually there are already quite a few websites that is dedicated to our neighbourhood (renotalk, sgbride, yahoo group, friendster etc). However the problem is that our neighbourhood seems to be quite small and the number of internet savvy guys/gals that frequently logs on are even smaller, esp. when everyone start to settle in and seldom log-on anymore. Then the effort to create this will be wasted and diminished in time. Unlike those bigger estate/development where the number is sustainable. Maybe its better to include the entire Tanglin Halt, but then.. it may invite unwanted attention from the wrong people...That said, it would still be nice that there is a way for everyone to stay connected, informed and know each other from door to door. I hate going into the lift with another neighbour but behaving like stranger and the silence is deafening.I would not mind hosting a website and sponsering for a great IP address, but how do we ensure participation?Wow, glad to have someone to share the same idea! For participation, its a chicken and egg story. If we have alot of goodies inside, eg members will get 10% off at sheng siong, you think people will participate or not? But on sheng siong side, if we do not have that many members to let them earn a reasonable profit, will they give that 10% discount?? Just like business lor, it takes time to build up, marketing and creating awareness. But the problem I always see in such initiatives is always the committee itself; being unpaid 'workers', they are only driven by passion. However, there will always been demanding people asking for this and that, so it will act on the committee's morals, 'chi li bu tao hao', eventually the committee members start to drop out and the whole thing will degenerate.Thus, its impt to establish a group of volunteers who are keen on the idea, passionate and will not be easily demoralised by unwanted comments/remarks. Any, erm...volunteers?? Hehe... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vineyard 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Wow, glad to have someone to share the same idea! For participation, its a chicken and egg story. If we have alot of goodies inside, eg members will get 10% off at sheng siong, you think people will participate or not? But on sheng siong side, if we do not have that many members to let them earn a reasonable profit, will they give that 10% discount?? Just like business lor, it takes time to build up, marketing and creating awareness. But the problem I always see in such initiatives is always the committee itself; being unpaid 'workers', they are only driven by passion. However, there will always been demanding people asking for this and that, so it will act on the committee's morals, 'chi li bu tao hao', eventually the committee members start to drop out and the whole thing will degenerate.Thus, its impt to establish a group of volunteers who are keen on the idea, passionate and will not be easily demoralised by unwanted comments/remarks. Any, erm...volunteers?? Hehe... haha count me as volunteer no. 2, if you are volunteer no. 1 Ha... i remember there was a WhoLivesNearYou websiteBut I not free that night mah... Ha.. not my MBR hor.... maybe my bedframe would have come by then.The wholivenearyou website cannot register blk 91's postal code of 142091. I wonder why. Have sent a comment to their webmaster about this few months ago, but no reply and until now still cannot sign up due to the postal code. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Our neighbourhood is open for balloting again. Surprising to see so many empty units still available in Blk 89 and 90 and the selling price has gone up by quite a lot.http://www101.hdb.gov.sg/hdbvsf/eampu01p.n...?open&ft=be Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 haha count me as volunteer no. 2, if you are volunteer no. 1 No numbers, please. All volunteers same same...hehe... anymore?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites