zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

My wife and i are both grassroot leader too. We joined AMK YEC for more than one term already. but the thing is that for YEC, members must be less than 35years old. you can visit our webpage at Our YEC webpage

CCMC=community centre management committee

WEC=Woman Executive commitee

YEC=Youth executive committee

From wat i know CCMC not so easy to be one of the committee members because need recommendation to go in.

As for YEC, it's the only committee in PA that allows public to join in when there's an election every two years. Meaning u just need to apply to go in but elected members will have to vote for all their key appointment bearers.

mmm.... did we get my queue number 39 in balloting due to we're grassroot leaders or just pure lucky. (note: i did not apply under grassroots leader priority scheme)

Btw, there's one 24hrs indian coffeeshop nearby tanglin halt road. can't rem the block number. The serving is quite big. My wife ate chicken murtabak while i ate nasi pattaya. ym yum. not bad. guess it's probably the nearest 24hr coffeeshop nearby. Anymore 24hrs coffeeshop in our area?

Thanks for your explanation! However still not quite sure what does the respective committees do? I also heard of something called CCC (or maybe that's CCMC, renamed or something??), not sure what it stands for...?

Hmmz, so for WEC/YEC you mean its actually politics-linked?? :dunno: Wow, I think I am not too keen to go there at all (Why?? Tell you off-line lahh). So RC is good enough for me, cuz my aim is not politics, but just to help out in my own estate and those needy people.

According to theory, if you do not apply under grassroots priority scheme then you will be computer-balloted as per public; but there are alot of urban legends going on, so won't know what really happen behind HDB's closed doors.

Speaking of this, i also find it too much of a co-incidence that during the SERS selection for the new replacement flats, my wife and I, together with many other non-original SERS flat owners, were placed at almost the end of the queue, although HDB kept assuring us that its computer-balloted. Oh well... :P

As for food, the only nice Indian stall I could think of is directly opp the POSB ATM; morning they will sell pratas and afternoon they will sell nasi briyani. But its not 24-hr leh, so think this is not the one you talking about...?

Cannot 'resign' within the two years? You mean got to sign a bond or something?

Anyway glad to hear that someone here got experience in grassroots activities; would you be so kind as to explain what is WEC, CCMC and YEC? I tried to ask my dad but he doesn't know how to explain; he is just concerned about assisting the needy families and does not care about all these 'ranks' and various committees, plus being semi-retired he got alot of free time so he is not worried about commitment too, unlike us.

My dad also did tried for the Grassroots Priority Scheme for our estate, somemore got queue no 4. But alas, due to the Minimum Sum Scam (Oops I meant scheme...hehe), he is unable to purchase because he is 56 years old (yeah, just ONE YEAR too old...haiz).

There's no contract or bond & stuff like that, so we can still resign during the term.

Just to explain, sub-committees like WEC, YEC etc serve a targeted group of people in the community, unlike RC whereby you serve all residents in the constituency.

WEC : Woman's Executive Committee (organises activities/courses for children/women (family); looks after the welfare of women)

YEC : Youth Executive Committee (organises activities/courses for youths; looks after the welfare of youths)

CCMC : Community Centre Management Committee (usually made up of grassroots leaders with many years of experience; they oversee the running of sub-committees, RC)

Is your dad currently an RC member?

IMO, many people have a misconception of what RC does. It all started out as a committee which addresses needs of residents, but now ended up as a bao ka liao committee. For eg, some residents with family/neighbour disputes ended up looking for RC Chairman to be mediator. Or residents with toilet chokage, instead of calling up the Town Council calls RC members in the middle of the night! As funny as all these seem, some residents really take the RC for granted, thinking that they are there to solve all their domestic issues, when their time should be spent addressing more urgent issues of the community instead. !!

My dad was a Grassroots Leader for over 30 years. During the time when he was RC Chairman of our constituency, I was so annoyed with residents coming to knock at our doors in the middle of the nite over petty issues. But quite funny when I think about it now. LOL

I'm sharing all these not to discourage anyone from volunteering, just to give u a sense of what to expect. Of cos these are some worst case scenarios. Knowing the ugly S'porean mentality! :yamseng:

As for YEC, it's the only committee in PA that allows public to join in when there's an election every two years. Meaning u just need to apply to go in but elected members will have to vote for all their key appointment bearers.

mmm.... did we get my queue number 39 in balloting due to we're grassroot leaders or just pure lucky. (note: i did not apply under grassroots leader priority scheme)

Actually WEC is also open to the public, any lady who's interested can just approach the CC to enquire. Usually we start off as observers, and will be invited to join as a member if the committee finds us suitable. In a way my interest in doing community work was influenced by my dad. Currently going into my 4th term.

I got my flat under the Grassroots priority scheme. I remembered there were abt 10 over units in Blk 90 & 91 allocated for grassroots leaders. But applying under this scheme also doesn't guarantee us a unit, as we TOO need to go for balloting. But I believe it will be easier than the public balloting. Also, you can only apply for a flat in the constituency that you are serving. In fact, didn't expect to get an unit cos Tanjong Pagar GRC is so huge, I believe there are many other grassroots leaders eyeing our estate too. I guess I'm lucky, cos my queue no. was 2 during the 1st day of selection. !! The disadvantage is, we only had that 10 over units to select from, unlike the public balloting whereby you had choices of all units avail. I heard that this was because the govt wanted grassroots leaders at strategic locations in every block of flat? Not sure how true though.

Thanks for your explanation! However still not quite sure what does the respective committees do? I also heard of something called CCC (or maybe that's CCMC, renamed or something??), not sure what it stands for...?

Hmmz, so for WEC/YEC you mean its actually politics-linked?? :yamseng: Wow, I think I am not too keen to go there at all (Why?? Tell you off-line lahh). So RC is good enough for me, cuz my aim is not politics, but just to help out in my own estate and those needy people.

Found this from the PA website :

"The Citizens’ Consultative Committee (CCC) is a people’s movement that grew out of a time of tumultuous political change and social upheaval. Formed as goodwill committees, the CCCs play vital roles in maintaining good race relations, improving the lives of residents and act as a bridge between the government and the people."

What do u mean by politics-linked? I guess this is also quite a grey area. In fact everywhere we go, whether work-related or otherwise, if you know some big-shot there, sure can get some personal recommendation. :bleah: Actually a lot of things are going on, but not good to share in public forum. :notti:

Edited by countrylover

Thanks for your explanation!! :good:

Is your dad currently an RC member?

IMO, many people have a misconception of what RC does. It all started out as a committee which addresses needs of residents, but now ended up as a bao ka liao committee. For eg, some residents with family/neighbour disputes ended up looking for RC Chairman to be mediator. Or residents with toilet chokage, instead of calling up the Town Council calls RC members in the middle of the night! As funny as all these seem, some residents really take the RC for granted, thinking that they are there to solve all their domestic issues, when their time should be spent addressing more urgent issues of the community instead. :yamseng:

My dad was a Grassroots Leader for over 30 years. During the time when he was RC Chairman of our constituency, I was so annoyed with residents coming to knock at our doors in the middle of the nite over petty issues. But quite funny when I think about it now. LOL

I'm sharing all these not to discourage anyone from volunteering, just to give u a sense of what to expect. Of cos these are some worst case scenarios. Knowing the ugly S'porean mentality! 8|

Wow, and I thought only my dad has this problem in Tanglin Halt because this is an old estate and alot of people are not educated enough so they always depend on others. Yes my dad has been a RC member for quite awhile too, and I had my fair share of people knocking on our doors looking for him too.

I won't be discouraged because I only know all these too well; at the end of the day, remember your position as a 'VOLUNTEER', so can help, do help, but cannot help one, stay away. Especially when coming to issues like lending money and getting involved in family fights is definitely a no-no. When my dad heard that I had volunteered myself, he already given me quite a earful, so yeah, quite prepared lah! :yamseng:

Found this from the PA website :

"The Citizens’ Consultative Committee (CCC) is a people’s movement that grew out of a time of tumultuous political change and social upheaval. Formed as goodwill committees, the CCCs play vital roles in maintaining good race relations, improving the lives of residents and act as a bridge between the government and the people."

Oops, sorry lazy me didn't search properly. Hehe...hmmz, I think this would be an interesting committee to join, won't it?

What do u mean by politics-linked? I guess this is also quite a grey area. In fact everywhere we go, whether work-related or otherwise, if you know some big-shot there, sure can get some personal recommendation. :yamseng: Actually a lot of things are going on, but not good to share in public forum. :yamseng:

Politics-linked as in YEC is related to the elections, so I supposed its an avenue for the govt to seek new candidates, no? Well for me I am quite clear on what I want from the RC - to help improve the estate and live in a better place. I read Residents' Committee as in a committee FOR the residents, so getting involved politically is not quite my cup of tea.

No doubts that being a grassroots leader will gain you some privileges and 'face' (getting things done); but like said above, my aim is to create a better place for my neighbours and (of course) myself, so everything else is secondary and a bonus lor.

Oops, sorry lazy me didn't search properly. Hehe...hmmz, I think this would be an interesting committee to join, won't it?

Politics-linked as in YEC is related to the elections, so I supposed its an avenue for the govt to seek new candidates, no? Well for me I am quite clear on what I want from the RC - to help improve the estate and live in a better place. I read Residents' Committee as in a committee FOR the residents, so getting involved politically is not quite my cup of tea.

No doubts that being a grassroots leader will gain you some privileges and 'face' (getting things done); but like said above, my aim is to create a better place for my neighbours and (of course) myself, so everything else is secondary and a bonus lor.

YEC is not politically linked as the definition "elections". An election in YEC simply means that any members of public can become commitee of YEC. Unlike other committees like CCMC, WEC, CSC, SCEC etc. YEC is formed based on nomination. Meaning new members that wishes to come into YEC needs to be nominated into the commitee and eventually the committee itself will nominate it's chairman and other key appointment holders etc. It has nothing to do with politics. YEC helps to organise activities for youth too. Eg. We can ask school students to participate in activities that were organised. things like collect newspaper, help resident clean up their house, collect and distribute daily necessities to old folks home or senior citizens etc. As for those benefits and bonuses of being a volunteer, i'm not so sure too. But one thing is that, u get to attend course at place called NACLI. it's free and it'll equip u better skills to become a better community leader

By the way, I have an event to recommend to all of you here.

Title: Weight Management to keep Fit

Venue: AMK CC

Date/Time: 12 APR ( SAT ) 130pm - 530pm

Free Goody bags - include 1 kg of brown rice, salt, olive oil, coffee, etc

Belly Dancing Performance, Free health screening, Bazaar

Call 64529644 or Register at AMK CC.

Edited by armani

To be a good Grassroots Leader, the mindset is very important. Just like what Zirhk has pointed out, his intention is to make his neighbourhood a better place to live in. Unfortunately, some volunteer with the wrong intentions eg to enjoy more privileges etc (have seen many of such "yao gui" people during my last 7 years in community service). Only when we start out with the right intentions to help people can we put in our best in serving the community. Trust me, I've seen people who claimed that they join cos they can get free makan at events! :jawdrop::notti:

My time is limited, having had to juggle with work, family and community work. However, I try my best to contribute watever and whenever I could. And it really does make a difference when I make a resident smile, whether or not my committee appreciates my efforts or not.

YEC is not politically linked as the definition "elections". An election in YEC simply means that any members of public can become commitee of YEC. Unlike other committees like CCMC, WEC, CSC, SCEC etc. YEC is formed based on nomination. Meaning new members that wishes to come into YEC needs to be nominated into the commitee and eventually the committee itself will nominate it's chairman and other key appointment holders etc. It has nothing to do with politics.

Haha, think I interpreted your earlier post wrongly...

As for YEC, it's the only committee in PA that allows public to join in when there's an election every two years.

You see...it gave me the impression that YEC is formed or re-elected every time there is a GENERAL ELECTIONS...haha, now I know better...

By the way, I have an event to recommend to all of you here.

Title: Weight Management to keep Fit

Is that supposed to be for me...?? :rofl:

Naughty armani!! :P

To be a good Grassroots Leader, the mindset is very important. Just like what Zirhk has pointed out, his intention is to make his neighbourhood a better place to live in. Unfortunately, some volunteer with the wrong intentions eg to enjoy more privileges etc (have seen many of such "yao gui" people during my last 7 years in community service). Only when we start out with the right intentions to help people can we put in our best in serving the community. Trust me, I've seen people who claimed that they join cos they can get free makan at events! :jawdrop::notti:

My time is limited, having had to juggle with work, family and community work. However, I try my best to contribute watever and whenever I could. And it really does make a difference when I make a resident smile, whether or not my committee appreciates my efforts or not.

