zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

You got a PM. :P

Hello Zirhk,

Saw your blog on the hinge too. I was visited by a 'handyman' too last saturday. But i really wonder if it will be effective just by replacing the 'big rivet' with welded bolt, as the weld can be easily chiseled off if not welded properly. Like what this handyman recommended, it will be better to attach another pair of welded hinges (with welded bolts) at least as a double protection.

Anyway I also did not do what he recommends. And now that i read your post on the break-in, kindof regretted not letting him do the job and did not have his contact. Can you PM me your handyman contact too.

From your blog, seems like you are doing up quite alot, good luck with your reno! Hope you dont need to deal with the troublesome garment people again. I have already moved in, do join me for a coffee or two when you are free (if you still remember my unit?)

Hello Zirhk,

Saw your blog on the hinge too. I was visited by a 'handyman' too last saturday. But i really wonder if it will be effective just by replacing the 'big rivet' with welded bolt, as the weld can be easily chiseled off if not welded properly. Like what this handyman recommended, it will be better to attach another pair of welded hinges (with welded bolts) at least as a double protection.

Anyway I also did not do what he recommends. And now that i read your post on the break-in, kindof regretted not letting him do the job and did not have his contact. Can you PM me your handyman contact too.

From your blog, seems like you are doing up quite alot, good luck with your reno! Hope you dont need to deal with the troublesome garment people again. I have already moved in, do join me for a coffee or two when you are free (if you still remember my unit?)

You are quite right, but to buy welded hinges would be expensive mah; so this is the cheaper alternative, now bo lui liao, make do first...hehe...

In comparison, to chisel off the welding is definitely more difficult than the chisel the original nuts. So I will bear with it first then next time maybe will get the welded hinges lor...

Anywa, PM you the contact liao... :yamseng:

You are quite right, but to buy welded hinges would be expensive mah; so this is the cheaper alternative, now bo lui liao, make do first...hehe...

In comparison, to chisel off the welding is definitely more difficult than the chisel the original nuts. So I will bear with it first then next time maybe will get the welded hinges lor...

Anywa, PM you the contact liao... :sport-smiley-004:

Thanks zirhk, got your PM. :bangwall:

wah manz, after reading the updates, kinds of gives me the scare about the neighbourhood.

is e neighbourhood really tat unsafe or just because of so much work going on, thats why some opportunist takes their chances.

btw anyone knows for such break-in, what were the loot like?

Hi Neo,

U've shifted in liao ah?

Maybe i drop by one day ^^

Feel free to knock too but not today....=D

Hi Neo,

U've shifted in liao ah?

Maybe i drop by one day ^^

Feel free to knock too but not today....=D

oh yes i have moved in already. have you?

will see you around then.. :sport-smiley-018:

wah manz, after reading the updates, kinds of gives me the scare about the neighbourhood.

is e neighbourhood really tat unsafe or just because of so much work going on, thats why some opportunist takes their chances.

btw anyone knows for such break-in, what were the loot like?

My case was that the electrician lost his whole coil of wires; about $400+. Also remember someone in this forum also lost all their lightings, $1k+.

For the studio or 3-rm flats, they lost worse, like jewelleries, electrical appliances and even food. You know those old people always keep their valuables at home so makes an easy target for the burglars.

My case was that the electrician lost his whole coil of wires; about $400+. Also remember someone in this forum also lost all their lightings, $1k+.

For the studio or 3-rm flats, they lost worse, like jewelleries, electrical appliances and even food. You know those old people always keep their valuables at home so makes an easy target for the burglars.

wah this i despise manz, targetting on the old/weak/frail. terrible.....

anyway seems like a high risk environment.....whats our dear men in blue doing especially since they are only across a street?

wah this i despise manz, targetting on the old/weak/frail. terrible.....

anyway seems like a high risk environment.....whats our dear men in blue doing especially since they are only across a street?

You mean that NPP at the newly-refurbished wet market? Since my days in Tanglin Halt, I had seen it evolved from clear glass panels, to shades to full-length curtain to its opaque tint that you cannot even seen anything now.

Heard from the grapevine that NPPs are for policemen to take their meal breaks, because they cannot eat in public. The only policing I saw them ever done before is to chase away the illegal parking vehicles along the small road outside the NPP.

Somemore now NPP "opening hours" is from 12pm to 10pm only (and Sunday closed I think??). So you think leh, got use meh, to have a NPP nearby?? :good:

You mean that NPP at the newly-refurbished wet market? Since my days in Tanglin Halt, I had seen it evolved from clear glass panels, to shades to full-length curtain to its opaque tint that you cannot even seen anything now.

Heard from the grapevine that NPPs are for policemen to take their meal breaks, because they cannot eat in public. The only policing I saw them ever done before is to chase away the illegal parking vehicles along the small road outside the NPP.

Somemore now NPP "opening hours" is from 12pm to 10pm only (and Sunday closed I think??). So you think leh, got use meh, to have a NPP nearby?? :good:

seems like they are operating like a privatised service provider more then a national fed solutions provider.... i also got a tix from them more then 10yrs ago, before the market got upgraded and i was eagerly q'ing for "Fried Carrot Cake" from the old manz....anyway his standard cmi these days leow & the tix was S$70

You mean the old man who always wear a cap right? Ya his standard dropped liao.

I used to like one white carrot cake in the hawker centre, he even put some radish bits on top after frying. Unfortunately he passed away liao, and no one inherited his business...

Somemore now NPP "opening hours" is from 12pm to 10pm only (and Sunday closed I think??). So you think leh, got use meh, to have a NPP nearby?? :P

I am not too familier with this NPP, but experience from other NPP tells me that these NPPs are just a waste of manpower and tax payers' money. Nowadays they don't patrol the street looking for crimes anymore but to station in the NPP waiting for telephone, walk-ins, breakfast, luch, dinner and for thieves to come in :D Most jobs/order/authority has been transferred to the NPC.

Just my own opinion, don't flame me. However i am not really a friend of the men in blue.

Hi Zirk

Saw your blog about the metal gate. Do you have the contact number of the handyman? I think safer to do it too.

Does bring up concerns about the safety of the area though. Seems like the situation not very good :(:notti:

Saw the contact of this handyman pasted in the lifts. Not sure if it is the same guy thou.

I am not too familier with this NPP, but experience from other NPP tells me that these NPPs are just a waste of manpower and tax payers' money. Nowadays they don't patrol the street looking for crimes anymore but to station in the NPP waiting for telephone, walk-ins, breakfast, luch, dinner and for thieves to come in :yamseng: Most jobs/order/authority has been transferred to the NPC.

Just my own opinion, don't flame me. However i am not really a friend of the men in blue.

Yeah, neither am I. The point is that the service of our MIB had been deteriorating from bad to worse. They had "delegated" alot of matters like 'minor' traffic accidents, parking offences, loss of belongings and handphones, etc - no longer do you need to lodge a police report for such cases and they will not take action also. Even if you kana punched by a stranger on the streets has now been classified as a civil case where you need to go sue the fella yourself.

Since our govt always like to quote other countries, let me go along that line. I had been to some neighbouring countries and they do not practise such. Take a 1st world country for eg, Hong Kong. When I was there recently, the police are not just visible, but they are on foot patrol at every corner of the streets. Just walk along Lan Kwai Fong, there are four groups of three policemen; two groups at each entrance of the road, and two at each corner on top of the slope. CISCO or private companies issuing summons? Never heard of - policemen are still doing the job, even clamping the illegal parking vehicles and the towing truck is also not outsourced; it bears the police logos.

Our MIB always try to justify their outsourcing to improve their 'efficiency' because they no longer have to do such 'medicore' jobs. But trying calling for police even in daytime, they will take no less than 15 mins to arrive. In comparison, has the Hongkong police became less efficient?? No way! Their tactical unit had been ranked as the best in Asia recently in terms of equipment and response.

Edited by zirhk3355