sohzai 0 Report post Posted December 1, 2008 I see. Well maybe the officer is trying to help the RC lor. To be frank the RC chairman is keen to recruit you guys because you all are from the new blocks and he wants more representatives from here. But I told him to take it easy and let you all see how this whole community thingy works first; dowan to scare you all off! If you are ready, of course you are most welcome to join! It would be great to have more buddies from the same cluster to speak in the RC... I believe you are referring to Mr Chan; he is the asst secretary. How did you know him, somemore know of his position on the RC? Er...not sure lehz..cause i remember my secondary classmate told me his father is the secretary in the grassroot or something like that..he is now staying 7 storeys above me...his surname is chen, but I not sure if his dad's is the same spelling as his...anyway, not important lahz...just curious.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted December 1, 2008 Er...not sure lehz..cause i remember my secondary classmate told me his father is the secretary in the grassroot or something like that..he is now staying 7 storeys above me...his surname is chen, but I not sure if his dad's is the same spelling as his...anyway, not important lahz...just curious.. Ooh, its your secondary classmate...hmmz then I better not say too much...haha ;P Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
oda 0 Report post Posted December 1, 2008 !!!! $%^#$%%^& haha..did i introduce myself as alan? Sergeant Thomas was saying because NWZ is part of the RC, so if we join the group, he suggests that we join the RC. My guess is maybe he saw that our numbers are too small (3 of us)? sohzai, i think your intro that time at THUM was correct...becos my mobile contact saved ur name correctly leh....maybe someone (was it me? ) created unintentionally the 'alan' name for you? I see. Well maybe the officer is trying to help the RC lor. To be frank the RC chairman is keen to recruit you guys because you all are from the new blocks and he wants more representatives from here. But I told him to take it easy and let you all see how this whole community thingy works first; dowan to scare you all off! If you are ready, of course you are most welcome to join! It would be great to have more buddies from the same cluster to speak in the RC... Oh i see....then i join the COP thing first...as for RC...will consider later....so how should we (3 of us?) start? Need to attend RC meetings??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sohzai 0 Report post Posted December 1, 2008 sohzai, i think your intro that time at THUM was correct...becos my mobile contact saved ur name correctly leh....maybe someone (was it me? ) created unintentionally the 'alan' name for you? haha...aiyo...nevermind lahz...name wrong doesn't make me lose 1 hair..hehe oh..by the way..Khriz..just keep us informed of how we going to proceed with this lohz..rc probably has it's own advantages and disadvantages..I also not sure how... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted December 1, 2008 Oh i see....then i join the COP thing first...as for RC...will consider later....so how should we (3 of us?) start? Need to attend RC meetings??? Actually we can start our first COP patrol liao...but let me go for the meeting this Thursday and see what happens. I think there are more than 3 of you, right? They told me there were other RC members who are supposed to go for the police's briefing as well... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sohzai 0 Report post Posted December 1, 2008 Actually we can start our first COP patrol liao...but let me go for the meeting this Thursday and see what happens. I think there are more than 3 of you, right? They told me there were other RC members who are supposed to go for the police's briefing as well... er...they flew aeroplane i think...only the 3 of us were there with Sergeant Thomas and a lady in police uniform..paiseh..I don't really know the ranking system for police..anyone knows? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted December 1, 2008 er...they flew aeroplane i think...only the 3 of us were there with Sergeant Thomas and a lady in police uniform..paiseh..I don't really know the ranking system for police..anyone knows? Lady in police uniform...hmmz!! The ranks are the same as army, isn't it? But they don't have 1st/2nd/3rd sergeant and for warrant officers, they call it station inspectors. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted December 2, 2008 (edited) Lady in police uniform...hmmz!! The ranks are the same as army, isn't it? But they don't have 1st/2nd/3rd sergeant and for warrant officers, they call it station inspectors. refer to this: http://www.spf.gov.sg/career/po_rank.htm http://www.spf.gov.sg/career/so_rank.htm Edited December 2, 2008 by skyspectrum Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sohzai 0 Report post Posted December 2, 2008 refer to this: http://www.spf.gov.sg/career/po_rank.htm http://www.spf.gov.sg/career/so_rank.htm oh...taht's helpful...silly me never think of looking up their website Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yster 0 Report post Posted December 2, 2008 (edited) Hi guys and gals, We are new to the neighbourhood, Blk 89ers. will move in to the flat in abt 2-3 weeks, spending xmas here. just a head's up to my friendly fellow TTers. Me and wifey love to makan, so we already checked out quite a few of the gd food that's available within the radius of 2 km. Quite good if u ask me... Cheers! Anyone tried at TT 16th storey Blk 116 where a lot of good cze char congregate... 2 chefs, Hong Kong Street (zhenji and fuji) and one more famous for its fried chicken wings(name escapes me). Saw the other day that Queenstown Margaret Drive all the stalls closed, is it really closed for renovation already? missing Yelaixiang and the char kway teow there. Edited December 2, 2008 by yster Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted December 2, 2008 Hi guys and gals, We are new to the neighbourhood, Blk 89ers. will move in to the flat in abt 2-3 weeks, spending xmas here. just a head's up to my friendly fellow TTers. Me and wifey love to makan, so we already checked out quite a few of the gd food that's available within the radius of 2 km. Quite good if u ask me... Cheers! Anyone tried at TT 16th storey Blk 116 where a lot of good cze char congregate... 2 chefs, Hong Kong Street (zhenji and fuji) and one more famous for its fried chicken wings(name escapes me). Saw the other day that Queenstown Margaret Drive all the stalls closed, is it really closed for renovation already? missing Yelaixiang and the char kway teow there. Welcome to tanglin halt!! I am staying at Blk 89 too! Hmmz, seemed that we had quite a few neighbours settling in liao; is it time to revive our THUM?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sohzai 0 Report post Posted December 2, 2008 Hi guys and gals, We are new to the neighbourhood, Blk 89ers. will move in to the flat in abt 2-3 weeks, spending xmas here. just a head's up to my friendly fellow TTers. Me and wifey love to makan, so we already checked out quite a few of the gd food that's available within the radius of 2 km. Quite good if u ask me... Cheers! Anyone tried at TT 16th storey Blk 116 where a lot of good cze char congregate... 2 chefs, Hong Kong Street (zhenji and fuji) and one more famous for its fried chicken wings(name escapes me). Saw the other day that Queenstown Margaret Drive all the stalls closed, is it really closed for renovation already? missing Yelaixiang and the char kway teow there. Yoz yoz~ hi there...fellow 89-er..hehe..yeap...food is not bad here. Don't worry...margaret drive still not down (yet)...dinner time go before 7.30pm and you should still be able to catch the better stalls.. I think ye lai xiang is the gyoza stall right? that one finish selling quite fast...so be there early...i seldom go there on weekdays...usually weekends...the chicken rice stall on the 2nd storey is closed on Mondays and tuesdays. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yster 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2008 Yoz yoz~ hi there...fellow 89-er..hehe..yeap...food is not bad here. Don't worry...margaret drive still not down (yet)...dinner time go before 7.30pm and you should still be able to catch the better stalls.. I think ye lai xiang is the gyoza stall right? that one finish selling quite fast...so be there early...i seldom go there on weekdays...usually weekends...the chicken rice stall on the 2nd storey is closed on Mondays and tuesdays. Hi Hi Sohzai, Ye Lai Xiang is the western food stall with very peppery steak(1st floor). I heard the desserts stall is no more... the gyoza stall is called Tong Xin Ju...been eating there yrs ago when I was still swimming for leisure at queenstown swimming pool. Was wondering when the tanglin halt market's hainanese western food stall opens..my sources tell me it's quite good...yet to try out the famous Mee Jiam Kway (peanut pancake) there... Nice to know there are good kakis for makan sessions next time hehe. Heard sometime back, you guys were pushing for the recycling station to be downstairs at the block, any news on that initative? It's a pretty good idea. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
explorers 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2008 hihi... can join facebook group as well... "Blk 89 - 91 Tanglin Halt Residents" i've also yet to taste the peanut pancake... dono where the exact location is... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sohzai 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2008 Hi Hi Sohzai, Ye Lai Xiang is the western food stall with very peppery steak(1st floor). I heard the desserts stall is no more... the gyoza stall is called Tong Xin Ju...been eating there yrs ago when I was still swimming for leisure at queenstown swimming pool. Was wondering when the tanglin halt market's hainanese western food stall opens..my sources tell me it's quite good...yet to try out the famous Mee Jiam Kway (peanut pancake) there... Nice to know there are good kakis for makan sessions next time hehe. Heard sometime back, you guys were pushing for the recycling station to be downstairs at the block, any news on that initative? It's a pretty good idea. haha...oopS! got the names all wrong! didn't know about the peanut pancake around tanglin halt...but i know there's a famous one at LK coffeeshop before it renovated. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites