zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

hi guys

not log on for a long time liao. is the THUM thingie still on or is chairman new job is the patrol our area?

seems that the toilet bowl issue is still not resolve after so long. is it the sewage, piping, flush or bad toilet bowl design problem? i changed both my toilet bowl so far no issues so cannot compare.

one of my new neighbour started their reno and they changed the toilet bowl as well. seems like everyone know the toilet bowl they supplied cannot make it :bangwall:

We have not gone for coffee recently.. Sakae, u wanna organise?

Oh ya, you MIA very long liao huh. How is your 2nd kid coming along? your wife due already? Mine is due this week (finally..) :dancingqueen:

Wah.. many new family members! Congrats!

Wah, so troublesome. If drill and later unit below complain abt leaking, we will be held liable right cos we already signed the undertaking not to touch the toilet flooring for 3 years.

Still can bear with the toilet bowl for now...

Agreed too. Will just bear for the toilet for another 2 years and see how then. Would prefer to drill the bowl to the ground for stability reasons.

Just managed to contact Mr Tan from the branch office. Said he will contact the person in charge, Peter, to call me back ... till now, no reply. Hope to hear from him today, so that the water dripping problem can be resolved soon.

Hi Neighbours .... helping my colleague to sell the following:

1) A pair of movie tickets "Mirrors": http://sg.movies.yahoo.com/Mirrors/movie/14681

Pass valid on Monday to Wednesday only. Valid from 29 September till film run ends. Valid at all cinemas (i.e. GV, Shaws, EW). Letting go at $8 for the 2 tickets. Self-collect at CW Mrt. Or can arrange for online transfer and I will post them to your mailing address.

*SOLD and Reserved*

2) STILL AVAILABLE: 2 used hamster cages (standard metal kind) for sale, dimension: abt 38cm by 27cm. Selling only the cages without accessories.

Very little bite marks and in good working condition. Suitable for 2 hamsters. One for $8. Two for $15 (neg).

Self-collect at either CW or Outram MRT. Photos are available. Can email me at humour11@yahoo.com for details and photos. Thanks.

Edited by skyspectrum

Still can bear with the toilet bowl for now...

I also can bear with it for now although it chokes 2 times a month... :(

Also seldom go for THUM, but sometimes go there nobody... :dunno:

Not going to THUM in future as my RT starts 4th october... :sport-smiley-003: I chose saturdays cos I don't wanna wake up early on sunday mornings as I wake up early every monday to sat already... :D

Maybe sakae can invite me to ur 2nd kid full month celebration? Cos I haven view your marvelous home yet... :rolleyes:

not log on for a long time liao. is the THUM thingie still on or is chairman new job is the patrol our area?

Wahh, what new job...? Hehe...the COP thingy still hanging on the air, all these red tapes and bureaucracy remains me of last time in civil service, luckily I left liao. Anyway, sorry to the COP guys, maybe have to wait till next RC meeting for me to bring it up again.

As for THUM, yes it still supposed to be on leh, but we like got very bad response. If everyone is free this Sat, can come down to revive it?? :notti:

We have not gone for coffee recently.. Sakae, u wanna organise?

can just meet at the koufu more convient for everyone i guess.

Wah.. many new family members! Congrats!

haha. ya mine due mid oct so a few more weeks. vineyard, yours so fast.

I also can bear with it for now although it chokes 2 times a month... :(

Also seldom go for THUM, but sometimes go there nobody... :dunno:

Not going to THUM in future as my RT starts 4th october... :sport-smiley-003: I chose saturdays cos I don't wanna wake up early on sunday mornings as I wake up early every monday to sat already... :D

Maybe sakae can invite me to ur 2nd kid full month celebration? Cos I haven view your marvelous home yet... :rolleyes:

sure. no problem. almost a year liao no more marvelous home lla. itchy hands keep doing new things to spruce it up seems like never enough and never perfect :bangwall:

QUOTE(skyspectrum @ Sep 9 2008, 12:27 PM)

Recycling Bins at Tanglin Halt:

There are two recycling bins next to the CW mrt entrance, located just before the taxi stand, opposite the Kodak shop. But I realised that the bins are often full, cos the shop owners and residents desposit their unwanted things there. End up poeple just throw the rubbish/bags at the base of the bins .... quite a unsightly scene.

Then last weekend, I went jogging at the Strathmore/Queenstown area. They have more recycling bins located at the void deck of some blocks. I snapped some photos of the bins (bigger than ours). Din manage to upload here. But can see the similar kind at this website:

http://www.sulo.com.sg/business/prb.html (the ones located at Strathmore/Queenstown area)

http://www.sulo.com.sg/business/recycle.html (the current ones we have)

If there are more recycling bins located at each void deck of 89, 90 & 91, then we can actively help tosave the environment ... e.g. can recyle jam containers, plastic bottles (bath, shampoo, sauce), papers and many others). Any one to support this idea?

