zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

well u will not miss out the HDMI output feature on your dvd because in this case, your dvd player does not do upscaling, so using component cable is fine.

typically if your dvd does upscaling, the only way for your TV to receive the upscaled image (720P/1080i) is only via HDMI and not component.

I didn't join THUM last week too. due to i had frens and neighbours coming over for gathering. met one of the neighbours upstairs that so coincidently was my wife's ex-colleague. And her husband had known chairman for a long time. We even had a MJ session together.

btw, sidetrack a bit...... anyone knows how much does it cost to do a platform 2.5m x 2m or 5m square area(for putting bed). i'm thinking of getting some modification done here and there but had yet finalise my ideas.

I didn't join THUM last week too. due to i had frens and neighbours coming over for gathering. met one of the neighbours upstairs that so coincidently was my wife's ex-colleague. And her husband had known chairman for a long time. We even had a MJ session together.

btw, sidetrack a bit...... anyone knows how much does it cost to do a platform 2.5m x 2m or 5m square area(for putting bed). i'm thinking of getting some modification done here and there but had yet finalise my ideas.

Hi Armani, it's me who played mahjong with you... Let's try to set up another game soon... hahah.... Yup, known the famous chairman a number of years back.... hehehe

yeah... perhaps soon. but i needa get a new mahjong table. current one is real poor quality. and bad luck too. had never won so far.... :'(

Seems like the forum is getting quiet again...

Just a few things about the toilet bowl (again??) to vent my frustration...

I was away for 3 weeks, two weeks ago, my wife complainted that the toilet bowl of the MBR appear to be choked, when flushed, water doesnt flush away. And she is sure that nothing big is thrown into it. With my advise, she bought a plumb and was ok after plumbing it.

However the next day it happens again. So i advised her to call the NTUC plumbing service (as listed in the HDB's booklet) and was told to pay $40 for transport fee. Which she agreed.

When the plumber arrives, he thinks the toilet is choke or the connection at the bottom of the bowl has gaven way (as my bowl was replaced once by Rigel). So to clear the choke (which my wife already did) is $40, and if it is still not good, and have to check the connection (which has to remove the toilet bowl) its $120. My worst tought was that if the bowl's pipe connection has really came off, I would have to spend $40+$120 just to repair this ****ty toilet bowl. I would rather replace the entire toilet bowl and spent the money to buy a new toilet bowl instead. So I ask my wife to just pay him $40 and send him off.

Will just have to replace the toilet bowl and get it done with... too sianz with it liao.. but by doing so, it seems like giving the supplier an easy way out... :dunno:

Actually I am having problems with the toilet bowl also, seemed to be 'leaking' every now and then. Duno how much water wasted liao. And rem my traditional flushing method? Think must have skill one, cannot pour too fast or too slow, cuz either way will still have the backflow.

Also those whom had emailed me your unit nos, thanks alot! They had all been submitted to HDB, whom said that you guys are not the only owners that had complained. They are currently speaking to the contractor to see what can be done, whether a new model can be changed.

However it will be a case-by-case basis, because its not economical to change for everyone, especially those who did not complain so they will assume everything is fine.

Edited by zirhk3355

its not economical to change for everyone, especially those who did not complain so they will assume everything is fine.

tis throws a very poor image of the company and its senior management. the company can only take this sort of approach because there is no risk of safety involved here, only customer dissatisfaction issues.

nonetheless, the brand to me now "stinks" especially if they are already aware of a system flaw but choose to keep their fat bottomline and let the users suffer is a very poor way to do branding.

Seems like the forum is getting quiet again...

Just a few things about the toilet bowl (again??) to vent my frustration...

I was away for 3 weeks, two weeks ago, my wife complainted that the toilet bowl of the MBR appear to be choked, when flushed, water doesnt flush away. And she is sure that nothing big is thrown into it. With my advise, she bought a plumb and was ok after plumbing it.

However the next day it happens again. So i advised her to call the NTUC plumbing service (as listed in the HDB's booklet) and was told to pay $40 for transport fee. Which she agreed.

When the plumber arrives, he thinks the toilet is choke or the connection at the bottom of the bowl has gaven way (as my bowl was replaced once by Rigel). So to clear the choke (which my wife already did) is $40, and if it is still not good, and have to check the connection (which has to remove the toilet bowl) its $120. My worst tought was that if the bowl's pipe connection has really came off, I would have to spend $40+$120 just to repair this ****ty toilet bowl. I would rather replace the entire toilet bowl and spent the money to buy a new toilet bowl instead. So I ask my wife to just pay him $40 and send him off.

Will just have to replace the toilet bowl and get it done with... too sianz with it liao.. but by doing so, it seems like giving the supplier an easy way out... :dunno:

My toilet bowl in the common toilet also chokes several times last month....using the Drain Buster to clear it just to save the plumber cost... :unsure:

DSC01254.jpg

Btw, Khriz, thanks for submitting the issue to HDB, hope that they can solve the problem soon... :rolleyes:

My toilet bowl in the common toilet also chokes several times last month....using the Drain Buster to clear it just to save the plumber cost... :unsure:

DSC01254.jpg

Btw, Khriz, thanks for submitting the issue to HDB, hope that they can solve the problem soon... :rolleyes:

wow oda, your drain buster looks powderful man!!! :good:

We've moved in for over a week, so far so good, no problems with the toilet bowl (I hope it stays this way!). Cos what u guys have experienced is definitely a big concern.

tis throws a very poor image of the company and its senior management. the company can only take this sort of approach because there is no risk of safety involved here, only customer dissatisfaction issues.

nonetheless, the brand to me now "stinks" especially if they are already aware of a system flaw but choose to keep their fat bottomline and let the users suffer is a very poor way to do branding.

HDB obviously has very bad QC, and their follow-ups are definitely not prompt at all. Many times, they will choose to sit on the issue until something major happens.

Remember I posted here abt my ceiling problem? Took so long for them to rectify, we made noise big time, and thank God it's resolved now. I find their contractors very irresponsible and "bo chup". When they repainted my ceilings, they used my roller brushes and damaged them, when they shd be using their own! Not just that, they did a really lousy paint job and had my bedroom doors and floors all spattered with paint! We feedback to the officer in charge and he offered to send his contractor to clean up but we decided to do it ourselves anyway. God knows what other problems or inconveniences they would bring us! :furious:

Also those whom had emailed me your unit nos, thanks alot! They had all been submitted to HDB, whom said that you guys are not the only owners that had complained. They are currently speaking to the contractor to see what can be done, whether a new model can be changed.

Thanks Chriz! Even if HDB can't do anything too much about it, at least they ackowledged that this toilet bowl is a problem.

As my wife said, she frequently saw original toilet bowls being thrown away in the rubbish dump. Wonder whats the main reason these people replaced it.

DSC01254.jpg

Yah, it looks powderful, where you got that from? In the first place, why was your toilet bowl choking frequently last month? I start to have this thought that there is something wrong with the main pipe.. (just a thought).. as yesterday after i come back, tested the toilet a few times, it seems to be flushing again .. :dunno: will have to keep trying again these few days to confirm if it is ok again..

That day, I was doing big business in my toilet and then go out to meet my friends. Then my friends wanted to come see my house... Upon entering my home, one of my friends high tide, so straight cheong to the toilet and then....!!! (I shall not describe more!!!)

**** PaiSeh lor...

If HDB is not doing anything, shall we do a mass order for the toilet bowl, and ask one contractor to replace ours... Can save cost... and then ask the contractor to send all the Rigel toilets bowls to HDB Hub @ TPY... then ask media go see... hahaha.....

God knows what other problems or inconveniences they would bring us! :furious:

i second tis statement, somehow, these service personnel always end up causing some other form of anomaly in the process of resolving your concern. i just cannot comprehend why **** these ppl treat things as though it belongs to themselve.....

i am as curious to how they treat their own home....

If HDB is not doing anything, shall we do a mass order for the toilet bowl, and ask one contractor to replace ours... Can save cost... and then ask the contractor to send all the Rigel toilets bowls to HDB Hub @ TPY... then ask media go see... hahaha.....

this is a good idea, doing a Mass Order. Mass Order concept is very effective in obtaining significant discounts from suppliers.....this have to couple with a good plumber ;)

Yah, it looks powderful, where you got that from? In the first place, why was your toilet bowl choking frequently last month? I start to have this thought that there is something wrong with the main pipe.. (just a thought).. as yesterday after i come back, tested the toilet a few times, it seems to be flushing again .. :dunno: will have to keep trying again these few days to confirm if it is ok again..

Bought it at one the stores for S$9.90 in Toa Payoh Central....can't remember the shop name....that time I was there for a hair cut, then my wife called and told me toilet bowl flood, asked me to buy something that can plunge, so the moment I saw it, looks very 'high end' to me so I bought it :P

I also dunno why it flood, initial I suspected my toilet paper too hard...but then I realised it's the method ba... initially I tend to roll the toilet paper to a certain thickness before use. But my wife said should tear each square piece and stack them to the require thickness, so that when I flush, it'll be easily 'dissolved' rather than one rolled piece. Do you guys agree? :rolleyes:

Bought it at one the stores for S$9.90 in Toa Payoh Central....can't remember the shop name....that time I was there for a hair cut, then my wife called and told me toilet bowl flood, asked me to buy something that can plunge, so the moment I saw it, looks very 'high end' to me so I bought it :P

I also dunno why it flood, initial I suspected my toilet paper too hard...but then I realised it's the method ba... initially I tend to roll the toilet paper to a certain thickness before use. But my wife said should tear each square piece and stack them to the require thickness, so that when I flush, it'll be easily 'dissolved' rather than one rolled piece. Do you guys agree? :rolleyes:

Hmm, seriously dun think the flood got much to do with how u roll the toilet paper leh. Unless of cos u use 1 whole roll of toilet paper at 1 go! :P

If there's no problem with the toilet flush system, then I dun think it will flood cos of the toilet paper, unless u drop something more solid into the toilet bowl.

Hi neighbors. The toilet bowl really sucks to the core. I did a check, the flushing wasn't strong enough to push all waste down thus there is always residue left behind. Those owner whom change the bowl during renovation confirm wont face any problem. So wats the out come of hdb?

tell hdb we change ourselve and pass the cost to them lah how? :notti: