thesimfarm 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2008 hi all, my average usage r $130 - $150 for 4 person. i did not on aircon, but i got my sinful dryer... recently am thinking using god's gift "natural sunlight & wind" to dry it, but notice that my upstair neighbour, sometime will hang dripping-just-wash clothing. i'm using electric water heater. have 2 pc at home. recently just added a blender, wondering next month will shot to $150 ~ $180 or not. Sigh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sohzai 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2008 Hi guys, I still haven't finished my reno. Should I change the MBR sink? Please advice. Thanks. hmm..I think if you are ok with the looks, and it's not the kind the forummers are complaining about, then no point changing? hehe...save money...renovation and move house costs alot.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted October 10, 2008 So happy - my toilet bowls will be changed next week! Hopefully they turn out to be better... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
countrylover 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2008 Sh*t, seemed like something is wrong with countrylover and my utilities' usage. My wife did try to switch off some appliances when not in use, I would say most of them, but some like the alarm clock is very troublesome to off and re-set the time when switch in again. Oh ya I forgot I also got a wine chiller, but small one leh, 18 bottles only. Yup, seems like everyone's bill is way below ours! Currently, there are 3 adults and 2 children staying in my flat, so $200 might sound reasonable? I only have my fridge and electronic dry box (for camera eqpt) that are running 24/7. As far as possible, we try to remember to switch off our appliances after use, so they are not even in standby mode. For laundry, we wash an average of twice per week, usually waiting for a full load before washing. I guess maybe it could be because my mum cooks everyday? Sigh...we gonna install air-con soon. Can't imagine how much the bill will increase then! I think it's also because of my two chandeliers at home! They dun operate on energy-saving lamps, and there's no way we can use energy-saving ones on them. But thing is, we also seldom switch them on mah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sohzai 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2008 Yup, seems like everyone's bill is way below ours! Currently, there are 3 adults and 2 children staying in my flat, so $200 might sound reasonable? I only have my fridge and electronic dry box (for camera eqpt) that are running 24/7. As far as possible, we try to remember to switch off our appliances after use, so they are not even in standby mode. For laundry, we wash an average of twice per week, usually waiting for a full load before washing. I guess maybe it could be because my mum cooks everyday? Sigh...we gonna install air-con soon. Can't imagine how much the bill will increase then! I think it's also because of my two chandeliers at home! They dun operate on energy-saving lamps, and there's no way we can use energy-saving ones on them. But thing is, we also seldom switch them on mah. hmm...off-topic here..i think I found a fellow hobby-ist. hehe...country lover, I also have a dry box to run 24/7. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2008 I think it's also because of my two chandeliers at home! They dun operate on energy-saving lamps, and there's no way we can use energy-saving ones on them. But thing is, we also seldom switch them on mah. Saw your chadeliers pics b4, should be able to change to those energy saving bulbs (shaped like candle). Can check out Megaman, Philips or even Ikea. We have a standing chandelier at home, changed to energy saving bulbs (7W each) from Ikea. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sakae sushi 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2008 khriz what brand is yr wine chiller? thinkin getting 1. they told me for 15 - 18 bottles size. it only cost $3-$5 a month to power up the chiller. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted October 10, 2008 My chiller is EuropAce, not really sure if this is the one that is causing my bills to be high; but I just suspect my aircon usage lah. After reading countrylover's reply, I think I am really the worst off here; they cook everyday and have no aircon! We don't cook and we don't stay in the flat like half the time... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tckrto 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2008 My chiller is EuropAce, not really sure if this is the one that is causing my bills to be high; but I just suspect my aircon usage lah. After reading countrylover's reply, I think I am really the worst off here; they cook everyday and have no aircon! We don't cook and we don't stay in the flat like half the time... zirhk just a suggestion, why not take the actual meter reading once every month? Just take the bill and see the date from e.g 17/10/08 to 16/10/08 then u take your reading on the 17th of every month. take pic and record it. If is doesn't tally with wat singapore power is charging den call them up and talk abt it. Sometimes singapore power just anyhow hamtum base on estimation wan. If the bill tally with wat u r recording den another suggestion is take your daily meter readings. Use excel to plot the trend like dat can help u analyze when is the highest consumption day and then observe/note down wat are the things u turn on during the highest consumption day. Like dat no need to keep on thinking why electrical bill so high just a suggestion. Paiseh for being long winded, i'm bangla engineer dats why like to do things analytically Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
armani 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2008 hi all, i haven been contributing in the forum for quite some time. just had both my toilet bowl changed. they came to press the doorbell at ard 10am and by 11 am both toilet bowl are changed. really fast workers. the indian worker told me not to wet the floor in the next two hours. btw, this time they changed it to "SANITON" brand toilet bowl. the fastening nut at the side are chrome but just that the cover is a bit more filmsy than "RIGEL". but water pressure feels much better than before. haven really put it to the test of "ahem". will update again Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sakae sushi 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2008 i saw europace and kadeka not sure which to buy. any suggestion? thye told me can put inside storeroom no need ventilation. is yr chiller very hot? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jule 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2008 i saw europace and kadeka not sure which to buy. any suggestion? thye told me can put inside storeroom no need ventilation. is yr chiller very hot? Go for the one with wooden racks. The "vibrations" are smaller and its better. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2008 hi all, i haven been contributing in the forum for quite some time. just had both my toilet bowl changed. they came to press the doorbell at ard 10am and by 11 am both toilet bowl are changed. really fast workers. the indian worker told me not to wet the floor in the next two hours. btw, this time they changed it to "SANITON" brand toilet bowl. the fastening nut at the side are chrome but just that the cover is a bit more filmsy than "RIGEL". but water pressure feels much better than before. haven really put it to the test of "ahem". will update again Hi Armani, Who contacted you to change the bowls? Mr Tan or Peter? So far I h avent hear from any of them yet. Do you have any photo of the new saniton bowls? is chrome okie? What do u meant when the cover is flimsy? Show us the photo leh ... easier to visualise. Kam Sia! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
armani 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2008 Hi Armani, Who contacted you to change the bowls? Mr Tan or Peter? So far I h avent hear from any of them yet. Do you have any photo of the new saniton bowls? is chrome okie? What do u meant when the cover is flimsy? Show us the photo leh ... easier to visualise. Kam Sia! ActuaLLY I didn't ask the name of the guy that he called me last week. The chrome looks quite ok. As for the cover.. it's just much thinner when compared to our old "rigel" toilet bowl. See picture for clarification Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Panda312 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2008 ActuaLLY I didn't ask the name of the guy that he called me last week. The chrome looks quite ok. As for the cover.. it's just much thinner when compared to our old "rigel" toilet bowl. Had not been posting for donkey months. Jus to check. It seems that they have to drill the bolting holes on the floor. In this case, is the waterproofing intact? The person who contacted me was 'Peter' (introduce as the new contractor for this toilet issue. No number displayed for the call made) and arrangement had been made for next Saturday. Let's juz hope this is the last time we r changing the toilet bowls due to back flow. Its been over a year since some of us had moved in n they had failed to resolve the issue despite several attempts. Sometimes 1 juz can't help but wander wat e authorities r doing abt it........ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites