zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

i have my toilet bowl replaced two weeks ago (1st time).. and now i am really feeling so cheated as well. I also have to take leave from work for them to replace the toilet bowl. Thinking that it will be solved liao.. BUT.. its really a piece of SH*T...

think its time to band together all those that have this problem and voice it out to hdb/town council...

So all that have this problem, please sign your petition below...

=======================

1. hui (replaced thrice)

2. Panda312 (replaced twice)

3. vineyard (replaced once)

I am not staying in yet and do not know if the toilet bowls are a problem. I did notice that after flushing,the water tend to still flow. Is that going to be a problem ?

yes, and that backflow plus the inefficient water flow seems to be the problem. Looks like to really have to test it soon. Even the toilet bowl in my parent's HDB house is better.

think mos burger is asking if the afternoon sun is too hot. installing sun shade film on window might help in cutting down the heat and glare. i feel that it is better to have sun than not any cos can dry my clothes ma :unsure:

btw, mos burger there is no mos burger downstairs ... only long john silver. hope this don't give u any headache in making your decision again :rofl: the nearest mos burger is at tiong bahru lah. 3 train stops away :P

HiHi Sakae sushi, i just go down last nite THUM din see you around... I finally got my free time... I fin my **** stage liao...

Long Time din post in here.. really too busy with my studies...... Finally is OVER!:bleah:!:rofl:

Halo to all the new comer, old birds dun need to mention name.... greeting to all the old birds...

Btw i stay at 17-306 Blk91, i kanna afternoon sun, kanna clementi town music and MRT noise.. 3 in 1 package... My advice is get curtain material tat can block the sun and the noise thing sure immune after awhile

haha.. Hope to see more ppl in the THUM and i alway watch socce rat hm i think can join TYM sat business....

somemore EURO 08 coming.... :unsure::bleah:

What I don't quite understand is...are we guaranteed a flat as long as we get a queue no? There are others who don't get a no. at all right? Then why is it that my cousin says that he has a queue no. for a few balloting exercises but no more flats avail when it comes to his turn? :unsure:

Its not guaranteed.

For eg if there are, say, 200 available units, HDB will queue up to, say, 500 balloters and reject the rest. So if you are at queue no 250, you got to pray that at least 50 people in front of you to give up then you got chance.

But accordingly to the learned balloters that I met last night, if there are 200 units and your queue number is the first 200, you will be considered to have a successful ballot even if you end up do not choose an unit. Only those who are queue no 201 and beyond would be considered 'unsuccessful' if they cannot get an unit. I also heard that there is a penalty for those are within the first 200 if they declined to choose an unit.

Why differentiate successful and unsuccessful is because those who were unsuccessful for four times in a row would be entitled to a double chance for their fifth time. This is why some people just 'tikam' and try to clock that four times of unsuccessful ballot, so that fifth time they can go for the estate that they REALLY want and stand a double chance.

i kanna afternoon sun, kanna clementi town music and MRT noise.. 3 in 1 package... My advice is get curtain material tat can block the sun and the noise thing sure immune after awhile

Yep! We r almost late for work today. The trash truck & coughing noise is totally immune after staying for 3 mths. We din fixed any air-con. Jus bear abit during sleep and the air will starts to cool in the morning. In fact, we don't usually keep the window wide open. 8hrs with air-con during the day is enough for us. Cheers!

Edited by HOME2BE

haha.. Hope to see more ppl in the THUM and i alway watch socce rat hm i think can join TYM sat business....

somemore EURO 08 coming.... :unsure::notti:

Finally got kaki liao :P. This sat on?

Yep! We r almost late for work today. The trash truck & coughing noise is totally immune after staying for 3 mths. We din fixed any air-con. Jus bear abit during sleep and the air will starts to cool in the morning. In fact, we don't usually keep the window wide open. 8hrs with air-con during the day is enough for us. Cheers!

Ya, when I first moved in, also overslept a few times. Compared to my previous hse (on #02), current place is so quiet and cool during daybreak to sleep. We also no aircon, office aircon enough liao, hahaha.

hey cartoon.

yeap finally you are FREEEEEED. chairman called me yest but i still in office working so can't join. was there last sat though.

ya. you olso got promoted to old birdie club liao :thumbs up: cos new birds joining our club liao.

btw, my thing in white really cannot make it liao. died again. :P need your help to get a brand new replacement..... :P:P

Its not guaranteed.

For eg if there are, say, 200 available units, HDB will queue up to, say, 500 balloters and reject the rest. So if you are at queue no 250, you got to pray that at least 50 people in front of you to give up then you got chance.

But accordingly to the learned balloters that I met last night, if there are 200 units and your queue number is the first 200, you will be considered to have a successful ballot even if you end up do not choose an unit. Only those who are queue no 201 and beyond would be considered 'unsuccessful' if they cannot get an unit. I also heard that there is a penalty for those are within the first 200 if they declined to choose an unit.