Wahh, that made me look so 'weida' like that! Can I water it down a little, that to make the neighbourhood a better place to live in is also beneficial to me and my family mah, so still got alittle of personal agenda here lahh...hehe... :lol:

I think the senior leaders (like u and my dad) had seen enough of such "yao gui" to be able to tell right from the beginning. But even if cannot spot them also never mind. The truth is, they won't last long because you actually give more than you gain (that's why its called volunteer work!). Very soon they will find that its not worth it to be giving so much just for small benefits like free parking, HDB priority scheme, etc. You said it right; RC members need to find satisfaction in what you are doing, not what you will gain, in order to last long.

Hiya, I'm not senior lah. Just only got my 5-year long service reward last year. :good: But I should be around for at least another 2 yrs or so. Cos got my flat via the priority scheme, so can't resign within these 2 yrs, if not my flat kenna confiscated. LOL

Haha, think I interpreted your earlier post wrongly...

You see...it gave me the impression that YEC is formed or re-elected every time there is a GENERAL ELECTIONS...haha, now I know better...

Is that supposed to be for me...?? :dunno:

Naughty armani!! :D

not talking bout ur weight la. hehe. don't be offended. i'm also those heavy-weight type. :furious:

it's just a health talk organised by AMK YEC. hope you can join too.

not talking bout ur weight la. hehe. don't be offended. i'm also those heavy-weight type. :)

it's just a health talk organised by AMK YEC. hope you can join too.

Not too sure if you guys want to have a separate blog or forum to discuss this topic.

Heard feedback from other forumers that our Tanglin's page has becoming a political page, and no longer talks abt renovations, electricals, furniture and etc.

Just a suggestion.

Our corridors were washed yesterday. neat and clean now. Yeah!

But hope the lifts internal areas can be tided soon. Been more than 6 mths now, hope conditions can further improved, esp the walls and common areas.

Not too sure if you guys want to have a separate blog or forum to discuss this topic.

Heard feedback from other forumers that our Tanglin's page has becoming a political page, and no longer talks abt renovations, electricals, furniture and etc.

Just a suggestion.

But hope the lifts internal areas can be tided soon. Been more than 6 mths now, hope conditions can further improved, esp the walls and common areas.

forum is for discussion & brain-storming among interested parties. What's there to hide? If "they" dun like it, jus dun click on our discussion topic loh...I've not chip into current discussion as the topic doesn't interest me for the moment. But I'll talkcxxk here as and when... :)

Just a suggestion.

IMO, any thread in a forum has the tendency to go OT sometimes. But we discussing about doing voluntary work to make this estate a better place to live in, so still somewhat relevant? Agree though that discussions shouldn't be too political, if not the govt will come knocking on our doors! :)

Just a suggestion.

Oops, sorry my fault about that "political" misunderstanding. :notti:

But agreed that talking about RCs and volunteering for our estate is still a relevant topic here. This is my neighbourhood folder, so its okay not to be talking about reno, electricals and furniture, but let's try to steer away from politics. BTW just did my mod's scanning duty earlier, can't seem to find the posts that forummers complain about our Tanglin's page - would you kindly direct me? Might want to explain to them lor, dowan anyone to be unhappy... :)

Lastly, really like your enthusiasm in raising issues for our estate; would you be keen to join TYM and me in exploring if we can volunteer our services for Tanglin Halt? There is no higher satisfaction than to act personally on matters that are dear to ourselves...

Oops, sorry my fault about that "political" misunderstanding. :notti:

But agreed that talking about RCs and volunteering for our estate is still a relevant topic here. This is my neighbourhood folder, so its okay not to be talking about reno, electricals and furniture, but let's try to steer away from politics. BTW just did my mod's scanning duty earlier, can't seem to find the posts that forummers complain about our Tanglin's page - would you kindly direct me? Might want to explain to them lor, dowan anyone to be unhappy... ;)

Lastly, really like your enthusiasm in raising issues for our estate; would you be keen to join TYM and me in exploring if we can volunteer our services for Tanglin Halt? There is no higher satisfaction than to act personally on matters that are dear to ourselves...

The forummers are my friends from other estates who clicked our page. Anyway, no point getting to the details.

I would like to participate in volunteering works, but not at this point in time as I have several personal matters to attend to. Unless there is 36 hrs per day, if not I dont foresee myself doing that this year.

Cheers. Happy Fridaying.