zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

Need to check with y'all, I'm doing concealed wiring, my electrician wants to charge me $100 per point, is that considered expensive? Doing a total of 4 concealed points.

Not really sure if it is expensive but our ID charges us one lump sum for our electrical wiring and lighting installation. Besides retaining some of the original HDB switches and power points, we shifted and added quite a number of switches and power pts, and they are all concealed (shhhh...). We also changed all the "MK" switches and sockets. All in all, happy with the electrical work and the hassle of co-ordination.

Oh i cross that traffice light every morning to the bus stop opposite. And yes, i am always very careful with it because sometime the driver maybe blocked by buses or just distracted by phone ringing etc, that they may miss the light since its a nice big straight road. Of course this is no excuse, but just have to be careful.

I myself did an e-stop many years ago due to the same situation. Forcing the pedestrain to just jump back. He look shocked/speeachless and i have to appologise profusely. !!

Agree that this traffic light is a bit "camouflage". Especially since the road is straight, it is always tempting for people to speed and not knowing there is a traffice light crossing.

Anybody saw rats running around blk 91 n 91a the pavilion? Just aw it last week n this afternoon. Wrote in to town concil n hope they will do soemthing abt it ;)

Yah, I saw them running around the grass patches too. They are quite young, not those big big ones but still ministry of environment must control a bit. !!

Not really sure if it is expensive but our ID charges us one lump sum for our electrical wiring and lighting installation. Besides retaining some of the original HDB switches and power points, we shifted and added quite a number of switches and power pts, and they are all concealed (shhhh...). We also changed all the "MK" switches and sockets. All in all, happy with the electrical work and the hassle of co-ordination.

Agree that this traffic light is a bit "camouflage". Especially since the road is straight, it is always tempting for people to speed and not knowing there is a traffice light crossing.

Wondering.. for those who extend or shift your TV Point, how is it done ???

For ours, our electrician tapped from the original TV point but he said not to seal off the original pt cos when later on SCV come to activate the cable TV, they will need to do it from the original pt.

Cannot really see clearly from the pictures below, but the wiring is running from the original TV pt to the new TV point. Still not sure if it is ok cos have not move in and test it out yet. :)

040le6.jpg

175lu4.jpg

177ht9.jpg

For ours, our electrician tapped from the original TV point but he said not to seal off the original pt cos when later on SCV come to activate the cable TV, they will need to do it from the original pt.

Cannot really see clearly from the pictures below, but the wiring is running from the original TV pt to the new TV point. Still not sure if it is ok cos have not move in and test it out yet. !!

040le6.jpg

175lu4.jpg

177ht9.jpg

Thanks! Can ask what you mean by seal off ? Cos what the electrician did for me is use a Blank Plate to cover the original point, not put back the original plate. He says the SCV ppl can open up the plate to see the original point

Edited by jule

Thanks! Can ask what you mean by seal off ? Cos what the electrician did for me is use a Blank Plate to cover the original point, not put back the original plate. He says the SCV ppl can open up the plate to see the original point

Same same, we also cover with a blank plate.

Thanks! Btw your TV Feature Wall very nice! The Feature Wall is what material ?

Hello all,

Wanted to ask this question long time ago but finally have time to o it:

Anyone find that the original toilet bowl that HDB provided is very inefficient?

I mean, 'ehem', after you do your 'big' business, you got to at least flush twice to get back the clear clean water in the bowl?

Its the same for both my master toilet and common toilet. Tried to change the water level in the tank to the min or max but still the same. You can see that when you flush, there are alot of backwash and the water in the bowl is never fully emptied. Tested with some coloured liquid to see the effect, you will need to flush three times to get back the clear water in the bowl.

Seems like this is a cheap china made toilet bowl and the problem is with the contour itself.

I am sure everyone here have used this toilet bowl, any comments on this?

Tried again yesterday, I have just found that if the water level in the tank is 7L, the flushing will be more "efficient".

However, the maximum setting is only 6L if you turn the control valve's cross-screw clockwise until stop, and you can see a 6L marking on the side of the tank. What you need to do after turning it to max, is to add a little weight to sink the top of the blue float so that the water level will increase further. Maybe you can do a test to see which level is the best.

I wouldn't mind wasting 1 litre more than to flush twice..

Yup, no point complain about it. Just use it until it's old and then change to a waterjet type of toilet bowl. Wow...Shiok!