Why differentiate successful and unsuccessful is because those who were unsuccessful for four times in a row would be entitled to a double chance for their fifth time. This is why some people just 'tikam' and try to clock that four times of unsuccessful ballot, so that fifth time they can go for the estate that they REALLY want and stand a double chance.

If HDB were to queue up to 500 balloters, then there shouldn't be units left over after a few rounds of balloting right? For 200 or more balloters to back out is quite unlikely, taking the popularity of Tanglin Halt neighbourhood into account.

my floor has one unit that hasn't reno yet. dono whether it's taken or not. haven't seen anyone comng to visit that empty unit yet. btw, it's a high floor so should have ppl taken it.

i love tanglin halt too. especially having so much warm neighbours here. oh ya... i know of a 24hrs coffee shop at blk 75. it's sells indian muslim food. been there quite a few times. quite nice food i would say. and i noticed some of the empty flats (probably en-bloc)there being barricaded. is hdb planning to build more flats here? 40 storey high too?

Edited by armani

If HDB were to queue up to 500 balloters, then there shouldn't be units left over after a few rounds of balloting right? For 200 or more balloters to back out is quite unlikely, taking the popularity of Tanglin Halt neighbourhood into account.

Oh sorry forgot to mention this but after one ballot, those who are unsuccessful will not be snowballed to the next ballot; its a fresh ballot all over again.

And yes, there ARE that many people who backed out. Actual case in point: Total about 200+ units, one of our friends here got queue no.330+, and he got an unit! SOMEMORE still got untaken units left behind after him! This literally means that for that particular ballot, easily about 200+ gave up.

Oh sorry forgot to mention this but after one ballot, those who are unsuccessful will not be snowballed to the next ballot; its a fresh ballot all over again.

And yes, there ARE that many people who backed out. Actual case in point: Total about 200+ units, one of our friends here got queue no.330+, and he got an unit! SOMEMORE still got untaken units left behind after him! This literally means that for that particular ballot, easily about 200+ gave up.

8|

Gosh, really unbelievable! :furious:

Like u mentioned earlier, these people ought to be penalised cos they are really depriving people who are serious abt getting flats of their chances! Really hope that my cousin will be lucky this time round. Poor guy, tried for so many times liao over the past 2 years but didn't have the luck.

hi guys

i've attached for sale.

27032000ux0.jpg

came as a set from GROHE RAINBATH series, made from 100" brass with chrome. use less than 10 times. selling just the shower head. cool microphone design. current retail price is aroun d $240.00. looking at $120.00. price is negotiable.

can fit any showerhead. just need to unscrew and screw in the new shower head. let me know if you are keen.

Sorry guys, a change of topic,

Anyone knows about this product that can monitor electricity consumption? see http://www.theowl.com

Was looking around for this in the internet but most does not ship to singapore or very expensive to ship it here (cost more then the unit itself)

anyone see such product or similar ones that can monitor electricity consumption from the mains (not those plug-in type that monitor signal power point)?

btw, electricity tariff have been increased to 23.88cents/kwh (5.6% increase) since 1 Apr 08.

Just a reference for all, as i recently was monitoring the electricity consumption when no one is in the flat and everything on standby:

1. With Fridge ON, TV and consoles in Standby, wireless router and telephone ON, desktop computer ON but monitor off (as sometime i need to access home network from outside) : total standby consumption = 0.246kwh an hour = $42.27 a month! :bangwall:

2. With only fridge ON and all the other items switched off: total standby consumption = 0.1 kwh an hr = $17.18 per month

My average monthly bill for electricity alone is around $60 but imagine $42 is used when no one is in the house!?

So really looking for such a electricity monitor so everyone in the house will know how much electricity is sucking thus creating more awareness myself..

Sorry guys, a change of topic,

Anyone knows about this product that can monitor electricity consumption? see http://www.theowl.com

Was looking around for this in the internet but most does not ship to singapore or very expensive to ship it here (cost more then the unit itself)

anyone see such product or similar ones that can monitor electricity consumption from the mains (not those plug-in type that monitor signal power point)?

btw, electricity tariff have been increased to 23.88cents/kwh (5.6% increase) since 1 Apr 08.

Just a reference for all, as i recently was monitoring the electricity consumption when no one is in the flat and everything on standby:

1. With Fridge ON, TV and consoles in Standby, wireless router and telephone ON, desktop computer ON but monitor off (as sometime i need to access home network from outside) : total standby consumption = 0.246kwh an hour = $42.27 a month! :dancingqueen:

2. With only fridge ON and all the other items switched off: total standby consumption = 0.1 kwh an hr = $17.18 per month

My average monthly bill for electricity alone is around $60 but imagine $42 is used when no one is in the house!?

So really looking for such a electricity monitor so everyone in the house will know how much electricity is sucking thus creating more awareness myself..

The only electrical appliance at home that needs to be on 24 hrs/day is the fridge, rest can switch off when not in use, never leave on standby mode.

Yup.. I also sidetrack abit..

Some of the units done by my ID company in the neighbourhood:

http://intradesign.com.sg/residential_projects.htm

Wah, ur house featured on the website.