zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

Hi ALL , A very good evening to all .

JUS need to WARN everyone out there, theres a lighting shop called STRASS LIGHTING BALESTIER. They are CHEATS!:good:!:jawdrop:. We bought our lightings from them less a month ago, n its starting to blow. Kitchen one gone, Living two gone. Thats not it. When we bought PLC lights, we were told that if not bright enough ,can change. But that tall guy wont change for us. Never mind that ,they are LOUSY and INFERIOR quality.

DONT SAY I DIDNT WARN EVERYONE. We now have to spend extra money trying to replace those blown ones. We had heated argument with that owner but no use. We consumers in Spore always end up being losers unless we are lucky to find a good lighting shop.

1st, thanks for the information, it should be very helpful to many pple.

2nd, to make a light its very easy, to last, it not so easy. since you already got what was installed by these idiots, pls check all the ratings (ballast, starter, and more importantly lamp) and make sure they match, you may need to check up a few webstes (esp. phillips) or consider changing the whole set to electronic balllast including lamp (minus the starter as e.ballast dont need starter). it might be a blessing in disgust if you can change all to the correct rating.

PS: lamp is not cheap, electricity is worst.

hi all, sorry to impose... i'm from tpy's forum and need help, if any...

anyone going to Designer Lightings, along Balestier Rd to get your lights...if you are, please let me know via PM.

i've fancied another dining light from another shop, but i couldn't get a refund as we've made full payment. if possible, i would appreciate to receive your payment to Designer Lightings in replacement for the amount I've paid to them...before they deliver to my place for installation...

*desperate* :~:help::help::help:

Huh you all mean 5-rm flat the rates for utilities are more ex?? Or because 5-rm flat consume more energy??

BTW anyone will be at Tanglin halt on Sat or Sun?? Thinking of meeting up again leh...got to know two more owners, one is my new colleague (small world), another one is a forummer here, but think she doesn't post alot in this thread.

Come come and make them feel welcome in our 88 TANGLIN estate!!

Huh you all mean 5-rm flat the rates for utilities are more ex?? Or because 5-rm flat consume more energy??

BTW anyone will be at Tanglin halt on Sat or Sun?? Thinking of meeting up again leh...got to know two more owners, one is my new colleague (small world), another one is a forummer here, but think she doesn't post alot in this thread.

i'll be gng to new hse to wait for my gas turn-on on saturday ard 3.30pm.

maybe can make it for the meeting. :(

but i'm stayin at blk 91.

Hello,

I'm the new one from blk 91 mentioned by zirhk3355. I enjoy reading your posts and advices. Sorry, nothing to share since we're the last group getting the keys.

Plan to move in by March. Will invite you guys to see my place when the reno is about done. Look forward to meeting my new neighbors.

Edited by GTeton

Heee.. we will be there again.. installing my heater and other stuff.. Think Khriz sick of seeing us liao :bangwall:

I'll be painting on Saturday..probably will look and smell horrible. Anyone wants to meet me? :bangwall:

Ok, just kidding. I've got a question to ask about acid washing. My contract states acid washing, but I've been highlighted a few times that the acid wash might spoil my marble and timber flooring. Is that true? My friend told me the effect of the acid might not be seen immediately, but the detrimental effects of the acid wash on the marble flooring might show up later.

I've checked with my contractor before, he said the acid is very mild acid, just enough to suck out the dirt, which cannot be suck up easily by normal wahsing. (At least that's the impresion he gave). So, should I still go ahead with the acid washing, or is it possible for me to do the washing myself, and save the $180 he's charging?

Also, another question on the concealed electrical point for my wall fans. The electrician idea of concealing is to plug the pinhead on my existing point and conceal from there. He wants to charge $80 for each concealment.

My husband wants him to create a new switchpoint specially for the fan just beside the wall fan. The electrician said it's not possible to create a switch point so high up, just beside the wall fan. And he said if we want a new switch point, he has to charge more than $80.

Who is correct? My husband said the electrician idea of concealing our wall fan switch is very stupid. Haiz, today supposed to do the electrical works, now it's delayed again.

and watch out for those electrical air-port that boils water when temp. is down, if you plug in 24hrs = $$$ gone...

Not only waste electricity, I heard that this person's electrical airport never use for days, the water inside kept reboiling and reboiling, they didn't bother to off the switch, and the water turned black!

Anyone wants to do this experiment? :bangwall:

Woah, good think tomorrow will have quite a few people huh?? Shall we arrange for a time to meet, say 3pm at sheng siong or at koufu or something?

GTeton, just come along for a drink and introduce yourself lor; you can go see some of the neighbours' reno mah. Most of you staying at Blk 91, I am one of the odd one...hehe...

Also, another question on the concealed electrical point for my wall fans. The electrician idea of concealing is to plug the pinhead on my existing point and conceal from there. He wants to charge $80 for each concealment.

My husband wants him to create a new switchpoint specially for the fan just beside the wall fan. The electrician said it's not possible to create a switch point so high up, just beside the wall fan. And he said if we want a new switch point, he has to charge more than $80.

Who is correct? My husband said the electrician idea of concealing our wall fan switch is very stupid. Haiz, today supposed to do the electrical works, now it's delayed again.

Erm, concealing wires is against HDB's regulations hor...

Your contractor is probably trying to play safe and not tamper with the original switchpoint provided by HDB; but it would be very ugly lor. Imagine the pinhead and wire on the switchpoint, then the wire suddenly disappear into the wall.

Lastly, is there any beam at the top where you want the switchpoint to be? If so then maybe cannot hack lor, so cannot put there. But if there is no beam, then I think its just an excuse for him to be lazy lah; it very tedious to hack a line to conceal the wire, somemore so high up.

GTeton, just come along for a drink and introduce yourself lor; you can go see some of the neighbours' reno mah. Most of you staying at Blk 91, I am one of the odd one...hehe...

Erm, concealing wires is against HDB's regulations hor...

odd meh? :thumbs up: me olso 89.... its not odd its call "bo bian" kena cheated by men in white :sport-smiley-004: boss, give me a call or sms 2molo. if free i jump down !!

Will be at our place to do some cleaning and workers coming to redo grouting... Blk 91 #25.