Ok, support you.

Who else here is also supportive of the "Recycle, Reduce and Reuse" campaign? Please support the notion of having recycling bins at our void decks ..... links as above ... Cheers :notti:

Dear all, there was an article in TODAY papers dd 20th Sep (Tues) pg 20. Am abstracting part of it to share with the residents in Tanglin Halt:

Abstract of "Make it easier to recycle"

.... The Government should help to make recycling a lifestyle, rather than force people to pay for access to recycling facilities. it should be made easier for someone to recycle his trash. Since rubbish collectors dump recyclables together with the trash, which is later sorted at recycling points, there is no need to differentiate paper, glass and cans before collection.

Also, recycling should be made convenient, instead of having centralised recycling bins that residents have to walk a long way to get to. One recycling bin located at each block will encourage residents to put in more effort.

Recycling should be rewarded. If the karung guni man is able to make a living tin cans, cant enrepreneurs think up some profitable recycling programme?

I agreed with the 2nd para, where the recycling bins shd be made more easily available and accessible. Shall wait for the officials to reply to this reader (Donovan Lo).

Dear all, there was an article in TODAY papers dd 20th Sep (Tues) pg 20. Am abstracting part of it to share with the residents in Tanglin Halt:

Abstract of "Make it easier to recycle"

.... The Government should help to make recycling a lifestyle, rather than force people to pay for access to recycling facilities. it should be made easier for someone to recycle his trash. Since rubbish collectors dump recyclables together with the trash, which is later sorted at recycling points, there is no need to differentiate paper, glass and cans before collection.

Also, recycling should be made convenient, instead of having centralised recycling bins that residents have to walk a long way to get to. One recycling bin located at each block will encourage residents to put in more effort.

Recycling should be rewarded. If the karung guni man is able to make a living tin cans, cant enrepreneurs think up some profitable recycling programme?

I agreed with the 2nd para, where the recycling bins shd be made more easily available and accessible. Shall wait for the officials to reply to this reader (Donovan Lo).

I link the 2nd para with the last line; reading between the lines, this writer is mindful that convenience and accessibility come with costs. Somebody will have to foot the bill so the question is who?? :dunno:

Yes, its somewhat linked but not wholly linked in that sense. The somebody can either from the government or some environmental-related or recycling companies (TC can liaise and work out something with them).

But of course, recycling is a habit. Is possible that even a recycling bin is available at each block, there will be people who still prefer to dump things at the RCA or straight into the chute. Anyway, its just a thought to share with the residents here .... at the moment, no choice but to walk all the way to the current bins at the taxi stand while on route to work or exercise.

Used the toilet this morning.

1) Water dripping at the MBR bowl, underneath one of the white plastic screws. Think that guy did not assemble the screw and washer properly. Water been dripping drop by drop since last night. Was surprised to see the floor wet when home last night. Will call Queenstown HDB tmr. Super sian! :bangwall:

2) Pass big motion this morning and used the big flush. Though most of the motion is gone, but the water still a bit unclear .... i.e. brownish water ... got to use the small flush to get rid of the unclear water. Will continue to monitor this situation.

Some updates on the new dual flushing system:

Managed to contact Mr Tan from the branch office on Monday at ard 1030am. Said he will contact Peter who is in charge of this toilet thingy. Waited till 1230pm and no call. Hence, I call Peter's hp directly. Got his hp back in May when he called to get feedback on the toilet bowls. Peter said he will get his men to come up and I requested them to come before 1.30pm as I got an appt at 2.30pm and got to leave at 2pm. Sigh, the 2 Bangas arrived at 1.55pm and spent about 35mins trying to mend the leakage from the top unit internally. Saw them using some plasticine like kind of sticky thing and paste on the white screw, inside the tank. So far I have been monitoring and glad to say there is no more water dripping. Thumbs uP!

But for the clearance of big motion, the new dual flush got the same problem with the single flush. As mentioned by JULE before, it takes 2 or 3 times to flush before you see clear water. Already feedbacked to Mr Tan about this as well (yest morning 8am when he called me to check on status). But quite like the small flush for small motion.

So far, anyone else have changed to the new dual flush? Feedback? When is yours, SPACE?

i also want to go to sakae's house! appear on magazine so muz go there witness with my own eyes! so nice!

photos lies! maybe ask chairman to organise a drink over my hse. chairman house appeared on national TV! mine oni magazine :(