Oh yes, those automatic bidet washing toilet bowl is GREAT! Saw a few in tokyo that is ranging from around S$3-8k. wow :dunno:, must have a golden butt :dunno: to own one of those. Did not look source around in singapore as no $$ yet to upgrade the toilet :help:

i think it's too expensive. mine was only 80bucks. in fact it's really quite easy to do. just use a drill and go drilling holes along the wall for concealed wiring then hack it with a chisel can liao. but precise method is using the tile slicer to cut lines along the wall to make very nice straight line and chisel. (but FYI, conceal wiring is not approved according to HDB. but i also have lah)

mine cost SGD80 also... for relocation of each sockets.

Thanks! Btw your TV Feature Wall very nice! The Feature Wall is what material ?

Tks, it is actually made of wood covered with wall paper (look a bit like stone) given free by ID.

Yup, no point complain about it. Just use it until it's old and then change to a waterjet type of toilet bowl. Wow...Shiok!

I've heard that there were a few units with the same problem. :P

I dun agree as I have both my toliet bowls changed by HDB due to the exact same reason. But sad to say, after changing the toilet bowls, the problem still persist. I've feedback to HDB and they say that they are trying out a different brand of toilet bowl. If the result is good, they will change it for me again. :sport-smiley-004:

Yah, I saw them running around the grass patches too. They are quite young, not those big big ones but still ministry of environment must control a bit. :sport-smiley-004:

There's also lots of Millipedes at the void deck. Getting more and more these few days, prpbably due to the rain. Those which are stepped dead attracted lots of ants too...

Dunno if HDB is doing anything...

The gas heater is kind of useless... thinking of changing to instant heater...

Need to wait so long for the water to heat up (to "bathable" temperature, not bathtub temperature) I've tried the other day and let the water run under a pail, the pail water was 3/4 filled before the water is hot enough...

If i get the citygas people to come, will it actually helps?

There's also lots of Millipedes at the void deck. Getting more and more these few days, prpbably due to the rain. Those which are stepped dead attracted lots of ants too...

Dunno if HDB is doing anything...

The gas heater is kind of useless... thinking of changing to instant heater...

Need to wait so long for the water to heat up (to "bathable" temperature, not bathtub temperature) I've tried the other day and let the water run under a pail, the pail water was 3/4 filled before the water is hot enough...

If i get the citygas people to come, will it actually helps?

Hi I realli think it will add on to your bill... I think the distance from the heater to the tap is quite a distance so the water inside the pipe at this area cant be heat up so the water have to run awhile to get the hot water.

For mi i using instant heater, it heat up very fast but sometime the water is not hot enuff too...

I've heard that there were a few units with the same problem. :unsure:

I dun agree as I have both my toliet bowls changed by HDB due to the exact same reason. But sad to say, after changing the toilet bowls, the problem still persist. I've feedback to HDB and they say that they are trying out a different brand of toilet bowl. If the result is good, they will change it for me again. :lol:

:good: you meant the toilet bowl they use is "for trying out" our block is prototype meh? the price we paying is not prototype price leh. :good:

Hi I realli think it will add on to your bill... I think the distance from the heater to the tap is quite a distance so the water inside the pipe at this area cant be heat up so the water have to run awhile to get the hot water.

For mi i using instant heater, it heat up very fast but sometime the water is not hot enuff too...

hi i using ariston water heater and its super hot if turn full. think the issue is with the time it takes for the water to travel from the pipe to the destination. for common toilet not too bad but for master toilet take a while longer.

so now will on the shower den use the cold water to wash clothes etc. my neighbour is using instant water heater and was told that the water temperature is quite inconsistent cos its due to the water passing through the heater.

:P you meant the toilet bowl they use is "for trying out" our block is prototype meh? the price we paying is not prototype price leh. :jawdrop:

hi i using ariston water heater and its super hot if turn full. think the issue is with the time it takes for the water to travel from the pipe to the destination. for common toilet not too bad but for master toilet take a while longer.

so now will on the shower den use the cold water to wash clothes etc. my neighbour is using instant water heater and was told that the water temperature is quite inconsistent cos its due to the water passing through the heater.

Yah Sakae, my hse instant water heater abit inconsistent initially, i insert an addition black rubber washer with smaller lobang at the inlet pipe to slow down the water flow, the water temp become more consistent.. I think storage heater is still better den gas heater...

Ya, those millipedes are disgusting! I saw a particulary big black one. GROSS!:jawdrop:! :rofl: !! Why can't the town council fumigate the place to kill these pests? :P