zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

hi sohzai,

remember some new neighbours asking for doors... but not sure if ur door will fit...

anybody here joined the facebook tanglin halt group?

Oh..ok..since that's the case..I will not be selling it...if anyone wants quickly get from me...else I will discard it too...you know those people? If they want to try fitting to their door...get them to contact me?

anyway...if anyone wants to replace any of your room wooden doors, I have an extra, cause i changed my toilet door to a bi-fold door. tell me soon as I need to do something about it soon...

Hi Sohzai,

If you have changed the toilet door, I presume that you installed a shower screen. Can you send me a layout/picture of your toilet design, as my ID and I have problem in designing the toilet? If a shower screen is installed, the spacing between the toilet seat and the shower screen is too small to do business comfortably. Thanks in advance.

Hi Sohzai,

If you have changed the toilet door, I presume that you installed a shower screen. Can you send me a layout/picture of your toilet design, as my ID and I have problem in designing the toilet? If a shower screen is installed, the spacing between the toilet seat and the shower screen is too small to do business comfortably. Thanks in advance.

huh? oh...I only installed shower screen for the MBR toilet. The common toilet is too small to fix up in my opinion. I made do with a curtain for the common toilet.

Thanks for the quick reply. My MBR also has no problem. It is only the common toilet that is too small to fix.

me did the same... showerscreen for mbr toilet and shower curtain for common toilet.

hdb contractor, peter just called me to say he'll arrange for a date to change toilet bowl... i wonder when it'll be... gg to be messy again. :bangwall:

sohzai, i can't remember exactly who wanted the door. will try to relay message in facebook...

since everyone has been mentioning about toilet bowls and to a certain extent taps, does anyone get bothered with the non-porcelain sink provided by HDB?

though this sink is rarely used, the look is really a turn-off, has water stain that makes the colour turn white (looks like mould but it is not), and the white stains cannot be removed. these stains seem to take place after it "absorbs" water.....cannot wait to get this changed....really regret not changing this during renovation thinking it was decent.

now regret :(

since everyone has been mentioning about toilet bowls and to a certain extent taps, does anyone get bothered with the non-porcelain sink provided by HDB?

though this sink is rarely used, the look is really a turn-off, has water stain that makes the colour turn white (looks like mould but it is not), and the white stains cannot be removed. these stains seem to take place after it "absorbs" water.....cannot wait to get this changed....really regret not changing this during renovation thinking it was decent.

now regret :(

Can remove. Just use CIF and a 3M scrub pad (use the sponge side, not the green side). I have been cleaning like once every 2 weeks, still shiny shiny. No choice lah, HDB stuff not exactly high quality.

guess it also depends on the colour of the sink provided too, mine is the dark grey colour so the "mould" is very prominent....and yes we use CIF and 3M sponde pad to clean it too, not able to clear all but some.

hahaha anyway got so fed up so plan to have it replaced leow......its just irritating that such a big conglomerate provides such products, not to mention that they are now so proud to introduce 5year warranty.

yucky yucks is the word

guess it also depends on the colour of the sink provided too, mine is the dark grey colour so the "mould" is very prominent....and yes we use CIF and 3M sponde pad to clean it too, not able to clear all but some.

hahaha anyway got so fed up so plan to have it replaced leow......its just irritating that such a big conglomerate provides such products, not to mention that they are now so proud to introduce 5year warranty.

yucky yucks is the word

Guys.. am quite confused..are you talking about the toilet sink? Mine is white. And how to tell whether it is porcelain or not porcelain? thought it's the usual white sinks we see everywhere?

yucky yucks is the word

For the sink (and the toilet bowl), I use the 3M scrub pad (green part) with CIF, only use the sponge side for chrome plated parts so as not to scratch it. So far ok, not too yucky.

porcelain is a ceramic or "china-based" type material, i.e. Toilet Bowl

HDB provides a standing wash basin in the common washroom and a non-porcelain wash basin in the MBR washroom.

the topic of concern would be the wash basin located in the MBR washroom

Note - the above configuration applies to my unit, not sure about other units but I believe should be of same configuration with difference in colour scheme only.

porcelain is a ceramic or "china-based" type material, i.e. Toilet Bowl

HDB provides a standing wash basin in the common washroom and a non-porcelain wash basin in the MBR washroom.

the topic of concern would be the wash basin located in the MBR washroom

Note - the above configuration applies to my unit, not sure about other units but I believe should be of same configuration with difference in colour scheme only.

oh~~ i got it...mine was both white porcelain standard basins. I just threw 1 away as I replaced the one in my room toilet to the transculent bowl kind.

Pardon me but I still cannot get over the 21% increment in the electricity tariff.

After reading last Sat ST on the replies by EMA on the price, I am still not convinced by their answers.

Some replies quote;

<<Crude oil and fuel oil are two different products with two different prices. Crude oil, the raw material pumped from deep underground, is not used to produce electricity. Instead, companies use fuel oil, which is made from refining crude oil. Electricity prices are therefore pegged to fuel oil prices. The oil prices usually mentioned in the news refer to crude oil prices. The pump prices at petrol stations are pegged to crude oil, which is why the recent fall in crude oil prices led to cuts in petrol and diesel prices>>

I thought the oil company always gave a different explanation when pump prices go up, saying their petrol prices are not pegged to crude prices but some retail prices. Why is EMA saying differently? Who is right? Or are they just confusing us?

<<Asia does not have a benchmark for gas prices. Until its gas trading industry comes up with a gas index, electricity prices will be pegged to oil prices.>>

I tot one of the reasons we change to gas for our power station is that it is cleaner and cheaper?

And now EMA is talking about electricity price plan in three years time, coupled with the market liberalisation, household will benefit in the long run. I really hope they mean what they say but what can we do, they can always have another 21% increase and give all sorts of fancy reasons.

Let's see if oil really reach US$155 by the end of the year and if they don't, they jolly well reduce the tariff.

I tot one of the reasons we change to gas for our power station is that it is cleaner and cheaper?

Cleaner is to be environmental-friendly, looks good for corporate image and maybe save taxes. Cheaper fuel for their costs, but they never say they want to pass on to you mah. :notti:

Let's see if oil really reach US$155 by the end of the year and if they don't, they jolly well reduce the tariff.

They will probably give you 'token' reduction by $0.05 lor...see how the petrol kiosks are doing in reaction to the drop in crude oil prices you will know what I meant.

I saw a very nice argument in ST Forum the other day; someone mentioned even without a gas index, surely you know how much you are paying for your raw materials? Its quite beyond me that for such a big firm, there is no costing forecast, but when they charge us they can based on usage estimate on alternate months.

By saying there is no gas index to peg electricity prices is like saying "there is no market price so I can charge whatever I want, but to be more convincing I shall pretend to peg to SOMETHING lah, in which case I shall choose to peg to the more expensive fuel oil index instead of crude oil for obvious reasons". So I wonder what will happen if crude oil prices become more expensive than fuel oil, would they switch and say now we are going to peg to crude oil, since there is still no gas index?

Haha...Wed morning grouse... :P

Edited by zirhk3355