skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2008 QUOTE(skyspectrum @ Sep 9 2008, 12:27 PM) Recycling Bins at Tanglin Halt: There are two recycling bins next to the CW mrt entrance, located just before the taxi stand, opposite the Kodak shop. But I realised that the bins are often full, cos the shop owners and residents desposit their unwanted things there. End up poeple just throw the rubbish/bags at the base of the bins .... quite a unsightly scene. Then last weekend, I went jogging at the Strathmore/Queenstown area. They have more recycling bins located at the void deck of some blocks. I snapped some photos of the bins (bigger than ours). Din manage to upload here. But can see the similar kind at this website: http://www.sulo.com.sg/business/prb.html (the ones located at Strathmore/Queenstown area) http://www.sulo.com.sg/business/recycle.html (the current ones we have) If there are more recycling bins located at each void deck of 89, 90 & 91, then we can actively help tosave the environment ... e.g. can recyle jam containers, plastic bottles (bath, shampoo, sauce), papers and many others). Any one to support this idea? Ok, support you. Who else here is also supportive of the "Recycle, Reduce and Reuse" campaign? Please support the notion of having recycling bins at our void decks ..... links as above ... Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2008 Wah, very on leh, run marathon. Me getting lazy liao, long time no exercise. I think tmrw wake up early go Hort Park walk walk. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2008 wah lau, those pple are looking to run with good timing, for me, its more for personal accomplishment, so run to complete in reasonable comfortable time i am happy leow. anyone game for open water swimming next month at East Coast? 1km minimum so not tough Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sohzai 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2008 (edited) Abit more update about my toilet bowl. Just about the time that I have decided to buy a new toilet bowl two months ago, I received a phone call from HDB asking me if I got toilet bowl problem (remember something like Mr. Tan ...) and say they will look into it with the contractor. A week later, got a HDB officer knocking on the door to ask if we got toilet bowl problem. Both time they cannot confirm any time for replacement. Seeing their enthusiastic response, we decided to wait for HDB and postphone the decision to replace the toilet bowl. After a month, no response from HDB and don't know who to call, give up, we went ahead to replace the toilet bowl ourself. For a peace of mind, we get toto. During the replacement the contractor found the black drain connection damaged due to inferior material. see the link below (warning: hope it don't make you loose your appetite) Damaged toilet drain connection Furthermore the position of the drain and the hole on the floor was not in-line causing inefficient drain. That maybe the reason why it did not drain properly. Now, i simply love my new toilet bowl!! The new toilet bowl can drain fully with not backflush with only 4.5l of water. Cannot imagine how i can live with the old one for a year now... Hi Nieghbours~ Just providing what I know. After knowing that the toilet bowls are inherently poor-designed from you guys, I decided to change the toilet bowl along with overlaying the tiles for the toilet floor. I bought this brand called BARON. It's a one piece and the design in my opinion is simple and nice. Price for white and lighter coloured is S$250 and black is S$320. As mine is done together with the renovation of my house, i was not charged (separately?) by my Interior Designer. Baron, though a malaysia brand, is certified 3 ticks by PUB for water efficiency. Full flush is 4 litres and half flush is 2.5 litres. As for actual useability, let me try it a few times before commenting on it. Anyway, in the picture, from what i see, the connector is actually a upsizer/downsizer to fit various sizes of toilet bowl to the pipe that hdb installed in the flat. The item can be bought at around 5-8 bucks. Hope this helps! Edited September 19, 2008 by sohzai Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2008 Hi Nieghbours~ Just providing what I know. After knowing that the toilet bowls are inherently poor-designed from you guys, I decided to change the toilet bowl along with overlaying the tiles for the toilet floor. I bought this brand called BARON. It's a one piece and the design in my opinion is simple and nice. Price for white and lighter coloured is S$250 and black is S$320. As mine is done together with the renovation of my house, i was not charged (separately?) by my Interior Designer. Baron, though a malaysia brand, is certified 3 ticks by PUB for water efficiency. Full flush is 4 litres and half flush is 2.5 litres. As for actual useability, let me try it a few times before commenting on it. Anyway, in the picture, from what i see, the connector is actually a upsizer/downsizer to fit various sizes of toilet bowl to the pipe that hdb installed in the flat. The item can be bought at around 5-8 bucks. Hope this helps! Yes Sohzai, please feedback on the useability soon hor. As for both of my toilet bowls, the HDB sub-contractor came this morning and changed the flush system for us, FOC lar. Now is the dual flush. Its seems that the each flush is slightly more powerful ... but yet to try to flush with BIG motion ... will update you guys again later next week (hope not the same problem as Jule, who needs to flush 3x to get things cleared). And if the backflow problem persists, then got to consider changing the whole bowl. And according to the sub-contractor just now, no matter what, there is a need to drill holes onto the floor, to screw the lower bowl to the ground, hence may or may not affect water proofing. Sounds scary leh. Anyone to advise on this? Wah, very on leh, run marathon. Me getting lazy liao, long time no exercise. I think tmrw wake up early go Hort Park walk walk. Hi TYM, so did you manage to go to Hort Park? Actually, can jog from our estate to Hort Park ... follow bus route 51 or 100 (after Queenstown CC) .... I did a few times liao ... from the point starting at HP Building, jog upwards all the way till you reach the peak ... then walk thru another small path and you will reach the wooden bridge that leads to either MT Faber Safra or Harbourfront .... quite a nice long walk and jog. Sure sweat and at the end of the day, both your wife and you can enjoy breakfast (bread and kopi) at either Ya Kun (Safra) or Wang Jiao (Harbourfront, next to Cheers). Enjoy! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2008 (edited) Hi TYM, so did you manage to go to Hort Park? Actually, can jog from our estate to Hort Park ... follow bus route 51 or 100 (after Queenstown CC) .... I did a few times liao ... from the point starting at HP Building, jog upwards all the way till you reach the peak ... then walk thru another small path and you will reach the wooden bridge that leads to either MT Faber Safra or Harbourfront .... quite a nice long walk and jog. Sure sweat and at the end of the day, both your wife and you can enjoy breakfast (bread and kopi) at either Ya Kun (Safra) or Wang Jiao (Harbourfront, next to Cheers). Enjoy! Yup, went and back already. Walked from Hort Park to Harbourfront Mrt. Good weather today, nice walk. Went a few times already since it opened. Wah, how you know i makan Wang Jiao . Edited September 20, 2008 by TYM Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2008 Yup, went and back already. Walked from Hort Park to Harbourfront Mrt. Good weather today, nice walk. Went a few times already since it opened. Wah, how you know i makan Wang Jiao . hehee ... cos there's the place that I will go too ... if not the famous duck rice at Seah Imm FC plus a cup of ginger teh from the indian shop. Yes, weather is very good today .... nice for washing clothes ... too bad I did not have the time in the morning as was waiting for the HDB's subcontractor to change the toilet flushing system for me ... till now, I quite like the flushing system ... dual flush ... have used the semi-flush ... quite powerful and the flushing sound definitely more powerful than the old one .... have you changed urs? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jule 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2008 Yes Sohzai, please feedback on the useability soon hor. As for both of my toilet bowls, the HDB sub-contractor came this morning and changed the flush system for us, FOC lar. Now is the dual flush. Its seems that the each flush is slightly more powerful ... but yet to try to flush with BIG motion ... will update you guys again later next week (hope not the same problem as Jule, who needs to flush 3x to get things cleared). And if the backflow problem persists, then got to consider changing the whole bowl. And according to the sub-contractor just now, no matter what, there is a need to drill holes onto the floor, to screw the lower bowl to the ground, hence may or may not affect water proofing. Sounds scary leh. Anyone to advise on this? Hi TYM, so did you manage to go to Hort Park? Actually, can jog from our estate to Hort Park ... follow bus route 51 or 100 (after Queenstown CC) .... I did a few times liao ... from the point starting at HP Building, jog upwards all the way till you reach the peak ... then walk thru another small path and you will reach the wooden bridge that leads to either MT Faber Safra or Harbourfront .... quite a nice long walk and jog. Sure sweat and at the end of the day, both your wife and you can enjoy breakfast (bread and kopi) at either Ya Kun (Safra) or Wang Jiao (Harbourfront, next to Cheers). Enjoy! The sub-contractor came to see mine too.. he ask me to monitor and feedback to the HDB Officer if it still doesn't work.. Sigh.. I just want a towel bowl which can flush properly.. so difficult meh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2008 The sub-contractor came to see mine too.. he ask me to monitor and feedback to the HDB Officer if it still doesn't work.. Sigh.. I just want a towel bowl which can flush properly.. so difficult meh.. Hi Jule, do you still have the contact number of Mr Tan. Thought of calling him next week, to feedback about the new flushing system (be it good or bad).The last time he called me was from a private number. Thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2008 Hi Jule, do you still have the contact number of Mr Tan. Thought of calling him next week, to feedback about the new flushing system (be it good or bad).The last time he called me was from a private number. Thanks. Have not change mine cos see Vineyard change so many times but still like no good, or is this one better? The Mr Tan you talking about is he the one from HDB Queenstown Branch Office? So if I want to change, just give him a call? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jule 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2008 Hi Jule, do you still have the contact number of Mr Tan. Thought of calling him next week, to feedback about the new flushing system (be it good or bad).The last time he called me was from a private number. Thanks. same.. its pte number, so call the HDB Officer to feedback. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2008 Have not change mine cos see Vineyard change so many times but still like no good, or is this one better? The Mr Tan you talking about is he the one from HDB Queenstown Branch Office? So if I want to change, just give him a call? Used the toilet this morning. Feedback: 1) Water dripping at the MBR bowl, underneath one of the white plastic screws. Think that guy did not assemble the screw and washer properly. Water been dripping drop by drop since last night. Was surprised to see the floor wet when home last night. Will call Queenstown HDB tmr. Super sian! 2) Pass big motion this morning and used the big flush. Though most of the motion is gone, but the water still a bit unclear .... i.e. brownish water ... got to use the small flush to get rid of the unclear water. Will continue to monitor this situation. TYM, since the old flush is not so good, can give the dual flush a try ... but as said, no guarantee it will be 100% foolproof. You know what I meant. same.. its pte number, so call the HDB Officer to feedback. Thanks Jule. Think I will just call the main line or the 1800-275 5555 lor. Scarely they say got many Mr Tan, which Mr Tan ...then I will bang wall liao ... sigh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sakae sushi 0 Report post Posted September 22, 2008 hi guys not log on for a long time liao. is the THUM thingie still on or is chairman new job is the patrol our area? seems that the toilet bowl issue is still not resolve after so long. is it the sewage, piping, flush or bad toilet bowl design problem? i changed both my toilet bowl so far no issues so cannot compare. one of my new neighbour started their reno and they changed the toilet bowl as well. seems like everyone know the toilet bowl they supplied cannot make it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vineyard 0 Report post Posted September 22, 2008 And according to the sub-contractor just now, no matter what, there is a need to drill holes onto the floor, to screw the lower bowl to the ground, hence may or may not affect water proofing. Sounds scary leh. Anyone to advise on this? My contractor also mentioned about this. If you got a toilet bowl with a different mounting hole position then the original, you have an option to drill or not to drill. By drilling, you may damage the water proofing but its more secure and easier to remove next time. If not drilling, you have to use cement to secure the base to the floor and cannot use silicon, which makes removal next time more difficult. Without drilling it should be less secure (especially if the water tank is not bolted to the wall). But if the cement is done properly and left to cure properly it should not be a problem with stability. Well I choose not to drill anyway. Seems like our estate is not the only estate having this toilet bowl problem. From the Jalan Membina thread, some of the owner are also having other toilet problem relating to the connection piece (pan collar) not aligned properly causing the bowl to be choked easily etc. hi guys not log on for a long time liao. is the THUM thingie still on or is chairman new job is the patrol our area? seems that the toilet bowl issue is still not resolve after so long. is it the sewage, piping, flush or bad toilet bowl design problem? i changed both my toilet bowl so far no issues so cannot compare. one of my new neighbour started their reno and they changed the toilet bowl as well. seems like everyone know the toilet bowl they supplied cannot make it Oh ya, you MIA very long liao huh. How is your 2nd kid coming along? your wife due already? Mine is due this week (finally..) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted September 22, 2008 My contractor also mentioned about this. If you got a toilet bowl with a different mounting hole position then the original, you have an option to drill or not to drill. By drilling, you may damage the water proofing but its more secure and easier to remove next time. If not drilling, you have to use cement to secure the base to the floor and cannot use silicon, which makes removal next time more difficult. Without drilling it should be less secure (especially if the water tank is not bolted to the wall). But if the cement is done properly and left to cure properly it should not be a problem with stability. Well I choose not to drill anyway. Wah, so troublesome. If drill and later unit below complain abt leaking, we will be held liable right cos we already signed the undertaking not to touch the toilet flooring for 3 years. Still can bear with the toilet bowl for now... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites