sakae sushi 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 Ya where are all the guys who said wanna come to THUM on sat? Haiz...only the old birds around...Anyway, we are trying to organise another THUM this coming Monday, 8pm. Let's just try out first, see how. Anyone who is available, pls come down ok? think they not shifted in or yet to take keys... how to join us on monday? where's edwin and waye too? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 Hello future neighbours... Really having a headache now trying to decide on the unit, as one is facing the afternoon sun, the others are facing the school and the MRT. Afraid of the noise and the heat... so confuse now.Please help!Need to find out if the unit facing the afternoon sun very bad, do we have to turn on the air-condition the whole afternoon bcos of the heat. Need your advice Thanks in advancei will give a crude response from my side on this.... firstly, what are your priorities of your flat? location/serenity/price/etc.....judging from your concerns, unless we have misunderstood your priorities but it seems very much that Tanglin Halt units are not suitable for you as we all have noise (i.e MRT train running through the track, KTM train blaring horn and running through), school, (i.e. temporary site and the forthcoming permanent primary school) facing or not you also can hear all the announcements, etc...., sun (i.e for units not affected by afternoon sun will already not be available for Ballot. All the SERS members have snapped them up unless you are looking at #02 or #03, etc)i would urge you to look elsewhere rather then select your apartment in dilema with a heavy heart. my 1cent worth on a grouchy monday morning Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HOME2BE 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 Complaint there is. But we are happy to stay at blk 91 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
GTeton 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 (edited) Ya where are all the guys who said wanna come to THUM on sat? Haiz...only the old birds around...Anyway, we are trying to organise another THUM this coming Monday, 8pm. Let's just try out first, see how. Anyone who is available, pls come down ok? Hello! Very sorry. It's miscommunication. Thought THUM was postponed. Our internet hasn't been fixed at home, so couldn't check it on Sat. Now I've chairman's HP. Next time, I'll call him to verify. Sorry, can't meet tonight 8pm. Need to work late. Agreed with HOME2BE, we're happy to stay at Tanglin Halt. Edited April 21, 2008 by GTeton Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 i will give a crude response from my side on this.... firstly, what are your priorities of your flat? location/serenity/price/etc.....judging from your concerns, unless we have misunderstood your priorities but it seems very much that Tanglin Halt units are not suitable for you as we all have noise (i.e MRT train running through the track, KTM train blaring horn and running through), school, (i.e. temporary site and the forthcoming permanent primary school) facing or not you also can hear all the announcements, etc...., sun (i.e for units not affected by afternoon sun will already not be available for Ballot. All the SERS members have snapped them up unless you are looking at #02 or #03, etc)i would urge you to look elsewhere rather then select your apartment in dilema with a heavy heart. my 1cent worth on a grouchy monday morning Pertaining to sakae-sushi's post as well as yours, I felt surprised that people could actually submit for ballot and want to give up after getting a number. Shouldn't research and legwork be done before the submission? It also does not seemed to be the fault of HDB for not releasing to balloters what are the units available, because our friend here does not seem to like ANY units at all!This is also very sad because there are so many potential buyers who really love our estate but could not get it. Their chances would have been improved if all those 'put-in-and-see-how-first' tikam-buyers are not around to vie with them.The fact that so many ballot exercises need to be conducted for merely three blocks speak volumes of its efficency!Perhaps HDB should not allow easy submission online for a mere $10; maybe can increase the ballot amount to like $1000 but make it refundable if not successful? Or, abolish the 'privilege' of doubling chances for those who failed to get a successful ballot four times, so that no one will 'tikam' (to increase their 'failed' ballot count) and take away the chances of sincere buyers?Or if the situation is serious (ie alot of MIA in the successful ballot queue, wasting everyone's time), suspend these absconders from balloting again for another estate, eg first time MIA, suspend one month. Second time MIA, suspend three months, etc.Or less seriously, perhaps can conduct a pre-qualifying questionaire for balloters, asking them what they like about their lovenest and if their preferences match what the estate has to offer, then allow them to submit for balloting. Something like pre-marriage preparation course, which can be online survey style...Haha, I think this is more than a grouchy Monday morning post, mann... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
singababa 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 LOL best place is to buy an island and build a house on it. but then there will be issues as well.i would count my blessing to have a chance to select a unit in this estate. lots of people tried but didnt have a chance loh. the afternoon sun is just for couple hours in evening and its not tat bad and it dry up your clothes too for the flats nearer to MRT, you need to bear with the sound lo. or you can close the windows to shut out some of the sound or even wear ear plug ... someone wrote in this suggestion to straits times cos TV mobile is too loud anyway, any units here is fine cos its first hand from HDB and the value will always be there. all the best and happy unit hunting btw, khriz business bad on saturday again leh. look beyond the big picture. queenstown as a whole is a very good location. very near to everywhere if i can said. tanglin halt is even better because its next to an mrt station. and the best of all is your luck because u have a queue nos from the ballot to choose a unit to make your future home.the noise or the heat, decide which is the lesser evil. seriously think about what u want because u will never get a chance again if u give up the selection. never take anything for granted. life is short..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sakae sushi 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 look beyond the big picture. queenstown as a whole is a very good location. very near to everywhere if i can said. tanglin halt is even better because its next to an mrt station. and the best of all is your luck because u have a queue nos from the ballot to choose a unit to make your future home.the noise or the heat, decide which is the lesser evil. seriously think about what u want because u will never get a chance again if u give up the selection. never take anything for granted. life is short.....think mos burger is asking if the afternoon sun is too hot. installing sun shade film on window might help in cutting down the heat and glare. i feel that it is better to have sun than not any cos can dry my clothes ma btw, mos burger there is no mos burger downstairs ... only long john silver. hope this don't give u any headache in making your decision again the nearest mos burger is at tiong bahru lah. 3 train stops away Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mos_burger 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 think mos burger is asking if the afternoon sun is too hot. installing sun shade film on window might help in cutting down the heat and glare. i feel that it is better to have sun than not any cos can dry my clothes ma btw, mos burger there is no mos burger downstairs ... only long john silver. hope this don't give u any headache in making your decision again the nearest mos burger is at tiong bahru lah. 3 train stops away We r happy to get the numbers, no doubt abt it... won't give up the number no matter what =P Ya... we are just afraid that the heat will be unbearable... cos my FH is quite afriad of heat. Haha... i think most of u are quite happy w the afternoon sun... helping to dry your clothes Thanks for all the comments and advices... think my mail offer a 'place' for all to vent your Monday blues. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 Complaint there is. But we are happy to stay at blk 91 We are also happy residents of Blk 91. Main complaint so far is the littering problem around the estate . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sakae sushi 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 We r happy to get the numbers, no doubt abt it... won't give up the number no matter what =P Ya... we are just afraid that the heat will be unbearable... cos my FH is quite afriad of heat. Haha... i think most of u are quite happy w the afternoon sun... helping to dry your clothes Thanks for all the comments and advices... think my mail offer a 'place' for all to vent your Monday blues. !!sun is good. esp for drying clothes. unless you dun mind paying the $$$ to run the dryer everytime. dryer will generate heat = flat become hot too = use electricity too much will cause global warming = flat even hotter! how? i dunno leh if you guys are afraid of heat on air con 24/7 loh. will be cool everyday. some forumers here on air con everynight too. for my case i on the air con a few hours before bed and shut it down before going to sleep anyway, you can't have best of both world in life. gain some. lose some. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
armani 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 actually the mrt sound is not so much of a problem as long as ur windows are shut. but even if u are facing away from the mrt, other sound such as the school's early morning anthem or etc would still be noisy as well. as for afternoon sun, there's not much u can do becoz even with solar film on ur windows, it would still heat up the external walls which in turn would heat ur hse's interior walls. so given these two conditions, u either compromise on one of it or u just give up n find hse elsewhere rather than regret for at least 5yrs down the road if u made a wrong choice. but i needa point out that u might not be so lucky to get a queue number the next time round Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 Mrt noise - Ok leh, bearable, u will get use to it.KTM Train - Ok leh, never hear before Noise from school - Ok leh, most of us are waking up to go to work anyway.Morning/afternoon sun - Ok leh, better than no sun. Dun forget it is windy too, open the windows if ur house is warm.Hmm, seems like i am ok with everything. And why not, I LOVE this place. !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
countrylover 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2008 actually the mrt sound is not so much of a problem as long as ur windows are shut. but even if u are facing away from the mrt, other sound such as the school's early morning anthem or etc would still be noisy as well. as for afternoon sun, there's not much u can do becoz even with solar film on ur windows, it would still heat up the external walls which in turn would heat ur hse's interior walls. so given these two conditions, u either compromise on one of it or u just give up n find hse elsewhere rather than regret for at least 5yrs down the road if u made a wrong choice. but i needa point out that u might not be so lucky to get a queue number the next time roundMy unit faces the Tanglin Halt 10th storey and I stay at mid level. I've been back every wkend but so far don't hear the MRT noise at all. Actually I'm not too particular about noises caused by vehicles, schools etc as I've been staying in a mature estate since young and have thus gotten accustomed to such. Middle of the night neighbours quarrel and hurl flower pots at each other also can sleep leh. LOL. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
countrylover 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2008 Pertaining to sakae-sushi's post as well as yours, I felt surprised that people could actually submit for ballot and want to give up after getting a number. Shouldn't research and legwork be done before the submission? It also does not seemed to be the fault of HDB for not releasing to balloters what are the units available, because our friend here does not seem to like ANY units at all!This is also very sad because there are so many potential buyers who really love our estate but could not get it. Their chances would have been improved if all those 'put-in-and-see-how-first' tikam-buyers are not around to vie with them.The fact that so many ballot exercises need to be conducted for merely three blocks speak volumes of its efficency!Perhaps HDB should not allow easy submission online for a mere $10; maybe can increase the ballot amount to like $1000 but make it refundable if not successful? Or, abolish the 'privilege' of doubling chances for those who failed to get a successful ballot four times, so that no one will 'tikam' (to increase their 'failed' ballot count) and take away the chances of sincere buyers?Or if the situation is serious (ie alot of MIA in the successful ballot queue, wasting everyone's time), suspend these absconders from balloting again for another estate, eg first time MIA, suspend one month. Second time MIA, suspend three months, etc.Or less seriously, perhaps can conduct a pre-qualifying questionaire for balloters, asking them what they like about their lovenest and if their preferences match what the estate has to offer, then allow them to submit for balloting. Something like pre-marriage preparation course, which can be online survey style...Haha, I think this is more than a grouchy Monday morning post, mann... Totally agree with zirhk. I know of some people who are desperate to get new flats as they are planning to get married. However, they always land with queue numbers of 200 & above and thus unable to get flats in their neighbourhood of choice. One example is my cousin. He has been balloting for HDB flats since 2 years ago, from Tanglin Halt to Seng Kang to Bukit Panjang, but everytime very suay. This is the 3rd time he has balloted for Tanglin Halt but his queue no. is 300+. What I don't quite understand is...are we guaranteed a flat as long as we get a queue no? There are others who don't get a no. at all right? Then why is it that my cousin says that he has a queue no. for a few balloting exercises but no more flats avail when it comes to his turn? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vineyard 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2008 (edited) Had been a silent member for a long time.Had the same problem with the toilet bowls and still having the same problem. Not to mention that we had both our toilet bowls changed TWICE! since our moving in last august 2007. My wifey and me are starting to think what is going to happen after the warranty from HDB expires and we are in need to change the toilet bowls due to ageing of material or the other reasons. Who is going to rectify the problem then and at whose cost?? Now.... To let off some anger. I spent so much $$$ for the unit and they are using my unit as a lab mice to test their toilet bowls. Not to mention, I have to take leave from work in order for them to perform their experiment. Where's the justice in this. Will... some may say that leave are meant to be cleared.... But look.... It not meant to be cleared in this manner lor. I got better uses for my personnal leave.Felt better. Thanx for lending your ears (eyes) i have my toilet bowl replaced two weeks ago (1st time).. and now i am really feeling so cheated as well. I also have to take leave from work for them to replace the toilet bowl. Thinking that it will be solved liao.. BUT.. its really a piece of SH*T...think its time to band together all those that have this problem and voice it out to hdb/town council...So all that have this problem, please sign your petition below... =======================1. hui (replaced thrice)2. Panda312 (replaced twice)3. vineyard (replaced once) Edited April 22, 2008 by vineyard Share this post Link to post Share on other sites